KESAS Awan Besar Timur toll plaza experiences electricity supply issue, causes massive traffic jam

Photos of a massive jam at the KESAS highway toll plaza went viral tonight, along with messages that claim that the whole toll plaza system is down, with a significantly reduced amount of lanes open for manual toll collection.

We did a quick check on KESAS official social media pages and saw an announcement at 8:17pm that the Awan Besar Timur toll plaza had experienced electricity supply issues and there were only 3 manually operated Touch n Go lanes open.

At 8:53pm they announced that the toll plaza was once again fully functional. Hopefully the traffic there has settled down but just in case you might want to check Waze first before you decide to use that route to get to your destination.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• They should not block any vehicle and punish user in case of blackout or any problem. The barrier should lift-up manually to release the vehicle. Seems the toll owner do not have any contengency plan …… where is the ministry of transportation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 29
    • Make Malaysia Great Again on Apr 28, 2022 at 8:14 am

Yesterday was heavy thunderstorm rain & lightning in the evening. This is Malaysia so such things will happen, don’t tell me your house never have blackout during rainstorms. Are you going to blame your MP when your house no electric due to lightning? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 52
      • Mr. Sotong on Apr 28, 2022 at 8:34 am

It’s not blaming the MP. It’s about having contingency plans for such situations, which in this case seems to be business as usual.

Do you think it’s right?

It does not cost them anything to just manually open up all toll booths to let traffic through, not asking them for a free dinner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 28
        • Make Malaysia Great Again on Apr 28, 2022 at 11:27 am

What do you mean by “manually open all toll booths to let traffic through”? If you noticed most of our toll collection point no longer have manned booths any more so how would they collect tolls in such case? And while I agree they should have a contingency such as backup gensets in case such failures, opening up tolls booths when there is no function to capture the toll collection is not a solution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
          • Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 28, 2022 at 12:30 pm

Menteri gagal , Menyusahkan rakyat. This BN gomen really a Big Nuisance. Pfffttt out they go

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
          • Avenger on Apr 28, 2022 at 2:25 pm

Blaming mentri for not controlling lightning? Wow, BN gomen so super powerful like our Thunder God to control weather kah? Kah kah kah kah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Mr Fakta on Apr 28, 2022 at 9:17 am

If I’m a business and my refrigerated item spoil because of a blackout, I’ll blame TNB if the substation tripped or myself of not having a generator. I would not blame my paying customer or make them wait hours to make a payment just because my cashier is down. Understand the difference?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
        • Casual reader on Apr 28, 2022 at 12:48 pm

TNB have certain clauses in the law that necessasitates certain locations must have backup substations but unless yr in those area, sorry bub, but TNB wont bother about yr losses. Certain industries can claim from TNB for downtime but that too has a certain time limit so for <1hr yea i dont think so. Unless ur so rich enough to let ur customers cart away free frozen foods when ur refrigerator is down…

• We deserve better. on Apr 28, 2022 at 11:44 am

Agreed with Mr. Sotong. If you don’t have a plan (which is contingency plan), then you are planning to fail…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Casual reader on Apr 28, 2022 at 12:43 pm

Agree with you. Spot on. We have to remember malaysia is prone to lightning strikes and sometimes no matter how much precaution you take, strong lightning do take down infra and area wide locations. It is just one of those global warming effects that intensifies weather patterns of today. More frequent flooding are also one of those we see more. So it is a case of human actions that has worsen the situation.

• Positive Thought on Apr 29, 2022 at 6:52 am

How to make Malaysia great with the mentality of comparing residential facility with industrial? First of all there must be a secondary backup system at the very least. And if the backup system also fails, then the penalty should be lift up the barriers and let users go for free.

• Ad is just being a stupid petulant child throwing tantrum everywhere and blaming everyone else. And no, there is no law to say there must be a secondary backup. And no such thing as penalty to lift up barrier, it is like @Let See said, if I cut power to your place can I rob it because that should be your penalty for power outages.

• reasonable thought on Apr 28, 2022 at 10:33 am

Agreed 100% with you, imagine how long they have to wait, and plus shall improve with a new contingency plan. Lift-up barriers will be a gentlemen’s move for covering their own weakness.

• Casual reader on Apr 28, 2022 at 12:50 pm

And how do you propose the collect tolls if they lift up the barriers?

• During blackouts, no need to collect tolls.
          If they still want to collect, then fix a back up generator.

• Lets See on Apr 28, 2022 at 5:42 pm

If I cut power to your company, is it mean I’m allowed to rob it too?

• Mr. Sotong on Apr 28, 2022 at 2:51 pm

No toll collection until you sort out the electricity of course! Not having a back up generator is not the road users fault. Have some common sense.

• Lets See on Apr 28, 2022 at 5:41 pm

You are basically asking for free dinner when above comment you said you are not asking for that. So which is it?

• Celup King on Apr 28, 2022 at 12:37 pm

What has MOT has to do with it when blackout is a matter for the Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources or the Ministry of Domestic Trade, Co-Operatives and Consumerism?

• Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 28, 2022 at 2:39 pm

Selangor PH Gomen owns 30% of Kesas, so PH should have instructed Kesas to give way free to pass and deduct from PH share of the dividend. It would at least help to fulfill a sliver of their failed promise to abolish tolls.

• Malaysia Boleh on Apr 27, 2022 at 10:32 pm

Appreciate if Kesas open and let car pass through while trying to solve the problem like this. Ease the traffic jam. Don’t put the electricity supply problem to user. It create more jam. Help abit no harm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
  • macam cilake. they rather let traveller stuck rather than letting the gates open due to their own system problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • We deserve better. on Apr 28, 2022 at 11:41 am

Of course. They only care about the money flowing rather than the traffic flowing…

• JokerN on Apr 28, 2022 at 2:23 am

Kesas literally said screw you all road users. Let u all jam one hour plus and meanwhile rob you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • I have asked before, what happens if there is a power issue? I don’t think it is only Awan Kesas probably all other plazas have the same issue. Time someone wakes up and prepare something before it hits other toll plazas.

• They are testing the water to make toll plaza kaput on 29-30/4 and 7-8/5.
    Whoever trying to exit toll plaza prior 1 hour 11.59pm will be blocked, so no free toll for the last hour.
    Clever isn’t it.

• the reason why you still need to tap your tng card at the toll plaza is because the bill will be sent to the govt. so no matter what, toll is paid. does not make sense for the toll operator to do the nonsense you mentioned.

• Mr. Sotong on Apr 28, 2022 at 8:39 am

Not saying I support the government but your claim is baseless and can lead to defamation.

It’s no difference to when you are passing through new tolls being tested, you still have to flash your tng card right? The amount will just show ‘RM0.00’.

• Make Malaysia Great Again on Apr 28, 2022 at 11:32 am

What mail said is certainly baseless and a defamation considering such event have not happened yet he is confident toll exits will be blocked at 11.59pm. What mael said otoh is more sensible as you need to tap in/out to record the transaction even if no deductions occurred.

• Gabriel on Apr 28, 2022 at 9:34 am

If the PH gov stuck with their promise of abolishing tolls, we will not face this issue.
    Janji dicapati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • Tohellwithplagiarism on Apr 28, 2022 at 2:18 pm

Same govt for 60 years who build those tolls n u bashed the one with 2 years in charge tried taking away but failed with the given time ? Where’s ur logic ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 28, 2022 at 2:28 pm

60 year gomen did not promise to abolish tolls but they still remove tolls gradually.
        22 month failed gomen promised to abolish toll but never kotakan janji.

• If only the PH still stuck, but after 22 months PH slipped.

• newme on Apr 28, 2022 at 10:10 am

Dah tau ada masalah, bagi free je lah. Tak segan ke masih nak kutip toll padahal menyusahkan pengguna.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Bruce on Apr 28, 2022 at 10:44 am

When the toll is malfunction, highway operators should let the user bypass the toll.

• dong gor on Apr 28, 2022 at 3:11 pm

if you scanned in already, you must scan out. else max fare will be imposed on your card

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 28, 2022 at 11:23 am

If you have a toll booth failure, just open the gantries for the users to go FOC. That’s the least they can do.

Greedy farms.

• paanjang16 on Apr 28, 2022 at 1:49 pm

Kesas can easily open the gantry to let cars through FOC as Kesas is an open toll system unlike Plus which is a closed toll system. I understand why Plus need to record every entry and exit to prevent overcharging but for Kesas they don’t need to record exit and entry.

So for them to insist on collecting toll due to their own failure is just plain greedy. Sure they might lose some but I doubt it hurts their bottom line greatly. Sometimes these guys need to chill out abit and let the customers be happy.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Apr 28, 2022 at 2:38 pm

Selangor PH Gomen owns 30% of Kesas, so if PH should have instructed Kesas to give way free to pass and deduct from PH share of the dividend. It would at least help to fulfill a sliver of their failed promise to abolish tolls.

• Maidin Ali on Apr 28, 2022 at 2:55 pm

The toll should be free. Why pay for traffic jams & pay for no electricity?

• YB Tanjiro on Apr 28, 2022 at 9:18 pm

Haha, semua komen macam2, Sy pun x nak komen lah apa2, cuma nak cakap, bila lah Malaysia Nak maju dan bersih dari rasuah

• @make Malaysia great again act such a stupid idiot child

• Ad is like a petulant stupid idiot for blaming ministry of transportation when they got nothing to do with it