Service stations run out of petrol across Malaysia, leaving many motorists stranded after Hari Raya break

The long Hari Raya break has seen an influx of vehicles making their way across states in the country, and that volume has caught out the supply of fuel in many places, with a large number of service stations running out of petrol, in particular RON 95, due to the significant increase in demand. This led to many motorists being unable to refuel their cars for the return journey, the Malay Mail reports.

Users began taking to Twitter to report the issue last night, with many sharing their experience of finding low or no supply of the RON 95 petrol at petrol stations. While most were centred around the East Coast, parts of Perak, Kedah and Perlis were also listed as being affected by the fuel shortage. Some Twitter users also related that some service stations rationed how much petrol they could buy, with caps of RM20 and RM30 being reported.

Astro Awani reported that around 200 vehicles were stranded after a petrol station at Kampung Saujana in Setiu, Terengganu ran out of fuel yesterday evening. It added that the tanker arrived later, at around midnight.

The Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM) said that the shortage was due to an unexpected surge in demand, coupled with the massive congestion on highways, which caused petrol tankers to be late in reaching service stations.

Speaking to The Malaysian Insight, PDAM president Datuk Khairul Anwar Abdul Aziz said that the fuel tankers also had to ration their supplies at each place as many petrol stations were facing a shortage. “The sale is too high and the jam is too much. [For] the tankers to reach stations, they will have delays with coming and going [from station to station],” he was quoted saying.

He added that it wasn’t just service stations on the highways but also those along main roads, such as those heading to the East Coast, that were out of petrol. “This Raya is different from others, it was a surprise. The sale has been crazy. Usually it is 20% up from normal days, this time it is 40% up,” he said, adding that the fuel shortage is expected to continue until tomorrow (Sunday).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 07, 2022 at 5:02 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 206
    • KJ, University of Oxford on May 07, 2022 at 7:30 pm

This is the first time in decades,petrol and ATM cash run out …just unacceptable and pathetic.
      There was once Peninsular Msia has TNB blackout..the Chairman was replaced shortly after.
      It seems we are like Hell hole Ukriane,shortage of this,shortage of that soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 128
      • Rakyat Malaysia on May 08, 2022 at 4:19 pm

Fren, that I written something totally misleading and totally wrong and I have humbly seek apologies from everyone here and I have written a correction. I dah bertaubat by write in my sori and you should also bertaubat for supporting wrongful comment with more wrongful words. Tolong bertaubat and say you are sori too. No need to be muka tembok when you are wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • Copy Paste on May 08, 2022 at 4:41 pm

Copy paste: “The constant dislikes and disparaging comments u get from the community here tells me ur persona non grata with the readers and i can see why many are just fed up and telling u to shutup coz ur plain clogging up this section with mostly irrelevant comments. Just take ur blardy business somewhere else.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Ukrainball on May 09, 2022 at 3:28 pm

Putin lover say my nation is like hell hole but in actual fact we are winning the war. Go stick your shortage up where the sun don’t shine.

• Anwar Ibrahim on May 07, 2022 at 7:50 pm

Another bodo comment by DAP goons here. stick with a car comment. no wonder lah people don’t support PH anymore.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 169 Thumb down 47
    • Dikoi on May 07, 2022 at 7:50 pm

Its got nothing to do with the gomen la apek. Retail stations runs by oil companies which are private entities . Kalau dah benci pun don’t la show your stupidity in public malu la sikit

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 26
    • This is PH fault that cause they increase the toll booth & extend the toll concession agreement. So a lot of toll cause traffic jammed and drivers need to stay in car longer that can cause fuel burned easily.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 23
    • Rakyat Malaysia on May 08, 2022 at 4:12 pm

Guys im very sori for this totally wrongful comment above, after careful thought I admit all this problem are caused by Pakatan Harapan failures. If they had given toll free and RM1.50 petrol as promised we would not be having this discussion. I dah bertaubat and would like to say sori and I wish I could correct the above very misleading and totally wrong comment. Humble apologies to everyone here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Ghani on May 09, 2022 at 10:27 am

Dah bertaubat tu okey. Yang xok maseh ramai pentaksub PH xde otak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • BBK Dilemma on May 07, 2022 at 5:17 pm

EV haters can always ( BBK ) basikal balik kampung. Feel free to criticise me. I don’t own EV btw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
  • Bieight8 on May 07, 2022 at 5:47 pm

Just switched to EV and don’t need to worry about no fuel…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
  • uzair on May 07, 2022 at 5:56 pm

Free toll ×
    No petrol /

• Haha..bagus la..xyah balik

• carsWant21 on May 07, 2022 at 9:09 pm

Spoke to Petrol Stations BOSS….. There was insufficient DRIVERS for TANKERS . !!! What BAD management by Oil Companies !!!

• Grace on May 08, 2022 at 2:04 pm

That’s what happens when the majority is on holiday and refuse to work.

That’s why need more foreign workers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Simon Yong on May 07, 2022 at 9:57 pm

The problem is not the station operators but the oil company as the control the supplies. Dealers are not able to make orders as oil company will deliver as and when they like. Since petrol price are likely to increase, oil company will keep stocks until the price increases only then the supply to stations. The take full control and when stations run out of fuel, ministry will go after the stations and not the oil company. I pity dealers as I was once in this business. When price increases, customers think the dealers makes tons where in actual fact, oil company makes all . KPDN should go after the oil company for not supplying enough to all stations and not the dealers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Casual reader on May 08, 2022 at 1:19 pm

The real problem is people balik kampung did not refuel hoping to do that on the highway petrol stations and apparently many others thought the same hence leading to a spike fuel shortages. But otherwise, out of the 364 days, petrol station are not going to such good business.

• Simon Yong on May 07, 2022 at 9:58 pm

The problem is not the station operators but the oil company as they control the supplies. Dealers are not able to make orders as oil company will deliver as and when they like. Since petrol price are likely to increase, oil company will keep stocks until the price increases only then the supply to stations. They take full control and when stations run out of fuel, ministry will go after the stations and not the oil company. I pity dealers as I was once in this business. When price increases, customers think the dealers makes tons where in actual fact, oil company makes all . KPDN should go after the oil company for not supplying enough to all stations and not the dealers.

• Alasan? on May 07, 2022 at 11:47 pm

Wow, tokey2 manyak syiok lor. Kaw2 untung. Ok lah, boleh cover loss time covid merajuk ckp smpi nak tutup petrol pam, minta bantuan gov etc etc etc. Ni da untung mkn sorg nmpk. Lol

• Bhalo Singh tatta on May 08, 2022 at 5:52 am

Rakyat suffer Rakyat forget then, this is happening since independence, reality is ***stupidity & incompetency ***is always driving factor behind it, but always blame goes to Rakyat

• LimGuanEngfather on May 08, 2022 at 8:26 am

Lol.. You wanna let PH run?? You wanna let them to create more debt??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
  • ATM/bank run out of cash. Petrol stations run out of petrol. Whatever excuses is NOT acceptable. It is purely fail to plan. Fail to anticipate the situation. Raya is every year… traffic jem is every celebration including raya. So… who ever responsible MUST RESIGN. Let’s somebody more competent take over.

• Oh no, oh no, oh no no no no no on May 08, 2022 at 10:22 am

Don’t worry. We’ll be using flying car in 2020…

Oops, I meant 3020…

• Dong Gor on May 08, 2022 at 2:59 pm

Woo-hoo.. Unexpected demand? Always have excuses that is why wawasan 2020 become 2030. And Ringgit to sing dollar from 1 to 2 to 3… Boleh je.

• bieight8 on May 08, 2022 at 10:44 pm

If no more 95 then just pump 97 or 100…. Why make a big fuss…

• newme on May 09, 2022 at 9:11 am

Becareful how you joke about this matter. They might ration the fuel so that B40 can enjoy. It’s all about B40, remember?

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 09, 2022 at 3:13 pm

The rich got EV mar. No need petrol so problem solved.