Honda CR-V driver arrested for blocking ambulance on PLUS – driver claims to suffer from hearing condition

The Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM) has arrested the driver of a Honda CR-V for blocking an ambulance in Kampar, Perak. According to police investigations, the incident took place on May 15 at KM 292 (northbound) along the PLUS highway.

In a video that went viral recently, the white CR-V was seen driving along the rightmost lane and didn’t give way to the ambulance (horns and siren blaring!), even after being trailed for more than half a minute. The ambulance eventually overtook the SUV by using the left lane.

Astaghfirullah masih ada pemandu yg pentingkan diri sendiri sampai sengaja tidak memberikan laluan kepada pihak Ambulans walaupun siren ambulans sudah lama dibunyikan di belakang kereta Ini.

Posted by Hisham Abdullah on Saturday, 14 May 2022

The incident caught the attention of health director-general Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah, who shared the video on his social media channels and described the driver as selfish.

Investigations found that the CR-V driver – a 62-year-old male – was suffering from tinnitus, or ringing in the ears caused by acoustic neuroma. He has been diagnosed with the condition since three years ago and is undergoing treatment at Universiti Malaya.

Regardless, Kampar police chief superintendent Mohamad Nazri bin Daud said appropriate action will be taken against the driver. Nazri also thanked the public for the video recording, which proved instrumental in its investigations. He added that the PDRM will continue enforcing the law to make sure the roads are safe for public use at all times.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• drMpower on May 17, 2022 at 7:51 pm

now its clear that he cannot be on the road. the cat is out of the bag.
    it is now the responsibility of everyone the police and moh to take this man off the road.

is it the hearing or the visual also he is lacking?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 1
    • Kariayam on May 17, 2022 at 11:37 pm

Easy for you to say, how many years have you lived without sound. Instead of bashing people with disabilities perhaps this could’ve been solved by making mandatory oku stickers on all vehicles for drivers with hearing disabilities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 44
      • Not bias on May 18, 2022 at 8:07 am

U need oku with specific disabilities? I hope u are joking. Oku means oku.most motorist will give way. Why did he drive on the fast lane knowing he have disability? Even though he have hearing issues, but he forgot he have good eye sight

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
        • eeeriz on May 18, 2022 at 10:05 am

I do not condone the act done by this uncle, but when you have reached age of 60 and above, the judgement during driving is severely affected. Well, maybe not everyone, but majority of warga emas will have this features and advised not to drive on highways. My father already 80, he can still drive but only on town roads. He even acknowledged he can’t drive on highways or city or at night. Maybe we need to forgive this uncle and gave him a warning only. No need to bring this up to another level, please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Lolwhut? on May 18, 2022 at 2:31 pm

If that unker knows he is not in a condition to drive properly, what da heck is he doing at the most right lane? We can forgive forgetfulness but how can we forgive selfishness?

• was he visually impaired as well? i guess the deaf still able to see flashing lights (headlamps and siren) of an ambulance from far away.

• Kapchai on May 17, 2022 at 8:17 pm

Kete T20 ini buat malu…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • KJ, University of Oxford on May 17, 2022 at 8:24 pm

Can I put forward this question: What if the uncle driver with this ear impediment is the DG of health ?So happen,say he is not chauferred ,driving as a citizen.
    Should we send him to jail? Did the driver obstruct the ambulance on purpose?
    It is unfortunate the uncle couldnt hear the siren,supposedly.
    The driver, if he can hear the siren,should be punished according to the law.But we should get all the facts right before this case goes to court.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 76
    • seancorr on May 17, 2022 at 10:39 pm

By law you are supposed to be aware of what’s behind you and that includes looking at the rear view mirror every other interval. The right lane is also used for overtaking so what’s that fella doing there? Also if you have a medical condition then the more you need to be aware of your surroundings or use public transport/taxi if you’re going to be an obstruction on the road. Surely they fella can afford a taxi ride since he owns a CRV.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
    • Risky business on May 17, 2022 at 11:08 pm

Thats why emergency vehicles are also equipped with beacon light. If anyone could not detect both then he or she should no be allowed to operate motor vehicle.

Come to think about it, not being able to hear is just like being blind. One cant hear other vehicle horn thus might ignore potential danger or hazard.

Its just like OKU drivers or riders. Being OKU does not means they are exempted from using the indicators when making a turn or hogging the fast lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • Casual reader on May 18, 2022 at 3:15 am

Among other things that can get one barred from the road, being blind and being are one of them, so he better be careful how he pleas as he has a choice either to pay fine and spend time in jail or permanently losing his license. Either way he is idiot par excellence at the same level with Civic blocker. Must be Honda thing…

• Vincent on May 18, 2022 at 10:52 am

THe diver should go back to driving school and review the SOP in driving!
      1) He should have an eye on the road, observing front, back, right and left! Cannot hear is not an excuse.
      2) If he got a hearing problem, he needs an OKU certificate to qualify himself as a special care driver!!

• Troll Hunter on May 18, 2022 at 12:05 pm

Troller Albert and his dupes have the same problem with CRV driver. He knows he is not to be around but they still insist to be a nuisance to everyone around them.

• Driving license kopi o on May 17, 2022 at 8:40 pm

Well if you are not aware of flashing lights and your surroundings too, clearly not fit for driving and should get license revoked and apply other OKU license n place sticker

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
  • hearing problem? visual problem too?

• Kapchai on May 18, 2022 at 8:28 am

Mental problem. Mental wellness below average.
      To be verified @ tanjung rambutan.

• Typical right lane road hogger…

• Jasonxxx on May 18, 2022 at 7:48 am

For those defending the driver, what about visual? Lights flashing? He also blind? If he doesn’t even see the ambulance, he has no situation awareness and should not be on the road.

Excuses excuses… All you know is excuses

• Emergency Vehicles on May 18, 2022 at 8:04 am

Our KKM Ambulance have the standard Wig-Wag Flashers (High Beam alternating Left & Right), Grille LED flashers, on top of the customary fully decked all Red LED Lightbar. This and with quality audible siren, which is loud enough, however at speeds, the sound will fade due to the doppler effect (the vehicle moving forwards and the soundwave compressed), which explained why the uncle failed to hear it coming, couple that with the tinnitus condition he’s suffering.

The Ambulance will be visible when approached from behind many meters away, otherwise, these emergency lights from the Ambulance need to be checked/calibrated for the brightness and effective angle (some installer mount the lights not pointing straight forward/backward/sides, i.e not perpendicular to road users, minimising the effectiveness).

Else, our Ambulance need more lights e.g dashboard lights!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • Lets See on May 18, 2022 at 12:12 pm

Still trying to give excuses eh? Okay I bite. Lets say he could not hear and the ambulance lights are totally skewed that he cannot see it. Okay. But what about the flashing signal lights?

When first responders turn on siren & lights, the signal lights will blink too in unison. Are you going to tell us he cannot see the flashing signal lights which are way below and thus at his eye level? If he is both deaf & blind, he is not supposed to be on the road, much less the right lane. Period.

• Emergency Vehicles on May 26, 2022 at 5:25 am

Mana ada excuse la uncle, ada faham takda faham itu English,

Saya tulis Bahasa, mungkin penjelasan di atas kurang jelas.

Bunyi akan tenggelam bila kenderaan yang memasang siren bergerak laju, bunyi boleh dengar tapi menjadi perlahan bila ada efek doppler, terutama sewaktu memandu, saya pun banyak kali bagi laluan pada ambulance masa trafik sesak, boleh dengar sebab sedang bergerak perlahan, tapi semasa kelajuan lebuhraya, bunyi siren samar2 sebab laju.

Saya tulis, Lampu Mata Arah sepatutnya “Pasti Akan” dapat dilihat oleh pemandu didepan. Sebab memang boleh nampak, dengan kelengkapan sedia ada ambulans KKM.

Memang salah driver tu lah tak nampak dan tak beri perhatian pada Ambulans

“Kalau tak nampak juga”, selain mengecam pemandu tersebut, lakukan juga penambahbaikan dari segi keberkesanan Lampu Mata Arah dari segi jumlah lampu dan kualiti pemasangan lampu tersebut.

Itu maksud saya, 2 penyelesaian, bukan blame / denda road user sahaja, orang memang akan buat silap punya, kita mesti double confirm ma ada elok ka itu lampu mata arah, kalau betul takpa, kalau perlu improve boleh improve/ boleh tambah kita tambah.

Salah memang driver tu salah, tapi selain itu nak buat apa? denda lagi?, saman lagi?, esok jadi lagi?, buat apa?, buat undang2 baru?, batal lesen pemandu tua?, apa lagi?, kena buat kajian lagi, lagi delay, mana selesai masalah itu macam.

Ultimate goal is safety for first responders and public.

Boleh Faham ka?

• Sick&Tired on May 18, 2022 at 9:05 am

While I sympathies with the man, why is he driving on the right lane? And aren’t you suppose to check your rear view mirror frequently? This shows that this guy shouldn’t be driving on the road and his license should be revoked!

• Suggest PDRM to do one simple test

Drive the same CRV & ambulance. Simulate the same distance as shown in the video. Get a driver the same height as the OKU driver. When the ambulance is that near ( cucuk ). Can he see the blue light ?

If the test driver can see, then this OKU driver is not fit to drive.
    But this is just one of the thing need to be proven.
    A lot more need to be established as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Lolwhut? on May 18, 2022 at 2:35 pm

There are not OKU sticker on his car so how do you judged he is OKU? Mental disability?

• why simulate? Ambulance was moving fast from far strobe lights and siren can be heard/seen from a distance, or you’re telling me that ambulance suddenly appear out of nowhere and instantly tailgating that CRV? lol.

• Alasan? on May 18, 2022 at 9:45 am

No rear mirror?

• dong gor on May 18, 2022 at 9:52 am

CRV is not right. but from another angle, the ambulance could have used the left lane earlier!!! it’s not like that is the only lane u have to get going man. Users should give ambulance priority, but let’s not pamper them until they get the superiority over any other users…such as in this event where using the other lane is much faster than wasting 30 secos pushing the CRV to the side!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Only in Malaysia on May 18, 2022 at 11:48 am

Wow, typical Malaysian answer. There are reason why almost all emergency vehicle around the world keep to the ‘fast lane’ all the time. Same goes in europe where once an emergency vehicle follow a lane hogger for few moment before overtaking on the left.

Its not about superiority. Thats the rule. Why they avoid to using inner lane or emergency lane except when traffic is so bad? Because (in RH country) vehicles are required to move over to the left.

If when the ambulance overtake on the left then the CRV suddenly notices that and panicked so he too swerve to the left….is that the ambulance fault by not suppose to overtake on the left?

• Right? on May 19, 2022 at 12:36 am

To Dong Gor, if your relative inside that ambulance, surely you’ll not babbling.

• civicEK on May 18, 2022 at 10:29 am

tunjuk kad OKU lah confirm lepas.

• Not Toyota Fan on May 18, 2022 at 10:48 am

Apparently the driver was not alone in the cars. Are his passengers also deaf & blind?

• Vincent on May 18, 2022 at 10:48 am

Please issue the driver with another ticket, gagal mengikut Kiri! All cars should have kept left except overtaking! Video obvious showed that the driver kept right for more than 15 seconds when there was no car at the left for overtaking!

• FA5393 on May 18, 2022 at 11:05 am

MF suddenly developed a case of disability after the incident. What an @$$hole. IF he fakes it, hope it will be permanent and worsen

• Bieight8 on May 18, 2022 at 8:20 pm

What a great excuse!

• ROTI CANAI on May 18, 2022 at 8:43 pm

ban him la

• haha…
    i am farsighted… tu ambulance tak nampak… terlalu dekat…

• I too once suffered from severe Tinnitus. But I can still hear my surrounding albeit at a much higher sound level of low frequency sounds. Tinnitus does not affect my eyesight. At one point the Tinnitus was so severe that it make me very uncomfortable all certain times, so I let my wife drive instead.

A person who experiences an impaired sense such that it impairs his driving ability, should take the safer slower left lane instead of hogging the fast lane. If his impairment is so severe, what is he doing driving on the road.

His sight was not impaired, so he could have seen the ambulance with the flashing lights in his mirrors.

Furthermore, the left lane is completely empty, what was he doing of hogging the right lane.

To me using his impairment as an excuse of not giving way to an emergency vehicle is nothing more than a lame defense.

• King Honda on May 20, 2022 at 8:28 am

Stupid crv driver!!