2022 BMW i4 M50 in Malaysia – electric M-car, 544 PS, 0-100 km/h 3.9 secs, 510 km range; priced at RM431k

As we reported earlier, BMW M is celebrating its 50th anniversary, and not only is the world getting two new special edition models today, but us Malaysians are receiving not one, not two but five new M vehicles that have now been launched. Here, we’re focusing on the first-ever fully-electric M model to hit the streets – the BMW i4 M50, the meanest version of Munich’s zero-emission Gran Coupé.

First, let’s start with pricing. As with other electric vehicles, the i4 M50 benefits from the government’s import tax, excise duty and road tax exemptions and is priced at RM430,800, RM41,000 more expensive than the standard eDrive40 variant. This figure includes the sales and service tax (SST), as the car is expected to arrive after the June 30 cutoff for the Penjana rebate, as well as a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty, a six-year free service package and an eight-year/160,000 km battery warranty.

Unlike the rear-drive eDrive40, the M50 gets all-wheel drive, thanks to the addition of a front motor producing 190 kW (258 PS) and 430 Nm of torque. The rear unit, meanwhile, has been detuned slightly to 230 kW (313 PS, down from 340 PS) and 365 Nm, although that’s still enough for the i40 to dish out a total system output of 400 kW (544 PS) and 795 Nm.

These combined figures are available to drivers for up to ten seconds using the Sport Boost function, enabling the M50 to sprint from zero to 100 km/h in 3.9 seconds (nearly two seconds quicker than the eDrive40) on its way to an electronically-limited top speed of 225 km/h (up from 190 km/h).

Equipped with the same 83.9 kWh (80.7 kWh nett) lithium-ion battery as the eDrive40, the M50 actually delivers less range at 510 km, 80 km shorter on the same WLTP cycle. Charging takes eight hours and 15 minutes using an 11 kW AC charger, with the M50 also able to accept up to 200 kW of DC charging power, the latter filling the battery from 10 to 80% in just 31 minutes.

As per our eDrive40, the M50 comes as standard with the M Sport package, with differentiating features including an M badge (instead of the i logo) on the full-height, closed-off double kidney grille, a boot lid lip spoiler and BMW M’s trademark dual-arm door mirrors.

Our car gets the Extended Shadowline package that adds a gloss black grille surround, front corner air inlets and door mirrors, plus dark grey pinstriping on the grille and rear diffuser. The Malaysian-spec M50 also rides on 20-inch BMW Individual Style 862 aero alloy wheels, which were fitted to the preview eDrive40 earlier this year but not the eventual retail model that went on sale in April.

Inside, there are carbon fibre trim inserts, heavily-bolstered M Sport seats and M tricolour seat belts to go with the standard M Sport steering wheel, alloy pedals and black headlining. As with the eDrive40, the M50 gets the Curved Display panel with a 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster and a 14.9-inch centre touchscreen, both running the latest BMW Operating System 8.

Unlike the eDrive40, the M50 swaps out Sensatec faux leather for real Vernasca cowhide, although the dashboard is still wrapped in Sensatec; it’s also the only i4 variant to get a sliding glass sunroof. Otherwise, the specs are identical and include Laserlight headlamps (here with darkened internals), keyless entry, push-button start, triple-zone climate control and power-adjustable front seats with driver’s side memory.

Other bits of kit are park assist, a 360-degree camera system, IconicSounds Electric synthesised “engine” sounds (designed in collaboration with renown composer Hans Zimmer), acoustic pedestrian warning, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto connectivity, a Qi wireless charger, a 17-speaker, 525-watt Harman Kardon surround sound system and a hands-free powered tailgate.

Safety-wise, the M50 comes with the full Driving Assistant Professional package (as does the eDrive40), comprising of autonomous emergency braking, adaptive cruise control with stop and go, lane centring assist, lane keeping assist, blind spot monitoring and collision prevention and adaptive high beam. Active Protection, BMW’s version of Mercedes-Benz’s Pre-Safe, is also fitted.

In terms of exterior colours, the i4 M50 is available in Mineral White, Black Sapphire, M Brooklyn Grey, M Portimao Blue and Sanremo Green, matched with either black (with contrasting blue stitching) or Cognac Vernasca leather upholstery on the inside. The car can be booked now through the BMW Shop Online with a RM5,000 fee, with monthly instalments starting from RM4,958 via Straight Line financing.

GALLERY: BMW i4 M50 global press images

Learn more: ,

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• 3.9 seconds and 225 km/h…..sounds powerful

• Kapchai on May 24, 2022 at 12:36 pm

https://paultan.org/2018/08/14/new-bmw-i8-launched-in-malaysia-rm1-31-million/

When you compared to BMW I8 2018 55kM,
      EV also got dinasaur grade.

• BMW i8 is 1.5EV, 560km range extended.
        4.4s to 100
        250km/h Top speed
        Nurburgring Time 8min19s – Slow.

BMW i4 is EV, 510km,
        3.9s to 100
        225km/h Top Speed – Slow.
        Nurburgring Time – TBA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Competition on May 24, 2022 at 2:38 pm

225 km/h – not slow and not bad top speed

• sohai on May 24, 2022 at 6:38 pm

maintain 225km/h top speed, range probably 100km… You need a toll car waiting in Slim River.

• bieight8 on May 24, 2022 at 12:20 pm

How much is the road tax???

• Taycan on May 24, 2022 at 12:29 pm

Pls equip the M50 with 22kW on board charger just like the Porsche Taycan.

• sohai on May 24, 2022 at 6:36 pm

From here race to penang, my MyVi wins…
    This car still needs to “Jop, charge dulu” half way… haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9