DBKL to study city centre traffic congestion; to look into heavy vehicles, business operations, road users

Rush hour traffic in Petaling Jaya, Selangor

Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) will conduct a detailed study on how to reduced traffic congestion in Kuala Lumpur which is becoming increasingly critical, Bernama reported.

Attention will be paid to certain aspects including traffic light coordination and parking management systems which have disrupted traffic flow, said federal territories deputy minister Datuk Seri Jalaluddin Alias.

“The traffic light system in the city centre is now being managed by two different companies. These companies need to have good communication to ensure that the traffic lights are synchronised for all routes entering and leaving the city. If there is an urgent need, there is a possibility [that DBKL will] no longer use two different systems,” the federal territories deputy minister said.

Results from the study will be tabled at the federal territories ministry post-cabinet meeting, Jalaluddin added. Traffic in the federal capital is monitored and managed by the DBKL Kuala Lumpur Command and Control Centre (KLCCC) unit, formerly known as the Integrated Transport Information System (ITIS).

Other matters that will be looked into will include the entry of heavy vehicles into the city, businesses operating in unauthorised locations as well as the attitude of road users, he said.

“I do not guarantee that traffic congestion will be resolved 100%, however [the study] is to keep the situation from escalating,” the deputy minister said.

Earlier this morning, a stalled cement lorry had added to the traffic congestion on the East-West Link Expressway in Cheras, as it was immobile on the left and centre lanes of the highway. Existing traffic laws state that slow-moving vehicles are not allowed on Kuala Lumpur roads during peak traffic hours, and this has been on the books since 1995.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Thinking this thing on May 25, 2022 at 11:07 am

Future Level5 Autonomous Logistic,
    Can travel safely after 12.00am,
    They are traveling @ controlled path, same journey everyday,
    speed limit for truck, also not very fast.

Malaysia can make it.
    Cheaper and Safer Heavy Logistic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • david on May 25, 2022 at 11:08 am

forever study

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
  • The way DBKL handles the congestion is either the congestion happens since yesterday, or DBKL just existed yesterday, or the KL folks are born yesterday! Ya… By all means, study and study… Until all cows come home!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Outsider on May 28, 2022 at 6:50 pm

No, genuine KL folks now 80percent frm kampung. Majority not born here. They all bring kiasu driving attitude to KL because they thought KL is like that when they still in Kampung hearing gossip frm returning visit peers. After few years here they change car buy KL plate because they say KL ppl bully them by right it is their sempai from kampung came before them bully them. I still remember when I m in college 17 yrs ago hearing other state friend saying you must drive kaw kaw in KL and dont indicate then ppl will think you original KL, cooler. Bullshit. Outsider state ppl who called themselves KL ppl are just laughable. Maybe their children born here is local but not them with their primitive attitude. There are even college peers frm seremban offer to teach me how to wear to look like KL ppl years ago before I even told them Im born local in KL, just to finish listening to their funny suggestion first then look at their red face when I finally tell them. The best time in KL? When all these ppl go back to where they came frm during festive season. Ahhh… the good old time return, finally with some class.

• Mr. Sotong on May 25, 2022 at 11:15 am

I had a friend who went to study in Australia for a 3 year degree… Came back after 7 years, still no degree…

• Amran on May 25, 2022 at 12:10 pm

Ini semua salah Australia. They are also equally stupid to paint road with expensive glow in the dark paints that won’t last 2 months.

• dong gor on May 25, 2022 at 11:21 am

stilly studying ar? by the time u got some ideas (which are usually rubbish), the actual scenarios change already. back to square one but a lot of money burnt/ pocketed.

• Lulla Singh on May 25, 2022 at 12:03 pm

U look seriously frst and rectify n fix abt roads full of pathholes frst n make it frst world roads,

• Make Malaysia Great Again on May 25, 2022 at 12:47 pm

How to make it first world when first world traffic per KM tarmac is not as heavy as ours? That is the reason why our roads worn too fast, and so to alleviate this problem we need to to build more roads & highways to reduce usage and wear & tear. Only this way we can get first world roads.

• Cahrge high once enter city! Charge RM50 per hour!

• pomen on May 25, 2022 at 2:01 pm

at the same time Gov approved another 3 new highway in the Klang Valley….haha

• Autbahn on May 25, 2022 at 2:14 pm

Study the lanes arrangment as well. Often if you stick to main lane in major roads in kl, you will end up in a lane going to junction instead. This will cause flow disruption as we need to switch lane to continue our journey.

• Study sampai muntah…

• NG Sim Loke on May 26, 2022 at 11:50 pm

Remove all bottle necks, widen existing roads by another 4′ minimum & maintain traffic lights with numbering indicators! Draw double lines 100 metres before toll booth roundabouts!