Double park without leaving your phone number? It’s illegal – your car can be towed away, plus RM300 fine

Dealing with a double parker has got to be one of the most inconvenient and infuriating things one could encounter on the road. First of all, it’s already illegal to double park, but what makes the offense so much worse is the fact that some double parkers don’t even have the courtesy to leave their phone numbers behind.

We’ve all been there, and every passing minute becomes increasingly dreadful. Such was the case for one lady who painstakingly waited 30 minutes for the owner of a double-parked Proton Iriz (illegally dark tinted as well, mind you) to move her vehicle.

The offender seemed pretty nonchalant about the act, and even took her sweet time to load items into the vehicle. To add fuel to fire, she was also seen carrying a toddler onto her lap as she sat in the driver’s seat.

The victim’s husband, Shahrudin Suhilee, took to Facebook to share her plight, saying “for those who like to double park, especially at crowded spaces like hospitals, please don’t be selfish and remember to leave your phone number behind.”

“My wife nearly cried in the moment. All the errands, including picking up the children from school, was delayed” because of this selfish act, he added. “Luckily it was my wife instead of me who was caught in the situation,” Shahrudin said while commending his wife for the patience shown.

Now, let us remind you again that double parking is not legal anywhere in Malaysia, and so is the act of vigilantism. That means victims are encouraged to practice restraint and not take the law into their own hands.

The best thing you can do is contact the local council to have the double-parked car towed away. Some would argue that it will take time for the police or local authorities to remove blocking vehicles, but the law is still a law.

If you must double park, even for a hot minute, at least have the decency to leave a number behind, alright? Otherwise, prepare to pay a fine sum of at least RM300 for your convenience. In worse cases, you’re liable under Section 48 (1) of the Road Transport Act 1987, which means you’ll be slapped with a fine of up to RM5,000 or a minimum jail term of 12 months, or both.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Auntie on May 27, 2022 at 1:02 pm

What is the towing number?
    I will take photo/video and whatssap to him for his verification and tow it immediately,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Rakyat Malaysia on May 27, 2022 at 2:40 pm

Why all these videos never show number plate lahh! Teasing here, teasing there so much making everyone rage but last last never show plate how to find that mofo and rage against that person. Sinkie does it better, take number plate and find sampai lubang cacing where the idiot stolen diesel Sorento park at home.

Come on if you want to shame that person, show us that number plate. Kasi malu betul betul, then beli 3D/4D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Morgan on May 27, 2022 at 8:43 pm

They’re Beta personalities i.e. talk a lot but actually really scared/frightened inside, so they dare not take photos which will get the other party in trouble – That’s why those ppl are Alpha’s who dare do this coz they know no matter what, they WILL Get away with their Selfish acts

• Dorothy on May 27, 2022 at 8:52 pm

I’ve got a warehouse in subang. I don’t go there very often but each time I go there, the neighbor’s would park in front of my warehouse, without any contact number. Some who left a name card would ask me to wait as he’s not free to come and remove it. I hv no access to my warehouse. It’s worse when it rain. I’m faced with this problems and have called the municipal council and even the police. They claimed it’s not their jurisdiction to tow away vehicles parked illegally! I’ve got pictures if the many car numbers but is it legal for me to disclose it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • KALIM on May 27, 2022 at 9:26 pm

Tmn OUG, Bkt Jalil, Muhibbah LRT Stn shop houses, are some of the worst areas of double parking, parking at junctions, placing obstacles at parking bays, five foot way obstruction, illegal shophouses extensions, etc. Never seen any enforcement before. Looks like if one has a business, one can start expanding in any direction one likes, thus leaving pedestrians to walk with the traffic.

• Dorothy Lee on May 29, 2022 at 8:13 pm

Please provide towing car service number. Urgently required! Thanks.

• willie on May 27, 2022 at 1:22 pm

with the lack of authority to carry such a vast area, perhaps they should accept a video or photo of culprit double park and send to authority to issue summon.

• Rakyat Malaysia on May 27, 2022 at 2:44 pm

Nak saman macem mana. Number plate pun tak nampak. Cilaka video betul.

• Brasco on May 28, 2022 at 1:11 am

Tu la pasal, setakat nk ambik video, upload pastu harap org bash pompuan tu kan sama je standard nya

• Bieight8 on May 27, 2022 at 1:41 pm

In mother Russia if you double park your car will be filled with cement…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Dong Gor on May 27, 2022 at 2:02 pm

Ya, cannot take laws into our own hands. But what’s the better suggestion from the authority? Especially if one is in an emergency situation.. Got recommendation besides chill, relak, and wait for it! If not resolved, it will only manifest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Rakyat Malaysia on May 27, 2022 at 2:42 pm

Authorities say in the past, the whole kampung will come out and help to move that car. Nowadays, people like to whack to kampung so much so that kampung no longer come out to help, biar padan mukak sendri angkat baju.

• What is the title trying to mean? Double park is wrong and shoyld be fined regardless leave phone number or not!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • suomynona on May 27, 2022 at 3:46 pm

Come drive in KL first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • If you try to interprete laws in your own way, then be the authority first!

• anywhere is the same. kl, selangor, johor, ipoh. What make u so special, park anywhere u like that cause inconveniences to other!!

• Notadoubleparker on May 29, 2022 at 11:39 am

The title can only mean that Matthew is a double parker himself who thinks it is ok if he leaves his humber.

• The most annoying is the double park @ yellow line.
    Like the Petaling Street/Jalan Sultan,
    Jalan Hang Tuah/Masjid Al-Bukhari.

This parking double park only block 1 car, at least leaving a number laa, and drive away in 5seconds.

But yellow line parking cause the whole KL Jam!

• MeToo on May 27, 2022 at 3:22 pm

Call the polie? Call tow truck?

By the time they arrive 1hr later, the car already moved away.

• komarad on May 27, 2022 at 4:44 pm

double park but showing/leaving phone number is legal? please clarify…

• MatthewHThongSoHai on May 27, 2022 at 6:21 pm

Stupid journalism. Learn to write. Morons, is this the level that the esteemed Paultan website as been denigrated to?

• You CANNOT double park, whether you leave a number or not, PERIOD. You are implying that it is legal if you leave a number – WRONG!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Ben Yap on May 27, 2022 at 7:28 pm

when comes to parking, malaysians are one of the most selfish people. from double parking to reserving parking spots.

• Dorothy on May 27, 2022 at 8:55 pm

I’ve got a warehouse in subang. I don’t go there very often but each time I go there, the neighbor’s would park in front of my warehouse, without any contact number. Some who left a name card would ask me to wait as he’s not free to come and remove it. I hv no access to my warehouse. It’s worse when it rain. I’m faced with this problems and have called the municipal council and even the police. They claimed it’s not their jurisdiction to tow away vehicles parked illegally! I’ve got pictures if the many car numbers but is it legal for me to disclose it?

• KALIM on May 27, 2022 at 9:41 pm

Hope many vehicles can the enforcers tow away? A better option is to enact a law whereby the enforcers are allowed to remove two wheels of each vehicle that caused obstruction. That will teach all offenders a lesson as they will have to find a tow truck to tow their vehicles and pay a fine to get back the two wheels.

• Apa itu “Parker”

• lam alif on May 28, 2022 at 10:26 am

hati kering di balas hati kering
    barulah adil…yg paham tu pahamlah

• Rakyat Biasa on May 28, 2022 at 10:35 am

It was the year 2008. I drove my old kancil from Melaka to KL to meet my buddy. I parked in a dedicated paid open parking are somewhere near Times Square. When I returned with my friend by 8pm, It’s was the char kway teow staff beside my car and already with oil stains on the left side of my car. There weren’t any signs showing that the parking lots had turned into stalls by night. It took some 30 mins to remove the car as people were eating on foldable tables. That was the worst moment. I hated KL’s dysfunctional and lawlessness. Never seen any double parking in Melaka yet but even if it happens, it will be the tourists from KL and soon the locals may pick up the awful habits. Melaka get heavily congested too and lack of Public transportation efficiency.

• Kevin on May 28, 2022 at 3:51 pm

Even if they leave contact information on the car .they will not answer your needs for removal of the car.

• Dorothy Lee on May 29, 2022 at 8:11 pm

Idiotic driver left a name card on the dash board, called and said its not his car but know the car owner. Will contact owner to remove but desperately waited 20 minutes no sign… called again, went unanswered! How annoying! What can I do to his car! Please help, its happening once too often.