MaxTag launches new USB-powered SmartTAG device

MaxTag has launched a new USB-powered SmartTAG device called the MaxTag PSE. It is currently available for purchase on their Shopee Mall store.

Instead of using a 9V battery, it is powered by a USB cable. Having their SmartTAG device powered by USB could be a useful feature for someone who does not want to bother with replacing 9V batteries and making sure they sit properly in the battery compartment.

It is currently possible for SmartTAG users to power their devices with a USB cable through the use of a 9V battery terminal to 5V USB converter cable, but the new MaxTag PSE makes for a cleaner solution if you don’t already have a SmartTAG device.

Of course, this method means there is a cable in the way, which some might not like. The alternative is to use a USB rechargeable 9V battery instead of a normal 9V battery.

If you’re interested in getting any of the devices mentioned above, you can head to any of the links below.

LINK: MaxTag PSE USB-powered SmartTAG
LINK: MaxTax normal SmartTAG
LINK: Beston USB-rechargable 9V battery
LINK: 9V terminal to 5V USB converter
LINK: Lokatag built-in SmartTAG

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Darren on May 29, 2022 at 4:48 pm

Why pay Rm90 for an outdated device that spoils easily when I could just pay Rm35 for an RFID tag?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 65
    • dellen on May 29, 2022 at 5:03 pm

go ahead and get stuck at that sole rfid lane hahahah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 17
      • Batuganaz on May 29, 2022 at 9:06 pm

Long time not on the road aa? Rfid is the fastest n less used lane, good luck queing and stuck behind ‘no card detect’ and ‘ baki tidak mencukupi’ driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 40
        • Too many people changed to RFID on May 29, 2022 at 9:34 pm

I almost bought RFID due to that reason but suddenly in the past 2 weeks the tide has turned the other way. Now, the RFID lanes at kelana jaya exit are the longest queues compared to smartag and TnG lanes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
          • Civic Turbo 2018 on May 30, 2022 at 3:08 pm

I’m happy with my Smart Tag. Current one is my 2nd unit since 2011 and still working like a charm. Good investment

• Kanthasamy Ragunathan on Oct 21, 2022 at 11:32 pm

Yes, you’re correct…stupid RFID system

• it is the same at rfid… no tag detected and no balance. the tech is not the issue, human problem

• newme on May 30, 2022 at 9:04 am

1. Fastest? Hell no. It won’t jammed up the lane if it’s fastest.
          2. Less used lane? Yes. Because of item no 1.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on May 30, 2022 at 3:09 pm

U’ll have the option to tab your physical TnG card if so happen Smart Tag is low on battery

• newme on May 30, 2022 at 4:06 pm

“IF” low on battery. “IF”. At least there’s still option for you to go thru. If RFID, you will sit there waiting for toll people to rescue you while others can’t do anything but queue.

• Sohaihighhigh on May 31, 2022 at 5:41 pm

Im on the road everyday, 2 car go rfid, both car cannot detect rfid, quite common to see rfid no detect issue, even plus staff agree rfid is b0d0h

• Isaac on May 29, 2022 at 9:17 pm

It’s good to diversify so you don’t always get stuck. But yeah I get your point. Better to buy RFID tag then this product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Auntie on May 29, 2022 at 5:50 pm

The cable looks too short.

If it’s long still can find way to be hidden like those Dash Cam Wire.

But now, finally –
    It’s a dangling wire.

#Safety Hazard in Car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • The sample product display – yea
      It’s indeed a short wire,
      Wire is dangling hang in front of the radio and aircon.

But a short wire also can be attached to the dashboard,
      Using the exposed wire/cable clip with 3M tape.. hehehee, if that’s beautiful…
      But safety improved.

• Still selling this dinosaur. Lemah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • newme on May 30, 2022 at 9:10 am

It is still the dinosaur that saved the day when the RFID jamming up the toll plaza.

• Katheryne Wong on May 29, 2022 at 7:18 pm

This thing is just overpriced. It should be sold at rm15.90 only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Namewewe on Jan 10, 2023 at 3:22 am

100% agree,everyday on the road only goverment already suck our money without noticed,annual roadtax+crazy high fee toll.Last time I just lucky still have credit in my IC,stupid LPT highway have no RFID.

• Ex VGM staff on May 30, 2022 at 8:23 am

Why still selling this when you say touch n go card would be obselete about 2025? (Hence introduction of rfid). Its pointless.

• Overpriced!

• newme on May 30, 2022 at 9:09 am

This is counter productive. You will still need to disconnect and remove the smarttag from the holder or risk pecah cermin.

Why would anyone buy this when many are having in-dash smarttag?

• Casual reader on May 30, 2022 at 10:46 am

Many? Where did you pull that from, your end hole? Very few brand offer on dash reader and that is optional so not all those sold will come with it.

• newme on May 30, 2022 at 11:13 am

Perodua that command the biggest share is having the in-dash. Wake up dude. That excludes people that install them from accessories shops.

• Mr. Sotong on May 30, 2022 at 10:36 am

If there is no wiring involved with solar charging built in I will buy it in a heartbeat.

• Stupid old minded uncle's on May 30, 2022 at 11:17 am

Why need to compare between dinosaur tag and RFID lanes when the mostly available lane is TnG, just roll down ur windows and scan ur damn TnG card. No need complain

• Poor implementation. They could have used usbc as the terminal instead of a barrel jack..

• matjava on May 30, 2022 at 1:14 pm

better if gomen to abolish the toll

• go shopee buy the USB powered the 9v port less than RM10 only ! and use on existing smart tag.

• Mr. RK on Oct 22, 2022 at 6:37 am

The New MaxTag PSE found the display is malfunctioning without connecting to cable! I bought it from Lazada and it was received yesterday (21/10/2022)