SST exemption beneficial to the auto industry, but up to the finance ministry to decide on an extension: Wee

The current sales tax (SST) exemption for new vehicles is set to come to an end on June 30, and it is not known if there will be another extension to the scheme, despite requests to do so. Last month, the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) said it had appealed to the finance ministry to extend the SST exemption, but said it had not received any feedback on the matter.

Now, transport minister Datuk Seri Wee Ka Siong has offered his views on the matter, as The Star reports. In a Q&A session following the launch of the ACO Tech ATLAS automotive ecosystem yesterday, he said that he viewed the exemption as a benefit for the automotive industry.

However, he understood that the finance ministry would have its own financial considerations to make, and as such, he explained that the decision on whether to continue with the scheme would be up to the finance ministry.

He said the sales tax exemption of 100% for locally-assembled (CKD) cars and 50% for fully-imported (CBU) cars had helped the industry deal with the Covid-19 pandemic. With it in place, he said that “the automotive market was able to remain viable. Otherwise, it would have been difficult for dealers to survive during the pandemic,” he said.

“The incentive has helped to boost the economic sector and our recovery, and the transport ministry is able to see this through the transactions at the road transport department (JPJ). However, we need to consider the country’s financial capabilities and for that, I will leave it to the discretion of the finance ministry,” he said.

Wee said he would be sharing his thoughts with finance minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz. “I will discuss this when I meet him soon. As the transport minister, I feel the exemption scheme has been a boon for businesses and car dealers. They were able to maintain their businesses and did not have to resort to getting rid of workers,” he said

“But whatever decision made by the finance ministry will be supported by the transport ministry, as we are part of the same government. It is a collective decision and responsibility,” he added.

The SST exemption was first announced in June 5, 2020 as part of the Penjana stimulus package to mitigate the effects of the first movement control order, which took place from March that year. Originally scheduled to end on December 31 that year, the SST exemption was extended at the last moment to June 30, 2021, and then again to December 31, 2021. A third extension, which is the current one, was announced during the tabling of Budget 2022.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I planned to buy car this yr but stupid non planning govertment said no extension for first time until end of 2020. I bought n took my car on 21/12/2020. My car is getting old but yet it is still continue……Messed up my fonancial planning that time! Two more yrs mean I can save more money for dp and reduce monthly commitment!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 390 Thumb down 460
    • newme on Jun 08, 2022 at 12:08 pm

Their job is not to help the people to save money. It’s to help them to make money.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 285 Thumb down 350
    • Lolwhut? on Jun 08, 2022 at 3:45 pm

You ady got ur brand new car SST exempted in 2020. Apalagimau? Again buy car in 2022 wahh you damn rich kah? Still want to benefit another round of SST exempt and when cannot you blame gomen? Crazy ah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 95
    • Brian on Jun 08, 2022 at 5:18 pm

CKL tokok again might as well say he buys car like underwear every month but cannot due to shortages and blames Govt for this global problem.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 94
    • Very simple, if purchase in 2020 mess up your financial plan, you should not buy at the first place and blame others. SST exemption should not be the main factor in deciding whether you should buy. It is your affordability. The saving of SST have no chance to offset your car depreciation value. Learn from it and do better next round.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Jun 08, 2022 at 12:06 pm

Cheap cars, Cheap fuels
    Gomen for Rakyat happiness

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 148
    • Disagree with you on Jun 08, 2022 at 4:05 pm

Too bad that many are disagreeing with you. Cheap cars will contribute more congestion and rakyat will not gonna happy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 174 Thumb down 93
  • Eat My Smoke on Jun 08, 2022 at 12:07 pm

No money take public transport laa

Now 65% more RON97 users switching to RON95 will burden gomen even more subsidy(every liter >RM1.70 in early April). Literally gomen is paying more for every litre we buy RON95 now

So to resolve traffic jams and promote public transport usage, gomen please market-float RON95 @RM4.50

Once fuel subsidy is removed, whatever foreign vehicles pump also OK. Anyway our EURO4 fuel is cheaper than EURO6 in SG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
    • Glates on Jun 08, 2022 at 12:46 pm

And enough of sst tax exemption and time to implement lemon law

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 93
  • Noneed la, already so many cars on the road.

Keep buying cars but jalan not upgrading to meet higher traffic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 92
  • What is the role and function of a transport minister ? just convey message from a person. Where is your forward looking, strategic and tactical execution ? Step up or step down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 134
    • Tom Cruise maverick on Jun 08, 2022 at 2:06 pm

The role of Mr.Wee is ” Kami akan memantau perkembangan di kementerian Kewangan”
      His job is memantau.
      Akan memantau.
      Sedang memantau
      OOps Sori..Kementerian $$$ mau lancar GST.Telah successful memantau.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 98 Thumb down 163
      • Ya Mentri on Jun 08, 2022 at 3:55 pm

It is not his role, jurisdiction, responsibility, power, or purview to get involved so he gave a professional response to the question which was out of topic for his visit (AtlasOS launch). Interesting idiots like you have no clue how a government is run pretty much the reason why PH only lasted 22 months.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 179 Thumb down 96
        • If cannot discuss objectively, then start degrading yourself by calling names. The purview of a minister goes beyond attending a function and only covering specific topics. It is a relevant topic. It may be an overlapping role. Transportations covers many different aspects of it and as a Minister it part of his role . If the minister can make news being a messenger for a single person recently. (it made it to our newspapers and he mentioned he was passing the message), he can also do that by talking to the MOF. We need to have higher expectations to our ministers and of course to common folk as well. I guess not everyone is as smart as you to run the show.
          So MOF can talk to residents in a particular area and decide that it warrants a decision to be made on the planning of our light rail stations ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 129
          • Aura89 on Jun 08, 2022 at 6:54 pm

It is not overlapping. How can you brain this I have no idea. Ministries are not ran like a Chinaman company expecting a slave employee one leg kick for all responsibility. They have their scope within the Government and expecting one minister to speak on behalf of another without the other prior approval is presumptuous on your part and really just degrading yourself for all to see.

SST is under MOF not MOT.

Car prices set is under MITI not MOT.

Either has no bearing onto the Dr Wee’s responsibility as MOT. So what can you expect him to say other than bringing the issue up to the correct person, MOF? Come on be realistic. The right person to ask is MOF but he is not there, it was the wrong question by Star to ask the wrong minister during the wrong time (unrelated to SST).

Fine to have high expectations, not fine to have unrealistic Chinaman type expectations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 97
          • English Teacher on Jun 09, 2022 at 12:30 pm

You are asking an English Teacher complex maths and you harangue him when he cannot give you an answer with demands that he provide you with forward looking, strategic and tactical execution so that he could answer your complex Geography question next. Does that even makes sense to anyone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 93
        • Dong Gor on Jun 08, 2022 at 8:45 pm

Only idiots call people names..when cannot debate in civilised manner.
          Paultan,this bugger doesnt belong to this forum.Ban this Ya menteri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 123
          • I seen plenty of time you calling others the same, not just that also parleying our ministers names. If any that Paultan should ban, it would be you first. Think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 97
          • Copy Paste on Jun 09, 2022 at 12:11 am

Copy paste edited: “Only buggers call people names..when cannot debate in civilised manner.
            Paultan,this idiot doesnt belong to this forum.Ban this dong gor.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 94
          • Lolwhut? on Jun 09, 2022 at 12:41 pm

When you dunno anything but you try to act smarts you deserved to be called out as the fool you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 96
      • Brian on Jun 08, 2022 at 5:25 pm

You think Minister of Transport is all powerful and MOT is one stop shop for all manner of Government decision making? Maybe yes if Dr Wee is the PM, DPM, MoF & MoT all in one superduper minister that you expect but he is not and so he cannot make all decisions, bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 93
    • Rosmah & Ajibkor on Jun 08, 2022 at 2:08 pm

Eh..like that..convey message…a chimpanzee can also convey a message…@#$%^&*@#%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 123
    • Ya Mentri on Jun 08, 2022 at 3:50 pm

Well certainly he more than just selling special numbers like the previous one! But to answer you, he was asked during an Q&A session at AtlasOS launch so it was somehow out of the topic to his visit which why he gave his personal point of view. He was right to say that the matter and decision is better left to MOF and he affirmed that it is not a Transport Ministry function.

As for your forward looking, strategic and tactical execution ? That is MOF purview not MOT.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 169 Thumb down 97
      • Err. MOF no need strategy, planning, etc. no wonder our infra is messed up. What happened to all the we will review and other studies ? or maybe he has smart ppl like to help him out.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 96 Thumb down 154
        • Ghani on Jun 09, 2022 at 12:50 pm

MOF no need strategy, planning, etc? Which MOF you refer, Sri Lankan one? If you want to review and study baik tanya Penang undersea tunnel study bila nak siap. Perhaps you smart pipul can help them complete this many years delayed dy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 96
        • Ya Mentri on Jun 09, 2022 at 2:08 pm

Again it is a MOF purview not MOT. You are barking up the wrong tree, and fyi that is a valid English idiom so not calling anjing okay? Stop being so sensitive when I call a spade a spade, and an idiot an idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 98
    • English Teacher on Jun 09, 2022 at 1:06 pm

Here are the role & function of Transport Minister as per defined in MOT website:
      To formulate and implement land transport, logistics, maritime and aviation policies.
      To plan and execute land transport, logistics, maritime and aviation infrastructure projects.
      To spearhead the integration of a holistic national transportation system.
      To make available transport services delivery system for land transport, logistics, maritime and aviation.
      To enforce laws related to land transport, logistics, maritime and aviation.
      To determine fees and charges for services provided by the Ministry
      To regulate compliance to legislation, service and safety standards.
      To facilitate businesses related to land transport, logistics, maritime and aviation industries.
      To spearhead regional and international cooperation programmes in the field of transport.

No where does it say its role is to be involved in SST, whether to remove or extend exemptions. So what are you talking here or do you need me to school you in English comprehension?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 91
  • Auntie on Jun 08, 2022 at 12:29 pm

Even 10% inflation is still less than the Food price Inflation.
    What’s all the fuss about?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 56
  • Our car prices being insane is a systemic issue with AP and excise duties, no need to keep applying band-aids, rip it off and start with a proper long-term plan.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 96 Thumb down 163
  • Glates on Jun 08, 2022 at 12:34 pm

No point of having sst tax exemption again, keep selling more cars and fill up more population on the road or highway turns into ugly that will make more traffic jams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 95
  • Cactussss on Jun 08, 2022 at 1:18 pm

Need 0% sst tax again? Please rethink again before 0% sst tax again, can you see how many cars on the road nowadays. Did you know that traffic jams are everywhere?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 98
  • Henry on Jun 08, 2022 at 2:24 pm

Reducing the Cabinet size by 50% is beneficial to the whole country. It is better. Can consider?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • Ya Mentri on Jun 08, 2022 at 3:57 pm

Sure cann why not. Of course it meant reducing malaysian population by 50%. Any ideas how to do that? A forever purge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 37
      • Brian on Jun 08, 2022 at 8:49 pm

Bodokangkong Ya menteri..apa yg kau merepek?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
        • Copy Paste on Jun 09, 2022 at 12:13 am

Copy paste: “Hello..Mr merepek..pergi BM section.Ini Inggeris section.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • Henry on Jun 09, 2022 at 9:35 am

Advertising your stupidity on the World Wide Web is not cool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Surely, more people will be getting angry if keep on extending.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 98
    • dong gor on Jun 08, 2022 at 4:04 pm

get angry because they cannot laugh at others for not able to get the sst exemption..and then can showoff he got exempted to pour salt on ppl’s wound? this kinda mentality is not healthy…is like hoping your neighbor’s house catch fire only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 132
      • Disagree with you on Jun 08, 2022 at 5:00 pm

dong gor, wrong. Why rakyat will get angry. The more you ask sst exemption, will contribute more congestion and pollute to air.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 94
  • dong gor on Jun 08, 2022 at 3:59 pm

What’s the date today, we still talking about extension?

• General Gerasimov on Jun 08, 2022 at 8:56 pm

Dong Gor
      The asiongkor just wayang..he knows who has final say in GST or SST.Being paid 50 grand monthly,must say something to ‘sooth the nerves’ of car buyers,right?
      Sabrikor is toying with resurgence of GST and or only B40 enjoy fuel subsidy.If he cant balance this act properly,it is his regime doom soon.(political suicide)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • Postman on Jun 09, 2022 at 8:44 am

More people including analyst said SST exemption is already enough.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 99
    • Pink bag on Jun 09, 2022 at 2:48 pm

True!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 35
    • Avenger on Jun 09, 2022 at 6:20 pm

Which analyst? Nearly all eminent economists including PH friendly Edmund Gomez have said GST/VAT is still the better system but he cannot pan SST as that is part of his PH Govt team idea.

• Me too on Jun 10, 2022 at 8:30 pm

Agree with you too!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15