Volt City EV launched in Thailand – two- and four-door versions, up to 210 km range, priced from only RM40k

Thailand’s electric vehicle (EV) scene is certainly becoming ever more interesting by the day. Aside from initiatives to develop the charging infrastructure and even EV test facilities, the Thai government’s drive to spur electrification is seeing new brands entering the segment.

One such player is EV Primus Company. The company has launched a new Chinese-made electric hatchback called the Volt City EV.

Two different body-style configurations (two- and four-door) are available for the car, and both get two trim specifications, namely Classic and Premium. Prices start from 325,000 baht (RM40,212) for the two-door Classic and 355,000 baht (RM43,924) for the two-door Premium.

As for the four-door Classic, it starts from 385,000 baht (RM47,636), while the Premium version costs 415,000 baht (RM51,348). The Classic models come with a three-year/80,000 km warranty, while the Premium models get a five-year/120,000 km warranty. The company is also offering a wallbox charger at a discounted price of 30,000 baht (RM3,711).

In terms of dimensions, the two-door Volt City EV measures 2,920 mm in length, 1,499 mm in width and 1,610 mm in height, with a 1,980 mm wheelbase. As you’d expect with its size, the little tyke only weighs 690 kg. Meanwhile, the larger four door model is similar in width and height, except that it’s longer (3,380 mm) and has a longer wheelbase at 2,440 mm. It’s also heavier at 795 kg.

Regardless of body-styles, the Volt City is powered by a single synchronous permanent magnet electric motor, which for the two-door offers 40 hp and 90 Nm. The motor is juiced by a tiny 11.8 kWh lithium-ion battery, which provides the two-door version with up to 165 km of travel (based on a NEDC cycle). Top speed is 100 km/h and with an 3.1 kW AC charger, it takes four hours to fully charge the car.

The four door model bumps up the output of the motor to 46 hp and 102 Nm, and it also gets a slightly larger 16.5 kWh battery, increasing the range up to 210 km (again, NEDC) with charging on the move through regenerative braking possibly adding a bit more. Similarly, with a 3.1 kW AC charger, it takes 5.5 hours to fully charge the Volt City, and top speed is identical to the two-door.

It may seem like a budget EV for the most part, but the Volt City’s equipment list paints a different picture. The car is equipped with LED lighting in the front and back, electrically-adjustable side mirrors, while on the inside, you get features such as a digital instrument cluster and a seven-inch touchscreen integrated into a single panel, with Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support, and the car even has a multi-function steering wheel.

It’s not too shabby on the safety front either, with dual airbags, parking sensors, a reverse camera, tyre pressure monitoring system, and even a pre-collision warning system for low speed driving. As you’d expect with the elaborate features, it’s also equipped with the basic stuff like ABS and EBD, which is par for the course.

We may have seen a myriad of electric cars launched in Malaysia, but really, these are the type of EVs we need to see more of locally. Despite its lowish range, such a car would make for a perfect city commuter. What do you think of the Volt City EV?

Pan Eu Jin

Pan Eu Jin is a firm believer that good things don’t come cheap, but cheap cars can be good. How a car makes you feel behind the wheel or as a passenger should be more important than the brand it represents.

• Dominic on Aug 04, 2022 at 7:00 pm

This car if end up here, won’t be rm40k, as we have protectionism for P1, P2 and everything else, not to mention the taxes involved. If priced at rm70k, who wants to buy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • sohai on Aug 04, 2022 at 10:31 pm

When we can get rm40k from Po-tong & Po-two , if cannot do then pls close shop let those capable to do… This rm40k EV come with Front-Rear LED, ABS EBD, Reverse Sensor camera, digital meter, 7inch LCD, Apple Carplay Android Auto, TPMS , precollision , etc…

• Tortilla on Aug 05, 2022 at 7:42 am

Still Milo Tin,

No Ancap,
        No VSC,
        No AEB,
        No 6 Airbags,
        No ACC.
        Low Mileage.

Too cheap unable to make good and safe spec.
        Cut cost so much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
      • Lapsep on Aug 05, 2022 at 7:48 am

Sohai, you can buy this car.

It suit you.

Proton Saga 3 star Ancap and Perodua Axia 4 star Ancap
        Safer and better than this. Much larger and More comfortable.

• Dah Menang Semua on Aug 05, 2022 at 11:10 am

Saga, Axia, Bezza = 4Star Asean NCAP

HRV 2023 = 4Star Euro NCAP

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Aug 05, 2022 at 5:08 pm

Surprised me … HRV really a 4-star EU

• Since 1985. National pride. Scam the Rakyat.

Need to pay multifold for the same thing/products.

Untuk pembangunan negara katanya a.k.a own pocket.

• Kassim B Khairul on Aug 05, 2022 at 12:35 am

Lagi lagi pasal keta perodua. Entahlah saya rasa brand in sudah kena cursed. So para2 pembeli jgn beli keta perodua ya.

• sohai on Aug 04, 2022 at 7:17 pm

When Po-tong Po-two want to launch EV at rm40k? If tak boleh bikin better close shop lar…

• Right? on Aug 04, 2022 at 10:40 pm

They will not close shop. How to close if the Rakyat still buying it? This one not like rumah merah that can open and close shop anytime you like.

• Lampu on Aug 04, 2022 at 8:14 pm

Any NCAP Crash Test?
    Low Spec EV, 2 airbags, No VSC,

Socar can use for last mile travel, using smaller special parking..

• Right? on Aug 04, 2022 at 10:45 pm

You want all the fancy active/passive safety system, the price will breach 100k marks. Just get it done with its simplest possible form for point A and B.

If you want fancier, can get beemer (iX), mercs (EQS), Tesla etc…

• Kapchai on Aug 05, 2022 at 7:43 am

My kapchai can overtake this.

This one 100km/h top speed, like snail..
    No driving Fun.

• ThePolygon on Aug 05, 2022 at 8:04 am

This is not the car that we want, but the car that we need and definitely the one that we deserved.

• Choong Khim Fen on Aug 05, 2022 at 8:23 am

Looking at the comment here, i think many miss the point, these type of EV make perfect sense in towns commute. Dont have to drive your big double cab if you only need to travel 10 to 15km to work. Maintenace will be cheaper as this does not have a ICE engine that need regular maintained. Cheaper to run too. If only can sell at around 40k in Malaysia

• Raja Celup on Aug 05, 2022 at 12:10 pm

Lol…”If only can sell at around 40k in Malaysia”

Protected species cakap jangan.

• The question is, do you want to pay 40k MYR for a car that can only go 10-15km?

With 40k MYR, you can already get a new car that can go 100-150km (not the limit of the car, but the limit of the driver when driving such a car).

Or you are so rich that your house can accommodate multiple cars? Then you won’t care about this toy…..

Basically, if one is poor, this toy is not a choice. If one is rich, this toy is also not a choice.

• Sohai on Aug 07, 2022 at 1:02 pm

People that think this is not a good idea, is because you have not felt the real price of petrol.

• You think PPR biforti will understand it? They will always get the tongkat from gahmen. And guess what to higher income group?

Pay exorbitant tax plus with free gift floating price of RON.

Good luck.