Malaysia to have drag racing circuits in all states

A plan to build a drag racing circuit in every state in Malaysia has been mooted by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob. Speaking during the 2022 RXZ Members 4.0 Programme at the Terengganu International Drag Strip, Sabri said the proposal will be included in Malaysia’s 2023 Budget this October.

Reported by Bernama, Sabri said with the facility available, it would give youths the opportunity to participate in motor sports activities through proper channels. Via the programme, Sabri added, youth could gain knowledge, through training, courses and clinics and help in scouting new talents for participation in motor racing at the state and national level.

“So far, two drag circuits have been built, in Terengganu and Melaka,” said Sabri, adding the government always support activities by motoring clubs, especially in helping help those affected by hardship, such as flood victims. “Many motoring clubs are involved in charity work…During the flood, they helped to clean houses of flood victims…Perhaps we can organise (a gathering of riders) every year and the government can provide sponsorship,” Sabri said.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• donno on Aug 15, 2022 at 8:16 am

it sounds like an echo from an empty tin can.

the usual tricks before general election.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • Pirates of the Littoral Combat Ship on Aug 15, 2022 at 12:13 pm

Remember Lowyat 2.0 ?
      How many of those rental free outlets ..gone bust ?
      How many r wishing they r in Lowyat ?( but cant afford,but gone bust by choosing an “easier way”.)
      Now,we have the combat shit(ship) fiasco..somemore spend like Tan Sri Shamsiah can overprint money.
      We wont be like Sri Lanka,but if the shit continues..we r not far off either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • paparadzi on Aug 16, 2022 at 12:12 pm

Just show the low level mendset of local Umno ppl… 60years BN in power but jz getting dumb n dumber

• Brian on Aug 16, 2022 at 2:22 pm

Just goes to show why the youths had started to turn back towards BN because of these youth focused programs. Timely indeed with Undi18 the youth voters will know which side has heard their voices and have their interest.

• Sick & Tired on Aug 16, 2022 at 12:43 pm

Ini semua salah PH for stopping kapal LCS project and incurring heavy cost overruns. Say NO to PH!

• The fact that PT is reporting this… shows you who they are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
    • Right? on Aug 16, 2022 at 9:56 am

Here you go the bait for biforti. Another 11% more to give gula2 to M40 and gonna win the election.

And thank you taxpayer for generous ‘funding’ this brilliant ideas for biforti.

May God blast them (biforti).

P/s : Bless? Hell no. :p

• Mr. Sotong on Aug 15, 2022 at 9:07 am

Election coming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • EAs-RR3 on Aug 15, 2022 at 9:16 am

“If you want to race in the real world, try your local track.
    Make sure your car is safety inspected and always wear your helmet and your seatbelt.”

On normal road, it’s reckless speeding, beyond regulated speed limit.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Aug 15, 2022 at 9:34 am

Trims kaseh PM Sabrikor for giving a legal outlet for the young to vent some steam. Thru this we might even unearth hidden Takumi Fujiwaras of cubcais.
    #HiddenMotakumi #BetterNation4Youth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • goondu on Aug 15, 2022 at 9:38 am

FACEPALM!

• pointless on Aug 15, 2022 at 10:11 am

Why even report this stuff?

Circuits do not hinder ppl from being brainless. Fact.

• Bieight8 on Aug 15, 2022 at 10:41 am

Lol…

• najibrazak on Aug 15, 2022 at 11:10 am

retarded.

• MatJason on Aug 15, 2022 at 11:54 am

LoL drag circuit… Straight line.. you see mat rempits suffice with only straight line? Useless PM talk useless stuff. How about how to stimulate foreign investment in Malaysia to better our currency so that we can afford proper bikes instead of kapchais in the first place?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • X y F on Aug 15, 2022 at 12:34 pm

why our PM and government never do proper things?

• Sohai on Aug 15, 2022 at 1:15 pm

RM6 billion LCS scandal and this clown is touting drag racing circuits. Sohai

• Roti Canai on Aug 15, 2022 at 1:16 pm

yeehaw! why stop there? lets have a malaysia NASCARn daytona and Indy 500 series too

• Do we really need it? The money you are going to save from petrol subsidiary by exploiting T20 will be used in this meaningless activities? Balik mkn telur penyu!

• Sick&Tired on Aug 15, 2022 at 1:54 pm

Why not spend the money on education instead!!?? Taxpayers money should not be used on such frivolous things! With this and lowering the age of food delivery riders to 18, our country will be soon filled with rempits and food delivery riders!

• Haidi on Aug 15, 2022 at 2:40 pm

The most irrelevant PM announcing the most irrelevant policy.

• Drag Queen on Aug 15, 2022 at 2:41 pm

Here we go again more useless projects that don’t bring any benefit except for their own pockets. In few years time the circuits will be all in ruined and the govt. will spend more money to rescue them, go on and on this nonsense.

• Luckyone on Aug 15, 2022 at 3:41 pm

Waste of public money , kindly use it for better quality of healthcare service , more doctors, better quality medice , better health care equipments ect .

• john is otak batu on Aug 16, 2022 at 8:57 am

do u think they bother what u mentioned? they only bother of their coming vote & pocket

• Luckyone on Aug 15, 2022 at 3:41 pm

Don’t Waste public money , kindly use it for better quality of healthcare service , more doctors, better quality medice , better health care equipments ect .

• How many Billion this time PM..?

• Fishball on Aug 15, 2022 at 5:34 pm

Banned pig selling in malaysia.
    Build more sepang tracks.

• mamak on Aug 15, 2022 at 9:34 pm

Last time helping Pencuri, this time mak rempit, next time helping ……

• World Class Bike Racing on Aug 16, 2022 at 5:53 pm

Malaysia produce some top bike melayu racer