Axia stops on the road to buy mangga jeruk in Bangi, causes hit and run accident with X-Trail, motorcycle

Have you noticed recently that we have more and more mangga jeruk asam boi sellers stationed at traffic lights here in the Klang Valley? Well, it appears these street peddlers are now operating on our roads in general, not just at traffic stops. The dash cam footage below shows an unfortunate accident involving one.

Said to have happened in Bangi, the clip shows a Perodua Axia driver stopping in the middle of flowing traffic to buy the said snack. As the cars ahead were already moving, the stationary Axia caused an unnecessary block on the road. To avoid the Perodua, a Nissan X-Trail then attempted a lane change, but right into the path of a helpless motorcycle.

The X-Trail driver then simply drove away, leaving the downed motorcyclist by himself. Thankfully, the rider appears to be okay enough after the accident, assisted by the street peddler and another biker that stopped to help. It’s certainly an unlucky chain of events, started by the Axia driver inconsiderately stopping in flowing traffic.

Who to blame, then? Well, the Perodua certainly shouldn’t have stopped, the seller could have picked a more appropriate spot to peddle his wares, and the Nissan driver for sure should have checked his/her mirrors before switching lanes (and not leave the scene of an accident like that). Even the unfortunate biker could have gone a touch slower while lane splitting in slow moving traffic.

Also, did you know that street peddling in Malaysia is illegal, and so is buying from them? Local road traffic rules mandate that it is illegal to buy or sell goods at traffic lights and intersections in Malaysia. Those caught (both seller and buyer!) may be fined up to RM2,000 for the offence.

Surely that’s not a risk worth taking to get some mangga jeruk on the way home, and even more so when you can end up causing an entirely avoidable accident like this. Dear Malaysians, please be more responsible on the road as well as more considerate to each other. We are better than this, don’t you agree?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Not saying that it’s completely the rider’s fault, but it looks like the rear tyre of the motorcycle skidded. Too much pressure on rear brake and not enough braking on the front. If you don’t have much experience riding a motorcycle, then you shouldn’t have be speeding that fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 23
    • Alcatraz where no satay is served on Sep 10, 2022 at 12:38 pm

I remember donkey years ago..the driving school instructor would advise us to keep to left/slow lanes,even after passing driving test.
      Today,majority of bikes squeeze in between any gaps/lanes ..especially the food riders.(50% ignore red traffic lights)
      There is no sense of road safety anymore.
      If nothing is done,road accidental deaths/lifelong paralysis involving riders will skyrocket in coming years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 7
    • Rear tire skids because too much pressure on front brake not rear brake, correct your fact

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 44
    • Lan the pro rider on Sep 10, 2022 at 1:06 pm

The bike is probably driving < 60kmh, how slow you want him to drive?

this is 100% not the bike's fault, x trail no signal unexpectedly turn, only got split sec to make the decision even you ask a MotoGP rider also he will fail to stop that bike because that shit doesnt come with abs nor you can anticipate that sohai want to turn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 43
      • Split second? Watch the clip again, the rider can definitely avoid the collision. Yes the xtrail is at fault and not looking at their side mirrors, but as a rider myself, we should always be alert and ride within our skillset.

I agree on pointing out the driver’s fault. But relying on other people to not hit you is dangerous. Be cautious to hazards on the road. Practice on emergency braking and swerving to avoid having a collision like in the video.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 9
        • KJ, No More Rembau Rep GE15 on Sep 10, 2022 at 7:21 pm

You belong to rare breed of very conscientious,careful ,discerning behaviour of good safe biking…kipidap..How I wish the food riders behave like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • seancorr on Sep 10, 2022 at 8:44 pm

Agreed with this statement. We should always practice defensive driving. As the rider it’s either you end up dead or live to tell the tale if you managed to take appropriate action in time and yes, riding slower in a jam helps a lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Turboman on Sep 11, 2022 at 12:08 pm

Since you are aware it is split second, and even MotoGP rider will not brake on time, then you shouldn’t ride so fast when lane-splitting, because you would not have the reaction time to brake on time.

Defensive driving/riding is not about who is wrong. That is dealt with later, hopefully with no one in the hospital. It is about avoiding accident, thinking way ahead, of what others will do and how it will affect your driving/riding safety.

I agree the x-trail is wrong, but lane splitting at 60kph in traffic that is not moving, in my opinion as a rider and driver, is way too fast. Personally, if i need to lane split around stopped traffic, i do not do more than 30kph. Have saved me many times when some cars come out of no where. I try to keep the delta-V ( speed difference ) between my motorcycle and the cars around me that I’m lane splitting to less than 30kph.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Kancil Hybrid on Sep 10, 2022 at 4:07 pm

Kalau dlm situasi mcm ni X-Trail tu patut hon je lama2 sampai Axia tu jalan, jgn tukar2 lorong. Orang bodoh mcm tu je cara nak ajar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
      • Hon lama2 nanti abe driver marah dtg ngan steering lock kat kau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Subra Hannah Auraw on Sep 10, 2022 at 4:30 pm

Motorcyclist fault riding in splitting lane couldn’t stop safety due to speeding. Your ruler should revamped motorcyclist learning syllabus and traffic rules regulations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Legenda Mat Kutip Chukai on Sep 13, 2022 at 11:01 am

Motorcyclist lane splitting is dangerous due to inside blind spot area of car suv mpv lorry and bus

• the rules are clear, indicate turning signal and turn when it’s safe. Same like the Porsche driver, they think people have to stop and let them change lane as soon as they activate their holy signal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • Roadrider on Sep 10, 2022 at 7:58 pm

There is a law of not selling mangoes on the road site then why not follow the law an accident can be avoided it’s a domino effect

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Casual reader on Sep 10, 2022 at 8:49 pm

Xtrail driver shoulda ram into that axia. Now biker is injured and xtrail is damaged while the cause of this incident is axia which got away damaged free.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • The cause was not Axia but the mango seller!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
        • Kathryne Wng on Sep 11, 2022 at 10:46 am

Follow casual reader logic, he want to bang the mango seller.

• DonkeyKong on Sep 11, 2022 at 11:25 am

Axia at fault for supporting mango seller.. which in itself is an offence. So yes, Axia should have been saddled with some damage and the inconvenience of workshop visit for stopping on a moving lane to buy items from an illegal seller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • zeeray on Sep 10, 2022 at 11:44 am

these guys are on every traffic light junctions in Bangi. nothing wrong with trying to make a living, but i guess they dont have a drop of care for public safety and for their own, they walk in between cars, at the sides. why cant they just open a warung??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • Mampos on Sep 10, 2022 at 11:55 am

Semua pun Salah.

1. Why the bike is speeding too fast while doing lane splitting?
    One should ride/drive @ safe speed Difference to others, below 20km/h difference is safer.

2. Why the Nissan Xtrail driver run away just like that?

3. Why the seller selling @ middle of the road? Many of them get caught.
    It’s not no enforcement, these ppl is mobile.

4. Why Axia buyer buy from these jaywalking seller? Simply due to soft hearted.
    But, still wrong. Causing more traffic jam.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 5
  • get to the root cause of it… these street peddlers need to be fined… this would teach them to at least open up a stall at a suitable location… want to earn a living but put self’s safety at risk…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Wahaha on Sep 10, 2022 at 6:41 pm

Somehow Xtrail still within its lane

• Mamat motor on Sep 12, 2022 at 10:23 am

I was going to say the same. Xtrail still within lane limit. Motor salah sebab bawa in between lanes. Mana boleh mencelah between cars.

• X city on Sep 10, 2022 at 6:52 pm

Maybe the x-trail driver chasing the axia…who knows because he start it all

• ROTI CANAI on Sep 10, 2022 at 9:01 pm

time to stop these flers selling stuff on the road, this is not indonesia man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Bodoh axia. Next time just hit the axia. He’s the cause of all these but he gets away without anything. Summore gets his jeruk and get to enjoy nicely at home later.

• This is why all vehicles ought to maintain the breaking distance, according to speed being travelled and the physical condition of road. The eyes and brain should be on these. The X-Trail did not crash into the stopped Axia but it was the motocycle that hit the SUV. It is not an emergency for the Axa to stop there. He should have slowed down, signalled and moved to the left before stopping at the shoulder. The fruit seller should not be selling on such lanes but off.

• Panjangnya komen on Sep 10, 2022 at 9:54 pm

Most will say the rider is going fast. This is a very general or inaccurate statement. Being on 2 wheel, one does not have to be going fast to get involved in a dengerous situation. When lane splitting during grid lock jam, riders are going about 40kmh and sometimes slower at 20kmh depending on situation. They are seen fast by drivers because drivers are being stationary as riders pass by. Even at 20kmh, a driver trying to squeeze-change lane will cause a dangerous situation.BTW we call anyone overtaking us as ‘fast’ rider or driver.

In this specific case specifically from the rider perspective, he should be more alert and anticipate. Yes its not his fault but being more alert and practice defensive riding helps prolong your life.

In this case instead of keeping the throttle on after seeing the X trail closing in fast from the front, the rider should take precaution by moving towards the left lane and maintaining throttle or going faster as the road ahead is clear. The rider knows he had clear the cam car as he is going faster than the car, all riders know and udnerstand this. Specifically in this situation i wont slow down as i know its a straight, plenty of cars on the road, possibly other rider behind me, i might be able to stop but i am putting myself at risk from traffic coming from behind. I might just drop a gear while blipping the trottle and swerving left before making the split second decision depending on what the x trail does. If it commit to lane change then i just brake and slow down very hard with the brakes and engine braking. If the x trail does not change lane then i continue to pulls away easily as i am lower gear and continure riding. This sounds impossible to do but i di just that multiple times and it works for me.

Whats the root cause of this accident? The economy is bad and people had to do anything they can to survive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
    • 4G63T DSM on Sep 11, 2022 at 3:02 pm

It seems fast to drivers because it IS fast. If you can’t stop in time regardless of what the cause is, then you are going too fast. Plain and simple. Any one on a bike can tell you how fast these bikes filter. It’s certainly not 20 or 30kmh.

How I know? Because I commute to work on a bike as well, but being on a bigger and heavier bike, I can’t filter as easily as the smaller kapchais and i keep the speeds down to a differential of 20 to 30kmh. At speeds past 70-80, I don’t even bother filtering anymore and have kapchais flying past me. I have a bunch of kapchais tailgate me frequently also. Guess what happens when I have to do an emergency stop when a car cuts me off when filtering? Well you will have a motorcycle pileup behind me. Pretty sure I have better brakes and tyres than a kapchai.

Yes, the Axia was at fault, and yes the Xtrail was at fault to. But that doesn’t mean the motorcyclist is not at fault also.

• Mamat motor on Sep 12, 2022 at 10:25 am

Bad economy as excuse to break the law and causing accidents is ok?

• lkih

• Mohd Sani on Sep 11, 2022 at 10:03 am

Its the fault of Authority Not Taking Action on this matter!!!..its illegal to do any kind of business on the road,its even stated clearly traffic ordinance long tiime ago…

• Lazy Authority on Sep 12, 2022 at 1:06 pm

agreed, authority priority is to enjoy easy working life. Our country road user behavior is getting worst.
      authority prefer lying on the chair and drink kopi in office, please install more monitoring camera in every road, give penalty to those illegal road user.

• X trail babi tu yg salah…x sabar2 main terus tukar line, ko nak ke mana setan x nyempat2. Sabarlah sikit woi!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
  • Overall, weak local enforcement causes all this.
    Illegal seller and buyer. Illegal road stop. Motocycle too fast. Careless suv driver

• Hate Gaji Buta on Sep 11, 2022 at 12:13 pm

WTF our police doing nothing to weed out street peddling as it is illegal, Not enough with rempits at night, now we have rempits on daylight. DO ARREST THEM!

• Ongtk on Sep 11, 2022 at 2:26 pm

Many Malaysian drivers lacked courtesy and are impatient. Have you had drivers flashing their high beams and/or honked at you when you are attempting to reverse sideway into a parking lot or reversed out of a parking lot? They will only wait patiently for you if they wanted to park at your lot. On the flip side, if you give way or slow down to a driver attempting to park, you get flashed and/or honked at too.

• apam balik on Sep 11, 2022 at 7:59 pm

what happened to our country, getting more mangga jeruk on the road. if you want business get a meja at roadside business la, why middle of the road. ape yg sedap sgt mangga jeruk ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Mr. Sotong on Sep 12, 2022 at 9:41 am

So many commenting like they are such perfect angels lol

• Amarjit on Sep 12, 2022 at 10:41 am

Not clear if the motorcyclist actually hit the X-Trail.
    Looks like he fell on braking hard. The X-Trail looks well within its lane. Motorcyclists should avoid overtaking in between vehicles.

• Ex kelisa owner on Sep 12, 2022 at 11:43 am

The x-trail can suddenly drive out without signal like that??!! Cannot wait 30 secs kah?? Bad luck for the abam motor. If 90’s kapcai with front disc with rear drum, the rear wheel will skid lagi power like motorcross “god dragon swing tail”…

• PDRMdiMANA on Sep 12, 2022 at 4:26 pm

i’m almost entirely sure POLIS noticed these illegal street peddlers. But just chose to ignore them. This is BOLEH-land (apa pun boleh, tidak apa). thats why country also run by todak-apa politicians, sampai ringgit jadi kertas kosong nanti

• Ninja on Sep 12, 2022 at 5:21 pm

The classic tale of unfortunate events. As a rider, I encountered many close-call incidents that could have been totally avoided if any one of the triggering factors didn’t occur. Fortunately, I lived another day (in one piece) due to little luck and grace upon me, gaining more experience after walking away from such an incident.

My piece of advice to;-
    Riders: Keep in mind that ur the most vulnerable road users, so it always pays dividends to be a little more cautious of ur surroundings.
    Car drivers: Do be considerate and aware of the little 2-wheelers, and avoid comparing or having ill feelings towards em such as motorcyclists r not paying for the tolls, not queuing up during traffic, lane splitting and so on. Bet u will also do the same due to our road sense.
    Authorities; Day by day i see more n more jeruk guys peddling at traffic lights, dont wat to react till a major accident goes viral.

• lchanms on Sep 13, 2022 at 11:18 am

This is typical motorbike speed when lane splitting. Do not even know how to see upfront. Not saying the x-trail isnt wrong, but ride slower and anticipate. Something looks remotely not right, slow down. Be a better bike rider.