Double parking Viva’s number plate gets ripped off by Mercedes owner – police alerted and will investigate

Here’s a scene some of us see everyday, double parking. Sometimes we’re blocked, sometimes we block – double parking is sometimes unavoidable at very busy commercial centres where actual parking slots are scarce, versus the amount of economic activity going on.

It’s not right, but if you absolutely have to double park for a short hop to the shop or bank, and the whole square is full, make sure that you at least leave your phone number on the dashboard (and respond when you get the call), and be alert to horn sounds – we’ve all seen unapologetic double parkers taking their own sweet time without an ounce of care that they’ve wasted the time of others.

In this video posted on the We are Malaysians Facebook page, a Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupe driver is seen inching his way out of a parking spot in Kuchai Entreprenurs Park, which is partially blocked by a Perodua Viva. The black coupe manages to get out, and his female companion gets in the car. They speed off and the story ends. But the last part didn’t happen because the Merc driver just couldn’t contain his anger.

He steps on the gas but changes his mind. The man gets down and rips off the Viva’s number plate and throws it away. Presumably he did that because it’s the easiest form of damage one can do to another car. I’m sure many of us empathise with the angry man, because we’ve been in such rage before too, but this time, the Merc man couldn’t hold the fire in.

Yes, the double parking Viva is wrong, but two wrongs don’t make a right, and there are cameras everywhere these days. The video has since gone viral and it has come to the attention of the police. Brickfields district police chief Amihizam Hj Abdul Shukor released a statement yesterday to say that while the cops have yet to receive a police report on the matter, they will investigate.

The next time you’re blocked by someone and you’re filled with anger, keep a lid on it as there are cameras everywhere and you don’t want the cops to see you damaging property. Easier said than done, of course, but walk away we must. Double parkers, always leave your phone number, respond to calls/horns, and be quick.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• L.James on Sep 12, 2022 at 4:00 pm

What makes him (the Merc)think that he parked at a designated parking space when he parked next to a fire hydrant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • Please post the video of Shopee motorcyclist kicking the Porsche door mirror to the police for further action

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Nazri on Sep 12, 2022 at 9:49 pm

Kiasu type driver

• ROTI CANAI on Sep 12, 2022 at 11:01 pm

merc is an assh0le for parking at a fire hydrant in the first place

• Abd Rahim on Sep 13, 2022 at 6:46 am

The Merc driver is a pure bastard. There is enough space for him to get out. But sorry to say, bastards like him think the world is his. Bastard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • Bijan on Sep 13, 2022 at 8:14 am

So are you saying it is okay to double park?

• Chin CKit on Sep 13, 2022 at 8:26 am

The writer is surely had Malaysian otak. As he mention double parking is unavoidable. That is truly the MALAYSIAN Mentality.

In around the world, people are ok to walk for distances everyday.. especially those traveling in public transport like metro(france), underground(UK, etc. Where you need to walks for distances during station interchange or from the station to your designated location.

BUT MALAYSIAN MENTALITY finds it difficult to park at parking lot then to walk a row or two shoplot distance to their destination.. EVEN to park 3~5 shops away is considered FAR..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Alasan? on Sep 13, 2022 at 1:45 pm

Agak2 la lu mat. 3-5 shops away tu consider ok je kot nk jln. There is no need to agungkan mat saleh tuh…

• The govt should be sue for bad Town planing. Always not provided enough parking every where making everyone have mental problem

• L.Nair on Sep 13, 2022 at 8:33 am

Like the commentator said, there are cameras every where, remain calm and do whatever necessary without rage. If the problem can’t be solve, call the police to take action.

• Inderan on Sep 13, 2022 at 9:29 am

I checked and it is a designated parking space

• PNgah on Sep 13, 2022 at 9:40 am

Arrogant Merc driver. Even a light truck can exit the gap!! PDRM please book with heavy fines to this driver

• Double Parker on Sep 13, 2022 at 1:31 pm

Teach those double parkers a lesson

• Soffiissmiling on Sep 13, 2022 at 2:07 pm

Oh my god. That’s so true. Want to park inside shop kalau boleh. So puzzling, this behaviour. Even in mall, my colleague would pusing many2 round to get close to the entrance, when it’s obvious there’s a free spot just 50m away. Got no leg, ah?

• John Daniel on Sep 13, 2022 at 5:19 pm

Mr Paul Tan, doing things wrong looks like part and parcel of Malaysian culture for road users. You must be well aware of blantant beating Iof traffic lights. This is mostly seen by food deliverers. Others too do it. I notice cars too have started. I think the relaxant authorities are aware of this. (Ministry of Transport, PDRM, JPJ and the respective city, municipal, and Town councils.
    Motor cyclists think they are entitled!
    It is not relevant to the above incident but I feel you can highlight this too Thank you.

• Malaysian Citizen on Sep 13, 2022 at 10:26 pm

Double parking is wrong. Period

• Bapa Udang on Sep 14, 2022 at 6:09 am

Cakoi punya Merc otak tarak Pakai otak udang