Malaysian drivers, why are we so angry on the road?

Us Malaysians are generally nice, friendly people. We help each other out, even complete strangers. And more often than not, we offer a thank you or terima kasih in return. But have you noticed that the very same people will turn into angry monsters as soon as they get on the roads?

Yep, as the door closes or the helmet comes on, smiles turn into frowns. Courtesy goes completely, replaced with anger, short temper, lots of profanities and sometimes, even violence. Dear Malaysians, this isn’t normal. We can be better than this. We should do better.

Can we please start treating each other on the road with kindness and respect, like we already do in person? I think we can. Every little bit helps. #takdehalbro

From all of us here at paultan.org together with BHPetrol, Selamat Hari Malaysia, everyone. Enjoy the long weekend, and stay safe.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Videos are a popular medium for content in automotive journalism. I wonder what is going on at paultan with their video production.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Sep 18, 2022 at 10:56 am

Leave others to angry
      So long get PDRM escort

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 19, 2022 at 10:28 am

Unfortunately not all of us are fortunate to be DAP MP’s sons & daughters. :-(

• Brian on Sep 18, 2022 at 1:53 pm

Do as SG Vigilante. Use dashcams to take videos of idiotic driving habits then name & shame them. When everyone starts to do this, they will know face and soon follow the rules. Look at how fast they shame their own countrymen stealing RON95 petrol!

• Kalau kat luar. Boleh tegur kalau orang buat salah. Kalau dalam kereta???

• arshadd on Sep 16, 2022 at 7:04 pm

Usually local boy n girl projek inda kereta mn ada angry , dem hepi wey

• We are so angry because tgey are so many LC kia on the road.

• DrMental on Sep 15, 2022 at 10:12 pm

please take anti anxiety medicine if you cant control your anger

• Don’t people know EV bays are for EVs to charge their cars and if they don’t charge they’re depriving others and being selfish?

• Sufian on Sep 16, 2022 at 4:20 am

There will be no angry driver/rider on the road if the followings happen:-
    1. Stop cutting queues
    2. Use the vehicle signal lights
    3. Follow traffic rules
    4. Give way to those who flashes the signal lights within reasonable time
    5. Use the road on sharing basis

The above do not happen when the people are not in their vehicles. Thus we can be nice.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
    • I think it boils down to how Malaysian not understanding how to follow road rules.
      1. Understand “right of way” rules. These are there to prevent accidents. Read the markings on the road that tells you who is supposed to stop for who
      2. Stop and look out for traffic before you exit a junction. Don’t just drive out of the junction while looking and only jam brake when there’s a car coming. These are 2 very different mentalities.
      3. Use your blinkers when changing lanes. That doesn’t mean turn on your blinkers and switch lanes immediately expecting others to avoid colliding with you. Always watch out for traffic because you are going to another vehicle’s space.
      4. If it is a two lanes road, don’t squeeze a third lane out of it.
      5. Stop using your phone while driving. Concentrate on driving, so that you are not holding back traffic or getting too close to the other vehicles.
      6. If it is not a highway, you are not supposed to be driving fast, so drive according to the speed limit.

From my observation, people get angry when they or their loved ones get endangered by a reckless or careless driver. And as you encounter reckless drivers doing the above daily, overtime, you just subconsciously treat everyone as one of these reckless drivers, turning yourself into one without knowing. Be curious in the road guys. Let’s not take advantage of each others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
      • Most importantly, you’re supposed to drive faster than 50km/h when you balik kampung using the highway.

• Also when traffic light turn green please move faster to let more car pass traffic light, not only your car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • kelajuan neraka on Sep 17, 2022 at 10:26 am

many unreported foot and joints arthritis member could not step on the fuel pedal instantly

• you are modern slave of financial institutions on Sep 17, 2022 at 10:30 am

all going back kampong with tight budget, must save one full tank of petrol traveling back kampong and return to city

• And slower than 50kmh in residential areas

• Simple answer because they think they are always correct when it comes to people cut each other and so on

• AngryBird on Sep 16, 2022 at 9:45 am

We are angry because those who break traffic rules (example, run red lights, skip queue, overtake dangerously, etc) are “rewarded” for their behaviour… they get away with it. Police JPJ enforcement nowhere to be seen. And when these nitwits get summoned, authorities give 70% discount

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
  • 1. IKUT KIRI KECUALI MEMOTONG
    2. TEKAN BREAK, BUKAN TEKAN MINYAK DAN HORN DI SIMPANG JALAN, BERI LALUAN
    3. GUNA CERMIN PANDANG BELAKANG, JANGAN HANYA TENGOK DEPAN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Brake, not break.

• sahak on Sep 17, 2022 at 9:26 am

Paul Tan should highlight automotive term that is widely misspelled, mispronounced, misinformed especially in Malay based automotive forums snd comments section.

Viper – Wiper
      Break – Brake
      Timing Bell – Timing Belt
      Licking – Leaking
      Toll Truck – Tow Truck

Dare to share more.

• Ariff on Sep 16, 2022 at 8:01 pm

Easy. Mental issues. I bet if you did a nation wide survey, 70-90% of Malaysians are suffering some form of psychological problems. And the only place they let it out is behind the wheel. Why? Because they think they’re safe against others when in a car…until an accident happens.

• Crosley on Sep 16, 2022 at 8:28 pm

Malaysian’s are generally law fearing people not law abiding people so they behave well when there’s authority around but acts like they’re “kings” when there’s none. Yes in person we are all very polite, friendly but after “hiding” in the car some assumed that the other side can’t see them so the animal behaviour comes out

• Raja Yazid on Sep 16, 2022 at 11:13 pm

We can be nice when behind the wheel but to be able to be patient, other drivers must learn not to cut queue, not to beat red lights, learn how to follow rules, maintaining correct lane when there are arrows to follow on the road. If not, it is inconvenient to other drivers and becomes a safety hazard.

• Phillip on Sep 17, 2022 at 7:17 am

I think Malaysian motorists are lacking in basic training in giving way, to other motorists or pedestrians. Plus the incessant drive to chase after money puts a level of stress into the motorist. I hold a British driving licence and I know the difference

• Baldwin V, Count of Flanders on Sep 17, 2022 at 7:25 pm

Drivers are angry throughout the world because they are simply……. human.

• Mental...mental on Sep 17, 2022 at 8:25 pm

Macam mana x marah, perut lapar sebab tak sarapan lg sebab roti canai dah mahal.

Seriously, mental health is a big issue now. I was surprised as even younger generation are affected by this. Most of it due to unable to control or channel emotions in the right way. There are reasons why special forces all around the world select their members not solely based on physical strength.

• Angry mainly cause of stupid people cut queue, pastu when in front of u already, hogging pula tu..

Memang bodoh this type..

Cut queue then zoom off then not angry cause didn’t hold up my time.. ini always cut queue and then hogging, 90 area dorang go 60 wth

• Billy Oh on Sep 18, 2022 at 10:09 pm

1. Traffic light change intervals, TOO LONG – tempts motorists to be impatient & shoot off. Police & Majlis (or DBKL) are the cause of this problem, intentional to cari makan. Traffic lights should change at short intervals for traffic from all junctions to keep moving regularly, no matter how major the junctions are. This will also keep motorists alert and not start looking at their mobile devices which will then delay their restart motion.
    2. Traffic lights not systematically synchronised to minimise stops – tempts motorists to be impatient & shoot off. Similar to 1. above, Police & Majlis (or DBKL) are the cause of this problem, intentional to cari makan.
    Policemen get down to hide behind trees & pillars to catch instead of getting down to direct traffic.
    3. Illegal parking on road shoulders cause unnecessary traffic crawls – again, – tempts motorists to be impatient & tempers to flare. Police & Majlis (or DBKL) are the cause of this problem, intentional to cari makan as they draw no parking lines only with intention for illegal parking, catch only to cari makan. Evidence: so many condos & high rise projects, they allow residents’ parking on road dividers, single lines etc but summon when they wanna cari makan. What is Perancang doing?
    4. Tables & chairs, canopies, cones, used tires etc on parking lots – for eateries, restaurants, self reserved parking, tire & car accessories shops – cari makan by police & majlis (or Dbkl) – raising the temper & frustrations of motorists who cannot find parking space
    5. Bikes are made kings of the road in Malaysia- in case of accident involving motorbikes with cars, the car cannot claim against the bikes’ insurance even when the bikes are in the wrong. This makes the bikes bermaharajalela.
    Many many more ……… mostly due to the police, majlis (of Dbkl), Malaysia Boleh …

• Green wira on Sep 18, 2022 at 11:22 pm

I always angry when I drive, why? Ppl hogging mid lane, fast lane when not overtaking, lorries overtaking uphill between no overtaking signs, cars with nonstandard LED/HID, cars turning on high beam in the night, cars without brake lights, cars keeps braking when driving with low traffic (talking and using phone), cars brakes suddenly at fast lane then exit to left most lane, cars going straight on right turn only lane, cars turn right on no turn right lane, cars not stopping at junction with stop sign/white lines, cars not following lanes, not following right of way at roundabout (as long as they can squeeze in, cars in roundabout need to slowdown), cars changing lanes midst of roundabout/not following lanes, cars don’t move after 3s after green light, cars waiting another car for 1minute to park while holding traffic, cars reverse parking but take 3 times to do it right while holding traffic of 1/2 cars, cars cutting in from the left turn lane into roundabout holding traffic for the left turn cars, middle lane, right lane, and those in roundabout (1 car block 4 lanes), cars driving like turle looking for car park blocking a 2 and half cars wide road, I can go out tapau nearby and see 10 offences everyday. Fking ppl selfish and degenerate. Who I blame? Government for poor education and basically nonexistent law enforcement.

• sugarhill on Sep 19, 2022 at 4:52 am

because we are poor. lol

• newme on Sep 19, 2022 at 8:57 am

Of course we are angry. Stuck in a jam for hour then outriders pushing everyone to the side to allow a single car to pass by. And it isn’t YDPA or PM.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 19, 2022 at 10:30 am

https://paultan.org/2022/09/13/vellfire-with-strobe-lights-caught-by-police-at-batu-caves-its-illegal-max-rm2000-fine-6-months-jail/
      You shd not so bodo give way just coz he put on strobe lights. Even polis don’t show face to them and straight saman.

• newme on Sep 20, 2022 at 9:01 am

Read properly. Did I say ordinary car with strobe light? It’s police outrider escorting. Jangan bodoh sombong.

• Rakyat Malaysia on Sep 20, 2022 at 9:28 am

If polis outrider escort then it is for legit reasons, unless you are DAP MP’s son or daughter lahhhh….

• johnnas on Sep 19, 2022 at 9:43 am

simple, lack of drivers’ ed and partly, poor road planning.

• beamcruiser on Sep 19, 2022 at 12:17 pm

We have laws but not enforced. why people get upset? To me a few primary reasons that is like habitual but not much of an effort taken to curb it

1. On mobile phone
    2. Jumping Queue
    3. Motorcycles that are not using motorcycle lanes on roads that they are required to
    4. road hogging
    5. Do not use indicators to indicate their intentions and causing near misses and in some cases accidents
    6. Jumping red lights
    … lots more as I commute everyday, I experience it EVERYDAY. I wonder where are the authorities. I’m sure the traffic police or JPJ will have plenty income if they were to enforced it and get these culprits to pay on the spot summons failing which they will be detained and vehicle confiscated until they pay up. maybe this will help deter and reduce such nonsense on the roads.

Of course we have plenty ‘orang kenamaan’ that thinks they are special.

• Jun Kit on Sep 19, 2022 at 1:34 pm

Lots of comments with if those “situation” not happen then driver will not angry… believe me…if there are human, there will be always issue and always exist of situation, because human is human, not like robot, robot follow instruction and will not change. Human always has changes… when change, situation happen, emotional gets trigger, then yea.. just human thing. There is no permanant fix.