Petronas Gentari Pedas Linggi DC charger pricing – RM3 per minute, 180 kW from one outlet at a time

Petronas has revealed pricing for its Gentari 180 kW DC fast charger located at the Pedas Linggi Northbound R&R highway stop, which is priced at RM3 per minute of use.

The 180 kW ABB DC fast charger at this station consists of two CCS2 charging guns, though it has now been configured to operate from one CCS2 gun at a time for the full 180 kW output when charging, vehicle permitting. This means that when one of the two CCS2 points is in use, the other will not be operational.

This configuration is being trialled as Petronas expects the charging facility to be not often congested and require the full complement of charging bays, instead opting to offer the full 180 kW rate through one charging point at a time, according to Syafiq Fauzan Bin Ariffin, manager for strategy, business development and commercial at Petronas.

Activate charging via either the JomCharge app or Setel app.

PlugShare: Petronas Pedas Linggi R&R north-bound 180 kW Charger

If you haven’t downloaded Setel yet, we would appreciate it if you could use our referrer code “5h9f3”

LINK: Download Setel

This facility at the Pedas Linggi Northbound R&R will be reconfigured to enable 90 kW + 90 kW charging at a later time, he added. This joins the Petronas/Gentari network of DC fast chargers that currently also includes the Petronas Gambang Eastbound R&R where the 180 kW DC fast charger is configured to enable an output 90 kW to each charging point at the same time.

The Petronas Gentari DC network of charging facilities at Pedas Linggi along with the Gambang Eastbound location will be joined by the Petronas station at Gambang Westbound, while further north it will add Ipoh (Jalan Sultan Azlan Shah) and the southern region will add Bandar Baru Ayer Hitam to complete its first-phase rollout of DC chargers, which is targeted for the end of the year.

Gentari is a clean energy solutions provider that is fully owned by Petronas, launched earlier this month. Gentari aims to be a one-stop provider of clean energy solutions including renewable energy, hydrogen and clean mobility solutions, for commercial, industrial and retail customers.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Omar Ariff on Sep 26, 2022 at 3:53 pm

charge RM3 per minute instead of kWh used, so I gotta pay more because the charger only goes up to 90kW instead of 180kW? The perfect SCAM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
    • sohai on Sep 27, 2022 at 4:42 pm

Rm3/minute, the recent posted rm40k kuro EV that charge AC for 5.5 hours need to pay rm990 for below 200 km ride and need to wait 5.5 hrs before move to next destination… this is vs gasoline rm2/liter pump within 2 minutes … EV charge rm3/min betoi betoi sohai …

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 27, 2022 at 7:18 pm

Bro… You can’t even plug in a DC charger into that Kuro. AC chargers are much cheaper.

• Mike Tee on Sep 26, 2022 at 4:26 pm

RM3 per minute is the perfect stick for anti-EV brigade. Let’s say you charge the iX 40 at perfect conditions (full 150kW and battery at 10%), 10 minutes and RM30 later, you just added 95km of range @RM0.33/km when you can charge at L2 at home for <RM0.10 (aka cheaper per km cost than a Myvi/Axia).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Ground europe passenger on Sep 26, 2022 at 5:02 pm

So for ev car owner suppose to purposely drive to this sankala place or occasional passing by to charge their car??

• Lucky Draw4D on Sep 27, 2022 at 11:51 am

Why, that’s the price to pay for being trendy.

• Morgan on Sep 27, 2022 at 5:19 pm

Me: Just wondering where’s the bit about appreciation & thanking those who drive electric vehicles for saving the planet’s future
    Petronas: Anyw, Electric Vehicles are only for the Filthy rich, so let’s Milk ’em ;)

• Realist on Oct 10, 2022 at 10:48 am

You’re not saving no dang planet fool. Do you think the electricity in Malaysia is generated by air? It’s still by fossil fuels. So dumb

• malaysia car tax must go on Oct 12, 2022 at 10:01 pm

electricity can be generated via many sustainable ways like wind/solar. My house has solar panels on it and generates a good amount enough to reduce my bill from RM1k+ to RM300-500. I can in theory use that solar to charge my car, thus saving the planet. Petrol will not do that, be a realist.

• Ashroff on Sep 27, 2022 at 11:13 pm

We have to wait n watch for the ev kiosk ..the longer we wait buying an ev the lesser the current charges be…mayb I will invest in a solar powered ev kiosk….jimat jimat.or fix solar panel on my ev roof top .who knows..

• Vwfan on Oct 09, 2022 at 1:47 pm

Solar panel charging is not efficient at all. For example, you need to full charge Tesla model 3 for 10 hours straight if using solar panel.

• Tesla Owner on Oct 16, 2022 at 6:51 pm

FYi I have a Tesla Mdl.S which I use my home solar fully to charge approx.5days In a week.Each top up typically is approx.1.5-2 hrs.which adds approx.150-200km.of range. So what u mentioned is not true! On a daily basis it costs almost nothing to fuel d car n it’s used 99% of d time for all trips long n short.Have put in 75,000km in about 2.75yrs.of ownership.

• any idea why all operators charge by minute instead of the electricity?

• Most likely so that EV owners are time conscious and don’t just leave their cars charging (even if full) and blocking others…

• malaysia car tax is kinda dumb on Oct 12, 2022 at 9:54 pm

This only make sense if you’re driving an EV which can charge 150kw+ like the ioniq 5 and porsche taycan. Dont plug in your bicycle and wait 10 hours to charge fully then say that it is expensive, know your vehicle’s charge speed and calculate accordingly. Because it doesn’t make sense to park an EV there that charges at 10kwh and charge them per kwh, that way the 10kwh EV charging car would take hours before charging fully thus blocking other users from using it.