VIDEO: 2023 Honda CR-V gets detailed again

We previously featured a Canadian market official walk-around tour of the 2023 Honda CR-V, but now American Honda has published their own set of infomercial videos which you can watch below.

Although the new CR-V was unveiled way back in July 2023, production of the sixth generation of Honda’s popular family SUV only started this month, with Honda of Canada Manufacturing kicking off the first production line. Next, production will start at Honda’s two US plants in Indiana and Ohio.

What about the ASEAN market then? No news of the new CR-V’s introduction here yet, but it has started doing camouflaged road tests in Thailand, so we expect a 2023 debut in this region. It might take some time for it to be launched in Malaysia because Honda Malaysia will have to prepare CKD assembly for it in order to be cost competitive.

The new sixth gen Honda CR-V measures 4,694 mm long (+69 mm) and 1,864 mm wide (+10 mm), while the height is reduced to 1,681 mm (-8 mm). Wheelbase has grown by 40 mm to measure 2,700 mm.

Based on North American market specs, it can be had with either a 1.5 litre turbo engine or a 2.0 litre hybrid. The turbo engine produces 190 horsepower at 6,000 rpm and 243 Nm of torque from 1,700-5,000 rpm, mated to a CVT gearbox. The hybrid uses a 2.0 litre Atkinson cycle four-cylinder engine and e-CVT working together with two electric motors for a total system output of 204 hp and 335 Nm of torque.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• The back more like XC60

• The meter dashboard design looks ugly

• David on Sep 27, 2022 at 9:20 pm

Beauty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • I will still stick CRV 5th gen. At least there is temperature gauge

• Gabriel on Sep 28, 2022 at 9:16 am

Now that Malaysian ringgit is stronger than the Yen, will Honda Malaysia will make the decision to lower their car prices?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Fruisier on Sep 28, 2022 at 12:17 pm

Honda also trade in USD and Thai Baht like Nissan, do you think honda cars are cheaper,

• Gabriel on Sep 28, 2022 at 4:11 pm

Whenever the exchange rates are not favorable, you will hear rumblings from the automaker here in Malaysia about impending price increase. As a consumer, we need to start questioning why the price will no go down if the exchange rates are the other way round. Accepting such a scenario is nonsensical.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • Maverick on Sep 28, 2022 at 5:25 pm

Nah nah, most of them will blame the Government. Nonsensical as it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • Fruisier on Sep 29, 2022 at 10:24 am

You guys don’t read much of any articles. Why not read anyone of the article from anyone of website, if you said honda trades only JPY, not to forget honda also trade in USD and MYR.

• Ugly

• aliff on Sep 28, 2022 at 10:27 am

finally! blind spot monitoring system! i guess its a first for Honda!

• KANCIL TURBO on Sep 28, 2022 at 11:41 am

love this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Sales on Sep 28, 2022 at 7:56 pm

Follow current price OK acceptable. If make it 7 seater better. If price increase then may not worth it. But still Toyota no answer to this CRV price and space. Mazda close.

• I waiting new crv