2023 Honda CR-V – production of 6th-gen SUV kicks off in Canada, US plants to follow in the coming days

Honda of Canada Manufacturing (HCM) has kicked off mass production of the new 2023 Honda CR-V, the sixth generation of the popular SUV that was unveiled in July. HCM has been making the CR-V since 2012, and its Line 2 is the global lead plant for CR-V production this time around.

In the coming days, production of the new CR-V will follow at Honda’s two US plants – Indiana Auto Plant (IAP) and East Liberty Auto Plant (ELP) in Ohio. Next month, production of the CR-V hybrid will start in Canada, followed by IAP and ELP. Honda will increase production of the hybrid model to 50% of CR-V sales, a key step in its electrification strategy.

“Becoming the global lead plant for the 2023 Honda CR-V was a big challenge, and I’m proud of our experienced team at HCM and the level of teamwork we had in North America to create this incredible new product for our customers. Next up is the CR-V hybrid that is more important than ever to the CR-V lineup and a model we are very excited to deliver to our Canadian customers for the first time,” said Clement D’Souza, senior VP of HCM.

The new CR-V has been spotted testing in Thailand – ASEAN production to start next year?

In North America, the 2023 CR-V will have two turbocharged trim levels (EX and EX-L), while the Sport and Sport Touring trims will be hybrid-only. The 1.5T puts out 193 PS and 243 Nm of torque and is paired to a CVT. The hybrid’s setup is similar to that of the latest Civic e:HEV, combining a 2.0L Atkinson cycle, an e-CVT and two electric motors for a total system output of 207 PS.

The new CR-V’s horizontal dashboard is also very Civic, while the exterior is longer and wider than before, with “premium proportions”, a broader stance and a low horizontal beltline. Honda claims a more fun-to-drive personality, more confident and refined dynamics, and increased torque and capability for its new SUV – full details here.

Earlier this month, the next-gen CR-V was caught testing in Thailand. The CR-V has a good track record in ASEAN and is a household name here, so we’re definitely getting it. Production in Thailand and Malaysia to start in 2023? What do you think of the new look?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• dong gor on Sep 23, 2022 at 4:09 pm

This blue looks good..but malaysia never have this color in all the lined up models.shame…

• aumeow on Sep 23, 2022 at 4:19 pm

Waiting spare part list: still poor
    Service levels: still poor
    Quality levels: still poor

Why bring new honda model when three tasks above are really poor

• bangsa_honda on Sep 23, 2022 at 6:20 pm

maybe my lucky star, honda m’sia replace my steering rack under warranty within 3 weeks as promised from my complain..so it’s a SC thing i guess..fuuh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • But many said otherwise. Though steering rack after replacement, still having issues, same like other part issues