2023 Honda CR-V – sixth-gen SUV is larger; bolder styling; 1.5L VTEC Turbo and hybrid; Civic-like interior

Honda has just unveiled the sixth-generation CR-V, which has been completely redesigned and will go on sale for the 2023 model year in the United States this summer (between June and August). Initially, the brand’s all-new SUV will be offered with turbo power before hybrid variants are introduced later in the year.

The EX and EX-L variants will get an updated version of the 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine, which Honda claims is better refined while providing improved emissions performance. Notable enhancements to the four-cylinder mill include a new high-efficiency, high-response turbocharged as well as a 4-2 exhaust port cylinder head.

Outputs remain unchanged despite these revisions, with the engine churning out 190 hp (193 PS) and 243 Nm of torque, although these arrive at different engine speeds compared to before. In the case of peak horsepower, it now arrives 400 rpm later at 6,000 rpm, while peak torque now arrives 300 rpm earlier from 1,700 to 5,000 rpm. The VTEC Turbo continues to be paired with a CVT, which also gets tweaks to reduce noise and vibration.

As for the hybrid powertrain, it can only be had with Sport and Sport Touring variants. The setup is similar to what you’ll find in the latest Civic e:HEV, with a 2.0 litre Atkinson cycle four-cylinder engine and e-CVT working together with two electric motors for a total system output of 204 hp (207 PS).

It should be noted the quoted figure is less than the outgoing model with the same setup that was rated at 212 hp (215 PS). However, one of the electric motors (not the one that acts as a generator for the battery) is actually torquier than before, generating 335 Nm instead of 315 Nm. The newer hybrid powertrain also earns the CR-V a tow rating of 454 kg (1,000 pounds) where the previous one didn’t get a figure at all.

All variants can be optioned with all-wheel drive (marketed as Real Time AWD with Intelligent Control System), with the system now able to send 50% of engine torque to the rear wheels for better traction in slippery conditions like snow and mud – the Sport Touring gets this as standard. In terms of drive modes, there are three standard selectable options (Normal, Econ and a new Snow), with Sport being an additional mode for hybrid variants.

Other mechanical revisions include a stiffer front subframe and repositioned steering rack to improve feel and accuracy. The rear subframe also gets stiffened for the re-tuned multilink suspension which features a 15% higher spring rate for the upper spring mount – MacPherson struts continue to be used at the front.

Styling-wise, the latest CR-V ditches the curvy shape of its predecessor for a sharper, more rugged look. The bolder appearance is said to be inspired by the recently redesigned Ridgeline and Passport TrailSport, with key cues being the large, upright gloss black grille that is flanked by slim LED headlamps.

The angular bumper is also new, and on hybrid variants, it features a wide lower intake with chrome accents and L-shaped elements that integrate what appears to be vertical air slits. Non-hybrid models get a tamer look that is depicted by the red car in the gallery below.

You’ll also notice the longer bonnet, which is a result of the A-pillars being moved rearwards by some 119 mm. The base of the A-pillars has also been moved 71 mm outward and sit 35.6 mm lower than the previous CR-V.

Along the sides, a prominent beltline highlights the reshaped window line that has a less pronounced kink near the base of the D-pillars, accompanied by familiar lower body cladding. Moving to the rear, we find vertical taillights that are a nod to the outgoing model, although they are sleeker in appearance on the new SUV.

The reprofiled tailgate also sees the number plate being placed higher up, with the lower recessed section omitted entirely. Those rectangular exhaust finishers are only fitted to Sport and Sport Touring variants, both of which also get 18-inch and 19-inch black alloys respectively – the EX and EX-L settle for 18-inch silver units instead.

If the new CR-V looks larger than its predecessor, your eyes aren’t deceiving you. The sixth-gen model measures 4,694 mm long (+69 mm) and 1,864 mm wide (+10 mm), while the height is just slightly reduced to 1,681 mm (-8 mm). Of more significance is the wheelbase, which has grown by 40 mm to span 2,700 mm.

The wider gap between the wheels means there’s more rear seat legroom (+15 mm), and the bench now features eight angles of recline for increased comfort. Other benefits include a larger front-to-rear-seat couple distance and more cargo room in both turbo and hybrid variants.

Also on the inside is the Civic-inspired dashboard that was revealed days before today’s official debut. Much of the design is almost a carbon copy of the sedan, including the three-spoke steering wheel, full-width mesh-covered air vents and freestanding infotainment touchscreen, the last of which measures seven inches in the EX and Sport, and nine inches in the EX-L and Sport Touring.

One area that differs from the Civic is the centre console, which is larger in the CR-V given the SUV’s overall size. This allows the gear lever to be placed side-by-side with the drive mode selector, hill descent control button and electronic parking brake switch. These items are placed aft of a storage cubby that integrates a Qi wireless charger (EX-L and Sport Touring only), with a pair of cupholders sandwiched between the raised centre console and armrest.

All variants of the CR-V come with support for Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, with wireless connectivity being reserved for EX-L and Sport Touring variants. A seven-inch digital instrument cluster is part of the basic kit list too, as is 10 airbags, hill descent control, rear seatbelt reminder, rear seat reminder and driver attention monitor and Honda Sensing.

The suite of safety and driver assistance systems is now supported by a new 90-degree field of view camera and 120-degree field of view millimetre-waveradar, with additional functions being new Traffic Jam Assist (TJA), Low-Speed Braking Control and Traffic Sign Recognition (TSR). Blind Spot Information (BSI) is now standard, and existing features such as Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with Low-Speed Follow and Lane Keeping Assist (LKAS) are now capable of more natural responses.

Cloth upholstery is included in EX and Sport variants, while leather is used in the EX-L and Sport Touring. The hybrids also get two additional USB-C ports for rear passengers on top of the USB-A and USB-C ports at the front of the cabin, while the range-topping option is the only one with a 12-speaker Bose sound system.

So, there you have it, the all-new CR-V? Are you impressed by the SUV’s new look, or do you prefer its predecessor? Are you hoping we get the redesigned SUV with the hybrid powertrain? Share your thoughts in the comments below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Knightrider on Jul 12, 2022 at 11:32 pm

Please buy this award winning SUV Malaysians… many H fanboys will get it asap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 45
    • P1 Spare Parts Department on Jul 13, 2022 at 4:54 am

2023 CR-V
      Power: 4-Cyl
      Infotainment: Apple CarPlay & Android Auto
      Resale Value: Used 2017 CR-V worth more than New 2022 X70
      Top spec: Yes AWD

2022 X70
      Power: 3-Cyl
      Infotainment: Kelantan CarPlay & Sabah Auto
      Resale Value: New 2022 X70 worth less than used 2017 CR-V
      Top spec: No AWD

I would say checkmate but unfortunately P1 Spare Parts Department don’t have stock of checkmates!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 17
    • Timur Selatan on Jul 13, 2022 at 10:55 am

But come here…..Spare parts, quality and specs are not checked? Who still wants to pay big money for lousy car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Bijak on Jul 12, 2022 at 11:41 pm

Interior looks same as Civic…bored

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 14
  • Azroy on Jul 12, 2022 at 11:41 pm

Like: HRV & CRV
    Dislike: Corolla Cross & RAV4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 79
  • Honda poor safety? on Jul 13, 2022 at 12:00 am

Honda removes temperature meter for new CRV? What’s wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • Mr. Sotong on Jul 13, 2022 at 8:48 am

Because this is 2022, not 1983. A warning indicator is all you need. The ECU will monitor the temp for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
      • Honda poor safety? on Jul 13, 2022 at 12:33 pm

Get your knowledge right. Temperature meter is designed to measure the temperature of your engine’s coolant. This temperature meter will tell you if your engine’s coolant is cold, normal, or overheating. It is an important dial that is located on the dashboard of your vehicle. Without temperature meter, there are many causes due to leaking coolant, tickling noise, hot smell, steam from the hood and making engine power lower. But smaller cars are not needed but bigger cars including average size sedans are needed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
        • Civic Turbo 2018 on Jul 13, 2022 at 2:12 pm

Because Honda’s turbocharged
          Highly reliable won’t overheat
          Honda sure won’t wrong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
          • How come honda turbocharged engine aren’t reliable as there are issues on oil dilution since you say honda has high reliable…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
          • PlainBS on Jul 14, 2022 at 12:50 am

By the time you know it, it is too late dy lah

• God please help this guy on Jul 14, 2022 at 8:09 am

Ya, Civic Turbo 2018 the best, confirm no problem

• Lie! I’m using nissan latio 2008 no issue at all just do simple check up that’s all

• Savon on Jul 13, 2022 at 12:13 am

Come to Malaysia, will be still getting lanewatch camera but removing blind spot monitor and rear cross traffic alert.

Very stupid Malaysians still buying cars with no blind spot monitor and rear cross traffic alert.

Be wise, buy a car cheaper but comes with blind spot monitor and rear cross traffic alert….Nissan, Mazda etc

Honda is junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 14
  • anonymous on Jul 13, 2022 at 12:17 am

lol looks like one of those chopped up cars of yesteryear where they used the rear of a Volvo XC60 and the front of a 2017 era Hyundai Tucson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • Tailights like XC60

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Uncle on Jul 13, 2022 at 8:06 am

Getting plain looks like the 2014 Mitsubishi Outlander.
      Unable to compete 2022 Mitsubishi Outlander styling anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • R Harindranath R Ravindra Nath on Jul 13, 2022 at 9:46 am

Totally agree. That is so so true.

• Norlia on Jul 13, 2022 at 2:46 am

Honda CR-V but more spacious, looks and drive better then RM800k Porsche Cayenne. Wow !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 51
    • Sorry mate, NOTHING drives like a Porsche. Go and test drive one. Of course there are many who dislike how it looks but that’s another story. CKD Cayenne is 600k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • Done your homework on Jul 13, 2022 at 8:44 am

Are you really sure? Although, Cayenne is expensive, have you go inside Cayenne?

• Proton X90 will smoke this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • Haters gonna hate on Jul 13, 2022 at 11:52 am

Not sure why u compare CRV with Cayenne. Did you lost your mind ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Sohail on Jul 13, 2022 at 7:21 am

Still cannot fit 3row behind. Previous gen CR-V had 3 rows, except Malaysia version.
    It’s abit small, if Honda give, like the CX-8, it’s need to be longer but still doesn’t comes with oustanding legroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • R.HARINDRANATH R.RAVINDRA NATH on Jul 13, 2022 at 9:47 am

Design overall looks totally unremarkable. Best angle : the rear view. Looks better in lower trim levels. Should be an unremarkable drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Dong Gor on Jul 13, 2022 at 10:07 am

overall nice! but why put the double exhaust in front?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Epson on Jul 13, 2022 at 10:20 am

Wait for new X70. New X70 looks more better than this

• Timur Selatan on Jul 13, 2022 at 10:58 am

If come here….sub-quality of their cars, below standard safety features and specs, no spare parts

Who wants to pay big money for lousy honda cars??

• yozawatsubasa212 on Jul 13, 2022 at 11:55 am

why got that exhaust thing in front?

• Outalingam Crap on Jul 13, 2022 at 12:17 pm

A little too Toyota RAV4ish from the front, if you ask me – however, no 3rd row iteration for Malaysia, no buy for me

• Why not using the 2.0 K20C engine, 10speed trans from the US spec Accord. It got turbo, more HP more torque.

• I’m sorry, RAV4 is far more better and reliable than CR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Test drive on Jul 13, 2022 at 6:05 pm

I test drive the current model, when accelerate the engine noise is very loud with turbo but the car seem no pick up. However overall this new size is good. For family. Wonder why don’t make it 7 seater. But I also can’t see Toyota or others got answer to this in terms of price & specs. Mazda closest.

• Bangkok on Jul 13, 2022 at 10:07 pm

The double exhaust in front is for reversing in order to release smoke and fumes to show you how powerful in reverse

• Taipei on May 22, 2023 at 9:55 pm

Dumbest answer.. better quiet if u just gonna give a brainless reply

• Stick on Jul 14, 2022 at 1:28 pm

Super boring design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Trudy on Nov 02, 2022 at 6:58 am

Yes…. the 5th gen looks more premium. Why is this new design not exciting me?? Trying to figure out why? Maybe it looks like everyone else.

• haha…

Same same…
    but different…
    but same

• In Malaysia it will be around RM 170 to RM 200 range price I guess and with spec cut, no Bose no blind spot monitoring.. we pay more and get less as always..aih..

• is this a prank? the car design is tasteless. no sense of elegance. imagine driving this to any formal event…you’ll look like you stole the car from your gardener

• Fazenne on Jul 17, 2022 at 2:08 am

CVT? With paddle shift? And you wanna tekan some more since you have hi hp? No thanks but good luck to you guys. Next.

• sia yu leong on Jul 17, 2022 at 5:45 pm

pl reintroduce the convex (fisheye) side mirror . no car r using flat surface side mirror except Honda . u know the reasons

• Will new crv coming with 7 seater??

• What is the case for this new model for malaysia? i check even the honda japan website, this model is NOT in their list?? this new model for western country only?

• Yuhin on Aug 17, 2022 at 1:59 pm

Hopefully when it enters Malaysia, Honda offers 7 seater option

• Looks so boring. Engine spec boring. Interior is post covid cost cut exercise. Waiting for next cx5?

• hondaman on Jan 17, 2023 at 5:38 pm

Honda CRV….Still waiting for the price range and rough availability time..in Malaysia. Hope can get the clues regarding the price and when it will be launched in Malaysia.. tq

• Heretic on Nov 17, 2023 at 3:43 pm

Was hoping 2.0 engine….1.5 is just under power during pickup