2024 Honda CR-V e:HEV RS price announced – range-topping hybrid is RM196k, RM14k more than V AWD

When Honda Malaysia launched the sixth-generation CR-V in December, the price of the range-topping CR-V 2.0L e:HEV RS was not revealed. The company said that it would announce the CR-V Hybrid’s price in early 2024 and here you go – it’s RM195,900 on-the-road without insurance.

That makes the RS hybrid RM14k costlier than the highest pure ICE variant, the 1.5L Turbo V AWD at RM181,900. The 1.5L Turbo E is priced at RM169,900 while the base 1.5L Turbo S starts the range at RM159,900. The first 750 units of the S is being sold for RM157,900 to celebrate 20 years of CKD production of the CR-V in Malaysia.

The hybrid is powered by an Intelligent Multi-Mode Drive (i-MMD) system similar to that seen on the Civic e:HEV RS, combining the workings of an electric motor and petrol engine. The latter is a 2.0-litre naturally-aspirated Atkinson-cycle four-cylinder engine, which acts primarily as a generator.

By itself, the ICE offers 148 PS and 190 Nm of torque at 4,500 rpm. While the engine can provide direct drive – via a lock-up clutch – at higher speeds for better efficiency, it’s the electric motor that does most of the hauling work. The e-motor develops 184 PS and 335 Nm from zero to 2,000 rpm, the latter being 20 Nm more than on the Civic Hybrid.

Like with the Civic range, the e:HEV is the fastest to 100 km/h here, with a time of 9.0 seconds (base S is next fastest at 9.7 seconds). It looks racier than the rest too; RS trim brings with it badging, roof rails, body colour trim to replace the SUV’s black plastic, black side mirror covers and an active shutter grille. The 18-inch alloys are in gloss black and they have resonators to suppress road noise.

As for e:HEV RS-exclusive kit, there’s a 10.25-inch digital instrument display, a 12-speaker Bose audio system, head-up display, key card and Adaptive Driving Beam for the LED headlights. For more on the new CR-V, read our launch report and first drive report.

GALLERY: 2024 Honda CR-V 2.0L e:HEV RS

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• alibaba on Jan 11, 2024 at 3:08 pm

how come salesman informed me below 175k for top spec before it announces this price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
  • Ahmad Fitri on Jan 11, 2024 at 3:29 pm

angle kerusi belakang nampak selesa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • ThePolygon on Jan 11, 2024 at 3:30 pm

Near RM 200k Japs, other than Lexus, very hard to sell cause buyers will start to look into conti at that price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Last time 330i was under 300k, but now even 330i fully loaded with 5-year warranty and service package is 320k now, so the 200-300k range will soon be occupied by the Japanese manufacturers, especially with Mazda moving upmarket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • ThePolygon on Jan 12, 2024 at 7:06 am

That’s why they bring in the 2 series.
        Honda Accord sales already show how market perception is here.

• Not bad. I think most people were expecting north of 200k so this definitely beats expectations. We’ll see if it sells well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • Mazda nk jual CX-5 2.5T pd harga RM197k. Org pakat gelak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • ROTI CANAI on Jan 11, 2024 at 3:45 pm

200k for a crv. what a time to live in. syabas wawasan lanewatch 2025

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • applegreen on Jan 12, 2024 at 7:47 am

Thats ok considering what will u get for. I drove 1st gen crv when i was younh, pricing at 147k size similar current HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • JustAGuy on Jan 11, 2024 at 3:57 pm

This or a Tesla Model Y…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • anonymous on Jan 11, 2024 at 3:59 pm

not that i will ever commit to buy another honda (severe quality issues that never get resolved until the warranty expires), but this look is a lot cleaner than the normal cr-v without all that black cladding (no offense to the non rs version but it looks so cheap even in the flesh). and wished the rims were 19” though as it would fill that wheel well better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Almost 200k for a CRV had never been done before i think, consistent with Honda malaysia’s strategy to place the hybrids as flagship, like how City RS now cost north of 100k.

While i think that these are not bad cars, but i wonder how consumer reacts to this. Is it really worth the premium? Does the hybrid really justify the price hike in the eyes of consumers? Does the Honda City RS really sell? i wish there’s a sales breakdown somewhere for all these cars that decides to sell at a premium previously unheard off.

Not to mention, how RV holds up for these new gens of hybrid. It would be sad to see the 14k more expensive hybrid sell less than its petrol counterpart in the future.

• Would also be interesting to see how consumers react to removal of blanket petrol subsidy later in the year. If the hybrid savings are significant (I haven’t done the math), it might just push people off the edge to consider the hybrid vehicles.

• Bob Mal on Jan 11, 2024 at 4:33 pm

Seriously who would want to buy the e:HEV RS when one can buy the 1.5T E for RM26,000 cheaper even if you can get 5L/100km vs 7L/100km which translate to 30% savings. Lets say one uses RM5k (a year petrol) / 30% = RM3500 (hybrid yearly petrol) > Then take the RM26000 cheaper / 1500 savings = 17 years worth of fuel not including probably the hybrid need to change 2x battery by then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • Lol, that’s still better than a Tesla probably need to change the battery 2x too. confirmed banrkupt, can loan anot tukar Tesla battery?

• Are u comparing iPhone 15 vs 4 ?

• Bob Mal on Jan 12, 2024 at 1:24 pm

Sure why not since u made nonsensical comparison then both the iPhone 4 introduced the 30pin connector while the iPhone 15 first introduced the USB-C connector all are old technology which their competitor can now charge on average 45W-120W while the iPhone only 20W and slow.

• Ben Yap on Jan 11, 2024 at 5:12 pm

where is the baik beli gang? baik beli BMW X1 or this and that.

• Ooooo on Jan 11, 2024 at 5:31 pm

ugly

• Malik on Jan 11, 2024 at 6:25 pm

Why not get a VW tiguan all space…a better 5 year Maintenance & Roadside assistance… My Civic has so many issues after 4 years on the road, AC faulty, rear suspension faulty… The problem is that when I want to send that to Honda they want to keep it for 2 weeks… Hello, what should I do for two weeks? Work from home ?! As per a youtuber… Honda is MALAS

• Sohai on Jan 12, 2024 at 9:13 am

With maintenance package doesn’t mean they don’t hold your car for 2 weeks.
      But ya, Honda reliability is not what it use to be. Infact, a Kia or Hyundai now is better

• Paul Banks on Jan 11, 2024 at 7:42 pm

Quite competitive price compare to same other segment of its class. All eyes for sure on this beauty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • U won’t regret to own Honda ehev

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Gaolo on Jan 11, 2024 at 8:48 pm

Go for Mazda cx8 more comfy and big

• Amira on Jan 11, 2024 at 9:33 pm

5 seater saja how to lawan Proton X90

• Laughs in Model Y. HAHAHAHA

• real hybrid on Jan 12, 2024 at 10:11 am

rm200k i buy hrv/cross/omoda and 1 myvi. Go work pakai myvi weekend pakai suv.

• normal_user on Jan 12, 2024 at 3:02 pm

The City RS eHEV is rare on the road. This one will be even more rare.

• hazri on Jan 12, 2024 at 3:52 pm

no wonder they drop accord. just like they drop brv. just want to justify the price. 200k range many car you can choose.

• Anybody knows, How much is the battery replacement after warranty is over? important for resale value later