Still less than 1,000 EV charging stations in Malaysia, infrastructure development has to speed up – MOSTI

Since it was announced last October during Budget 2022 that electric vehicles (EVs) would be completely exempt from import and excise duties starting from January 1 this year, there has been a steady stream of EVs making their way into the country.

With these incentives set to run until December 31, 2023 for fully-imported (CBU) EVs and December 31, 2025 for locally-assembled (CKD) EVs, things should move at an even faster pace next year.

However, the public charging infrastructure, integral to the growth of the new format, is struggling to keep up, based on their numbers at least. According to science, technology and innovation (MOSTI) deputy minister Datuk Ahmad Amzad Hashim, the number of public EV charging stations in the country is still low, with less than 1,000 recorded nationwide.

He said that the ministry had targeted to have five times that number in place nationwide this year, but to date, the number of EV charging points is still far below the target, as Bernama reports.

“Our initial target for this year was 5,000 EV charging stations nationwide, but the number is still less than 1,000. Efforts are being done now with the government calling all stakeholders to meet. This will allow us to look into ways to increase the number of charging stations,” he said.

“Our focus is still geared towards major towns, but we have also received requests from other states for charging facilities, which would allow these vehicles to travel from state to state,” he said, adding that the ministry is looking at ways to accelerate the development of the charging infrastructure.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• newme on Sep 29, 2022 at 12:24 pm

These people are so funny. There are so few EVs on the road and out of reach of so many people.
    Why are they lamenting about so few charging station?
    You think people want to spend thousands + maintenance on chargers just to leave it there with no users and no revenue?

• Chicken and egg situation….

• sohai on Sep 29, 2022 at 3:21 pm

We have 23 millions vehicle registered in JPJ system. Only 1000 EV charging station to charge 23m of vehicles… sohai betoi…

• sohai on Sep 29, 2022 at 3:30 pm

EV is dirty energy as even dirty than gasoline, the electricity generation from burning coal cause air pollution/climate change, and the battery materials is highly toxic to impact ground water. Dont blindly follow the mask man, skip EV and direct go for Hydrogen Fuel Cell instead. Sohai betoi EV…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • Kambeng on Sep 29, 2022 at 12:48 pm

We need at least 5x Electric Refuel station the number of Petrol Refuel station under 1 roof.
    Even the fastest possible charging, altought not being installed anywhere yet, it’s also 5x slower for refueling…

It’s simply 50 years behind maturity..
    Worse than petrol stations I have seen since 1970.

BIG EV infra project ahead.
    5G, dah lama pun tak siap².
    KL Selangor developed state also cannot launch full coverage yet.

• AP Putra on Sep 29, 2022 at 5:11 pm

do not ever build more charging station to scam consumers via pay per minute rate

• Robinhood on Sep 30, 2022 at 9:43 am

Memang takde otak. Recession is coming and EV cars are still beyond the reach of the mass. Yet, they are asking for more EV charging stations. You guys think the demand for EV will increase tremendously in the near future meh???

• Time for change on Sep 30, 2022 at 12:27 pm

What a shame our incompetent authorities and politicians damaging our country’s future and doing nothing to push for a change. We are behind in everything in SEA: (1) no EV drive policy, therefore no major EV charging stations in our RnR and let alone main roads throughout MY, (2) slow rollout of 5G to whole nation (politicians bickering which business model is better), (3) flip flopping on high speed rail between SG and MY.
    (4) our English fluency is getting worse and our civil servants cannot comprehend what a good governance
    I am in Hanoi witnessing the economic ans infrastucture progress Vietnam has made in these few years. If we do not change course, we will be left behind.
    We can make a choice who we want to lead us in GE15. Enough with past stupidity.

• Can I advise you something ? on Sep 30, 2022 at 10:30 pm

Definitely,we dont need the clueless dudes who push for election during monsoons.They can afford chauferred motorboats to polling station.Rakyat needs to stay home to prevent Sri Muda 2.0 .

• Wahab on Jan 21, 2023 at 6:03 pm

We are changing course – for the worse

• Wahab on Jan 21, 2023 at 6:03 pm

We are changing course – for the worse