Flash floods reported in several parts of Klang Valley – Jln Kuchai Lama, Jln Kuching, Jln Tunku Abdul Halim

With Malaysian currently in the monsoon transition phase from October 3 until November this year, social media is buzzing with flash floods reported in several areas as at the time of writing.

Going through Twitter, areas in the Klang Valley currently with high water levels in the past hour or so include Jalan Kuchai Lama, the Semantan interchange, Jalan Kuching, Jalan Tunku Abdul Halim and certain sections of the Puchong–Sungai Besi Highway (Bukit Jalil Highway).

If you’re planning to drive home or to another location, do check beforehand if there are any flash floods affecting areas along your chosen route. Delay your journey if possible and avoid forcing your way through flooded areas as it might cause considerable damage to your car – Special Perils insurance coverage can provide some relief if the undesirable and completely unavoidable happen.

To keep track of weather forecasts and warnings, the Malaysian Meteorological Department (MetMalaysia) has these channels available: official website, social media pages (Facebook, Twitter), myCuaca mobile app (iOS, Android) or by contacting its hotline at 1-300-22-1638.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• LRT User on Oct 04, 2022 at 6:08 pm

Normal. Shoulda used public transportations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Melania Rosmah on Oct 04, 2022 at 8:08 pm

Keluarga garmen..pls provide sampan or motorboat for each family if u force GE 15 during monsoon.If not,forget it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Motor Boat on Oct 05, 2022 at 10:40 am

They will provide boat for their own strong hold voters only to make sure they win dirty this time due to court clusters.

Ordinary citizen won’t go out during flood..

• macampondan on Oct 05, 2022 at 1:37 pm

keluaga miskin malaysia.

• the ponding water is how those Road get damage easily..

• seancorr on Oct 04, 2022 at 9:22 pm

Looks like floods will be a norm for everyone.

• Jason on Oct 04, 2022 at 10:08 pm

That’s why we have Frogs. These loud amphibians are said to croak even longer and louder than usual when bad weather is on the horizon. When you hear their volume increase, you can assume a GE15 storm is brewing.

• AwakL on Oct 05, 2022 at 7:58 am

Imagine we have the worst road causes fatalities and other times it is unusable due to floods while public transport as reported for the past 2 years is equally bad and yet those guys who talks still get to keep their job!

• Johnny Sainz on Oct 05, 2022 at 8:36 am

Sometimes, I feel need to take a baseball bat and whack some sense in this people is DBKL.

They can easily use fund to create a world class drainage system like Singapore, BUT NOO MUST BUILD MORE TALLEST BUILDINGS.

Even installing drainage pumps will be a great alternative than sitting around and praying like these idiots.

• Ground europe passenger on Oct 05, 2022 at 8:51 am

If unlucky kena flood, u can said bye bye to your car dy. Really sakit hati no jokes…

• “perfect” for election.

• newme on Oct 05, 2022 at 9:16 am

But just a day ago, the met department guy says there won’t be heavy rain until Nov.