Pavilion Bukit Jalil carpark car locator system – find your car easily with the number plate or time of entry

We’ve all slept without charging our phones, left for work without our wallets, or worse, forgot where we parked our cars in shopping malls. If you happen to forget where you left your car at the Pavilion Bukit Jalil shopping mall, you can now search for it with the car locator system (CLS) and here’s how it works.

Using touchscreen displays located at several exit points – there are currently 10 terminals installed – users can either choose to locate their cars by keying in the number plate or time of entry.

Upon locating the car, the system will show an image of it and the user is required to confirm if that is indeed his/her vehicle.

Upon confirmation, two different maps will be shown to the user. The first shows where the user is within the mall, while the other map displays the location of the car in the parking area. Details including which floor the car is parked on as well as the pillar and parking bay number will also be shown on the touchscreen.

In case you’re wondering, the image of the car along with its number plate is captured the moment it is parked. This is done using a sensor and camera positioned at the ceiling of each floor of the parking lot. It’s worth noting that the system is designed to read number plates with standard fonts so if you have a customised number plate fitted, it may not be as effective.

Aside from capturing the image of the car and its number plate, the sensor can also detect if the parking bay is empty or occupied. Referring to our images, the number of arrows you see indicates the number of parking bays available in a particular section.

There are even colours to differentiate the types of parking lots; green for normal parking lots, blue for OKU (orang kurang upaya) drivers, and pink for female drivers.

We can already think of other ways that such a system could be used – if Pavilion Bukit Jalil decides to install EV charging bays in the mall parking, it would be technically possible for the system to automatically charge for EV car charging if the system is paired with an e-wallet!

So far, the only other location with this system, operated by edisijuta parking, is the KLCC shopping mall. Which other mall do you think needs such a system?

Thinking of heading to Pavilion Bukit Jalil? Use Google Maps or Waze to navigate there using one of the links below.

Pan Eu Jin

Pan Eu Jin is a firm believer that good things don’t come cheap, but cheap cars can be good. How a car makes you feel behind the wheel or as a passenger should be more important than the brand it represents.

• Stalker on Oct 06, 2022 at 1:44 pm

Imagine a stalker tracks your car and prepared a surprise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • in before all the dodgy morons come in and scream invasion of privacy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
    • newme on Oct 06, 2022 at 3:20 pm

Ugly people don’t have to worry about privacy.

• oSheet on Oct 06, 2022 at 9:50 pm

You’ve not faced stalkers because you’re obviously not a lady, and with that ego you’ll never have to worry about having one.

• dong gor on Oct 06, 2022 at 2:53 pm

Good for private investigator to spy on subject’s affair… see them enter carpark, then can go have a big mac first and then locate the car later through system. Nay… if u can’t remember where you park, use the old ways to beat urself up so u will do better the next time.

• Literally every technology we have since the dawn of time can be used for both good and bad. We would have given up every creature comfort we have in society right now if we thought like this. What a silly and archaic mindset.

• state of the art tracking but carpark still use cash only payment…lol…must be a group of uncles in management team

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Sharon on Oct 06, 2022 at 9:13 pm

The group of uncles in the management team have installed LPR system, where you pay by app. First of all hope you know how to use the system hahahaa

• AppleTree on Oct 11, 2022 at 11:20 am

you can use app to pay and it is effective. So it’s cashless.

• Add A Comment on Oct 06, 2022 at 3:23 pm

whoever needs this service should not be allowed to drive at all…

• Anti-Hypocrite on Oct 07, 2022 at 12:48 pm

Heh, such arrogance. I forsee that you, one day to regret such comment and will needing the service. Good day judgemental human!

• Shankar on Oct 06, 2022 at 3:23 pm

Fools. Install proper payment channel. Still using ticket system to exit despite paying via app. I’ve lost my ticket and searched for an hour for your office.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • You must be a bigger fool for losing a ticket, how old are you? 5?

• Later you can have a system to locate in case you forgot your child in Mall

• Fahmi Yusof on Oct 06, 2022 at 9:18 pm

IOI City have been using this for couoke of years already. Now you can pay with only using you plate no. But with new tech come new risk. Now car stealer also can just hijack your car at the car park and pay only wih your plate no. or tngo only compared to parking ticket.

• You stupid or what on Oct 06, 2022 at 11:34 pm

My goodness, which brainless person come out this stupid and will causing privacy issue very very soon just to take care those minority who can’t find their car? If really got a lot people can’t find their car in your shopping mall, don’t you think you as the mall management should think deep why people can’t find their car in your mall??? I won’t want to go to your mall for sure because of this stupid system implementation.

• Jesse on Oct 07, 2022 at 3:09 am

This system is already in place in KLIA for quite some time already actually

• Bel Jin on Oct 07, 2022 at 8:12 am

Sunway Pyramid has a similar car number recognition system, though that is used towards parking payment. But still good. Hopefully the system is able to read fancy plate numbers.

• Any idea what company designed the car locator system?