GWM Ora Good Cat EV – Malaysian launch next month

With Great Wall Motors (GWM) having officially arrived in Malaysia as a brand, the Ora Good Cat fully electric hatchback is tentatively due to make its arrival on the Malaysian market in November, according to the company.

Yet to be revealed are its prices, which will be announced at the local launch for the Ora Good Cat, however the Tech and Pro variants are estimated to start from under RM150k, while the Ultra and Ultra G gain more equipment and will start from above RM160k.

As detailed previously, the Good Cat will be made available in four variants; Tech, Pro, Ultra and Ultra G. All four are powered by a single electric motor driving the front wheels, rated to produce 143 PS and 210 Nm of torque. Two battery capacities and specifications across the four variants will be offered.

The Tech and Pro variants pack a 47.8 kWh lithium-iron phosphate battery that offers up to 400 km of range on the NEDC testing cycle (the current WLTP protocol typically yields a 20% lower figure – we explain in the review here), and will take eight hours to fully charge from a 6.6 kW AC outlet via a Type 2 connection, or with DC fast charging that will take 46 minutes to achieve a 0-80% state of charge.

Meanwhile, the Ultra and Ultra G feature a 63.1 kWh ternary lithium battery that offers up to 500 km on the NEDC testing cycle, and this takes about 10 hours for a full charge from an AC outlet. As for DC fast charging, this will do a 0-80% state of charge in around 40 minutes.

The Tech variant kicks off with 17-inch alloys, LED headlamps and DRLs, LED taillights, keyless entry and start, fabric seats, a 7.0-inch digital instrument cluster, automatic air-con with PM2.5 filter, a 10.25-inch touchscreen infotainment system, four speakers, cruise control, two airbags, ESC, rear parking sensors, hill start assist, low-speed emergency braking and a tyre pressure monitoring system.

Next, the Pro adds 18-inch alloys, automatic headlamps, power-folding side mirrors, rain-sensing wipers, electric panoramic sunroof, synthetic leather upholstery, powered six-way driver’s seat, 360-degree camera, wireless phone charger, USB port for a dashcam, plus the addition of side and curtain airbags for a total of six.

Active safety kit that joins the list includes adaptive cruise control with intelligent turning, traffic jam assist, automatic emergency braking with intersection support, front collision warning, a wisdom dodge system, lane departure warning, lane keeping assist and lane centre keeping.

In addition to equipment from the Pro, the Ultra variant with the larger capacity battery brings welcome light effect for the headlamps, memory for the powered side mirrors, driver seat memory with welcome function, two more speakers (total six), automated parking, emergency lane keeping, lane change assistant, blind spot detection, rear collision warning, rear cross-traffic alert and braking, plus front parking sensors.

Topping the list is the Ultra G, which is actually identical to the Ultra in terms of equipment, albeit bringing the exclusive colours of Hazel Wood Beige/Wisdom Brown and Verdant Green with a white roof. These will be paired with interior upholstery in brown and beige, or green and grey.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Seems like the perfect city car. Wonder how is the build quality etc. inside.

• Lee Kwan Cheng on Oct 27, 2022 at 3:02 pm

EVs will never succeed in Malaysia. This is all thanks to our bodoh government. They have no vision for the future.

Infrastructure for EVs like charging stations also take so long to build, imagine if you end up with no battery left in some kampung. End up you need to call the towtruck to bring your car to the nearest charging station whiich can be FAR away.

Prices also so expensip wei. How you expect Malaysians to switch to EV if prices are so expensive? We will be behind other nations like Singapore which is already adapting to EV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 54
      • Maverick on Oct 27, 2022 at 6:28 pm

Stoopid or what? Why blame gomen for not using taxpayers monies to setup EV charging just for the rich and SG fellas to steal our electricity for free ah? Businesses setup petrol stations using their money not seeking tongkat from gomen and here you are blaming gomen for not giving tongkat to the rich to charge their playthings? GTH!

You want to complain about EV prices? Go fly kite, poorfag! EV are never cheap to own, even PaulTan did an editorial saying that. Yet you stoopid want to demand for cheap EV and blaming Malaysia? Why not go live in a country where you can get cheap crappy EV? Good things not cheap, cheap things where got good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 13
        • Bigrat on Oct 29, 2022 at 7:23 am

You have obviously not thought through the whole sustainability issue. The sum of the total parts of an EV is much lower than any equivalent fossil fuel vehicle. What we need is the economies of scale to bring the prices down to a reasonably low level for the masses.
          Secondly EVs especially motorbikes are suitable for our Rakyat but you need to ask why the dumb gomen they have not embarked on it to reduce the air/noise pollution and road deaths. Please take time to mull over this. Thirdly the infrastructure can be built by a 3rd party (obviously a crony) with gomen guaranteed loans in conjunction with ownership and support from the various petrol kiosks owners. These owners are understandably not going to invest in EV charging ports if there is insufficient demand hence creating a chicken an egg situation which needs to be broken by the gomen taking the first step. Your earlier respond implies that doing nothing is the solution. Sounds very much like our useless and thieving government. LOL!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • sohai on Oct 29, 2022 at 12:06 pm

No spares part after beeden potato chip control start 21oct… sohai…

• We’re going too fast in this EV revolution. Perhaps the hybrids are best for now while we develop all the technologies needed to produce and use electric vehicles. It did take us over a century to develop the conventional vehicle to the point that it’s a relatively low polluting form of transportation. Given time, EVs will be ready for prime time, our charging grid will be more efficient and environment friendly, and our battery technology will not need illegal mining in Africa. Rushing into new technologies will always be a must have for the rich and committed, but an efficient eco system for EVs is still a few years down the road. Let’s transition gradually and acknowledge our limitations.

A balanced approach with EV’s is the first step toward resolution of the old thinking and to migrate toward another era. Plugin hybrids make the most sense.

• Gargantia on Oct 27, 2022 at 3:03 pm

For lesser money, and double the power n fun. Better buy the Honda e

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
      • Sohail on Oct 27, 2022 at 6:26 pm

Top speed 140km/h Honda E?
        Where got fun.

• Sooooo funny on Oct 28, 2022 at 3:23 am

Lol ? U baca what is honda e before comment this ?? Double the price or double the fun ? Seems like honda e losing alot compare to this ?

• With mrt2 nearing completion plus dbkl GO bus which is free, i think i do not need a city car. I have been going to pubs taking mrt and go bus. Its more tedious but no breaking the drink driving law. TREC will soon be next to a mrt ststion.

• Ex-Porsche designer, should be interesting to see how the build quality holds up as well…

• SmarBuyer on Oct 31, 2022 at 12:05 pm

Its build by a company that even Porsche chief designer willing to jump ship and join them. So what do you think of the quality? Power la. This is his first design outside of Porsche.

• EVCarswaw on Oct 27, 2022 at 2:34 pm

Price … Price and Price. Who is going to BUY at RM 140K and Above ?

• Raja Celup on Oct 27, 2022 at 4:39 pm

Some protected species won’t allow the price below Rm140K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Maverick on Oct 27, 2022 at 6:29 pm

You mean this protected species?
        https://paultan.org/2022/05/24/dfsk-ec35-ev-van-launched-in-malaysia-two-or-five-seat-options-200-km-city-range-rm130k-or-via-leasing/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Why do they slways quote 0-80% fast charging and not 0-100?

• To charge from 80% to 100% takes longer time and wasting your time

• I believe this is to let you know that we can always be on the move even if 80% charging done, don’t really have to wait till 100%

• Enjiniur on Oct 28, 2022 at 10:17 am

Because modern power cells/batteries have different rate of charging depending on how much % the batteries are charged up. From 0% to 70-80% usually batteries can be charged at full speed (or full charging potential), but as it closes to full 100% it need to slow down the charging coz to protect the batteries life.

• Likely because it’s bad for battery health to always keep it topped up to 100%. Batteries typically like to stay within 20-80% state of charge (SoC) and there are a lot of software features built into cars like Tesla to stop charging at 80% to conserve battery life long-term.

• haval on Oct 28, 2022 at 8:22 am

Great Wall Motor (GWM) are opening up it brand again in Malaysia, after changing its name to Haval Motor before…now returning back to GWM? What happened to Haval brand now? I never liked the Haval name…Great Wall is much better name, IMHO…

• Jōtaro on Oct 28, 2022 at 10:12 am

Nice model name. Very Jojo. Yare yare daze

• Worry free for PHEV. I will still choose PHEV over EV.

• How the people staying in flats, apartments or condos going to charge their EVs?

This decade EVs are like iPhone 1st generation where the battery duration was really bad. I guess the 4th generation onwards EVs should be better in terms of battery range.

• Anonymous on Nov 04, 2022 at 6:44 pm

You can forward the issue to the management. There are monthly subscriptions for you to install an EV charging dock at your designated parking space, but you would have to talk with your apartment management and see if they agree. As EVs slowly become more mainstream those living in apartments and condos would have to voice out. The management isn’t going to look out for future trends, they respond according to demands.

• 150k china made car. After 5 years will sit at junkyard

• Protiga bad dog on Nov 29, 2022 at 12:02 pm

For now is for people who could afford mini and own a bangalow. Live in ppr wake up battery kena curi sold to kedai besi buruk.