Mob trash, overturn Myvi in Johor after collision with red light-jumping food delivery rider – 9 arrested so far

Last Thursday (November 3), a Myvi collided with a food delivery rider at the Jalan Kota Masai 2 cross junction in Johor. It was claimed that the car ran the red lights and the rider suffered from a broken leg. This was according to an ‘eyewitness’ who only wanted to be known as Akmal.

He told Kosmo that the Myvi driver tried to escape but as the road was blocked, he entered a Petronas station. Then, he was surrounded by a crowd. Shortly after, the police came and ushered the driver to safety. When he was in the patrol car, the driver provoked the crowd, which led to a mob of youngsters trashing the Myvi and then overturning it.

The cops have now took action against the mob. According to Seri Alam district police, they have now arrested nine people aged 16 to 41. All nine have been remanded for further investigations.

On November 4, district police chief Mohd Sohaimi Ishak issued a statement to say that officers have arrested three suspects the morning after the incident for rioting (merusuh). The three local males aged 17 to 24 will be investigated under Section 148/427 of the penal code and if found guilty, can be jailed for up to five years, given a fine, or both. They will also be investigated under Section 43(1) of the 1987 Road Transport Act.

Mohd Sohaimi advised the public to not take matters into their own hands and leave it to the police to do their jobs according to the law.

Kudos to the cops for taking swift action. It’s unfortunate that as a car driver, whenever you get into an incident with a motorcyclist, you are immediately presumed guilty by all other bikers, which leads to incidents like this. A mob mentality takes over and you’ll be lucky to emerge from it unscathed. Ready for a plot twist? The Myvi didn’t run the red lights; it was the delivery rider who did so – see the dashcam footage below. We wish the rider speedy recovery from his injuries.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments mainly highlight frustration with reckless motorcycle delivery riders running red lights and their aggressive behavior, which often leads to dangerous situations like the Johor incident. Many emphasize the importance of dashcam evidence to prove violations and attribute the mob mentality and violence to irresponsible riders and enforcers. There's criticism of the authorities' slow response and calls for harsher punishments for mob violence and traffic offences. Some comments express xenophobic sentiments and blame for societal issues to a specific ethnic group. Overall, the sentiment is a mix of anger at dangerous riding, support for stricter penalties, concern about law enforcement, and skepticism about justice, with a shared desire for safer roads and accountability.

• newme on Nov 07, 2022 at 1:58 pm

If no video evidence, the narrative would be “Mat motor2 tu tak akan menyerang tanpa sebab. Mesti myvi tu yang salah.”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 1
    • Komidikor on Nov 07, 2022 at 3:39 pm

Local basikal lajak kids when they get older become Samseng kurang ajar, this the case.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 3
    • ASHOIK on Nov 07, 2022 at 3:45 pm

Myvi on green light n motorbike hit red light

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
    • Civic Turbo 2018 on Nov 07, 2022 at 3:48 pm

But also read:

“Shortly after, the police came and ushered the driver to safety. When he was in the patrol car, the driver provoked the crowd, which led to a mob of youngsters trashing the Myvi and then overturning it”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 24
      • newme on Nov 07, 2022 at 5:02 pm

Got evidence?

The driver won’t simply provoke without reason. It must be something done by the mat rempits that made the driver to provoke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
        • Teti Wonders on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:37 am

The eyewitness lied about who ran the red light. So, don’t believe the other parts of his story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • It gives u the right to overturn the car if someone provoke u ?

Nice, ur face provoke me too, let me punch u in ur face

• AP Putra on Nov 08, 2022 at 12:42 pm

the provoke act was Driver yelling those hooligans “don’t touch my car”

• YB KINTE KUNTE on Nov 07, 2022 at 4:29 pm

Thats why..NEVER be stingy when dashcam is concerned.
      The Police can straight away ,charge the blardy rider and his “geng mafia”.
      If dash cam is absent,based on the mob’s testimony,the poor MYVI driver will be another basikal lajak jailbird.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
    • These aggressive-can-do-nothing-wrong motorcyclist mentality is getting out of hand. We tolerated their behavior too much, now they think they own the road.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
  • What’s new about riders running red lights ? If you drive around Klang Valley, there’s no red lights for those riders, jalan bapa dia.

Kesian the Myvi driver, so many stupid riders comes from everywhere, knowing nothing and start to be gangster.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 3
    • Kapchai on Nov 07, 2022 at 2:23 pm

Can see how Gangster are so Noob.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • YB KINTE KUNTE on Nov 07, 2022 at 4:25 pm

70% of delivery food riders r color blind when they approach a traffic light.
      They will only revert to normal vision when abang polis is right in front.
      Time to send those riders who speed past red lights,to JAIL…no ‘REBATABLE”saman allowed.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
  • Unfortunately the car damage is not covered by insurance unless you take the extra coverage on damage due to riot. This is similar to your floor coverage.

• Markoh on Nov 07, 2022 at 6:02 pm

You can just sue whoever the police caught right? Property damage

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 07, 2022 at 6:24 pm

After these idiots are charged in criminal court and found guilty, initiate a civil suit and whack them for damage and emotional trauma damages.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Dong Gor on Nov 07, 2022 at 2:09 pm

Heavy punishment for the mob.. Need to send a clear message out so thia kinda thing don’t repeat in future. Don’t just fine 500 and close case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • dodgeviper88 on Nov 07, 2022 at 2:13 pm

Probably from the same group of lajak gang now upgrade to rempit status

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Just you watch the judge will somehow sentence the Myvi driver for reckless driving instead of biker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Neutralgrounds on Nov 07, 2022 at 6:40 pm

I don’t think so because there’s dashcam video evidence and the rider clearly broke the rule… The car driver can also lodge civil suit against the mob for damages sustained to the car…

• It’s a good thing the driver have dashcam. I should order a dashcam as soon as possible.

• seancorr on Nov 07, 2022 at 2:42 pm

Too bad the fella only suffered a broken leg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Not too bad on Nov 07, 2022 at 7:48 pm

But the important thing is the myvi driver can always replace his car. Food rider can’t replace his leg. Hahaha

• Alvin Chong Yin Fai on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:08 am

Do not laugh at broken leg.

• Not too bad on Nov 09, 2022 at 9:39 am

What you want me to do, cry for him? lol
          Play stupid games win stupid prizes

• Right? on Nov 07, 2022 at 10:24 pm

Sepatutnya m*mpos terus lagi baik. X psl2 myvi tu kena terbalik.

• Between food delivery rider and any other vehicle , who do you think is more likely to be in the wrong?

• mirza on Nov 07, 2022 at 2:49 pm

Budak melayu jenis tak berpendidikan tinggi, rata-rata memang macam ni.. herd menatality. bertindak ganas dan berperilaku macam binatang. Tak semua tapi majoriti memang macam ni. Melayu yang tak mengamalkan islam. Very third world.. what an embarrassment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 11
    • denisovan on Nov 07, 2022 at 8:25 pm

memang majoriti > 99% macam ni, macam kes lajak di Johor

• mirza moron on Nov 07, 2022 at 9:16 pm

Dah la racist, BODO pulak tu! Check the fact first!!
      That not all are malay. Stupidity gaban level..

• Up to you... on Nov 07, 2022 at 10:27 pm

Yup. Probably this is the time for us (the minority) to urus tadbir this beloved country. We’ll be delighted to make this useless as force labour for developing our country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • yet the police did nothing and just stood there. they could have done more like arresting them on the spot. police got guns you know and guns are a great force equalizer.

Where’s the trigger happy police when you need them, they will be very useful in this era of uncontrolled Mat Rempits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Minority class people. on Nov 07, 2022 at 9:44 pm

Biasa lah orang kita. This is where the genuine victims become unjustly abused. This is what these people behave as though the law is in their side.

• Dredd on Nov 08, 2022 at 2:26 am

You think PDRM are like sheriffs in the Wild West so easily waving guns or shooting in the air like some Hollywood movies? DREDD DISAGREES.

In real life, there are SOPs for police to follow before they whip the gun out mainly for self defence and if they identified the suspect is also armed. This on top that if any round is discharged, even accidentally, the officer will have thick report to file and IT will stick on his record.

THIS IS NOT REEL LIFE, THIS IS REAL LIFE.

• Hantu Raya on Nov 08, 2022 at 9:26 am

I feel you bruh. But the authorities gotta understand the people are getting bored of these mat rempits. If they can’t do anything about it, then the people will. And it will be ugly.

• phudda singh bhall on Nov 07, 2022 at 3:04 pm

One sentence “EDUCATION REALLY MATTERS”this attitude this country pple way lagging behind of civilized and mature nation .BUT when book japan and korea tickets once back give examples of how well behaved of that country people over cup of kopi oo or teh tarik
    moral of the story never ever develop

• stupid rider! stupid mobs!

they really gave bad name & image to others proper rider

• johnas on Nov 07, 2022 at 3:12 pm

darn frickin’ mob mentality. Then again, this is how Malaya work.

• Clowns.

• Kimchi on Nov 07, 2022 at 3:35 pm

When you mind your own business, you will never get caught up in all this nonsense

• People no matter rider or driver should be charged 2000.-Rm when running a red light. This stupidity is only common in Malaysia. Sorry, no sympathy with the motorbike guy. I see this every day here on the road and HATE it.

• Bob Mal on Nov 07, 2022 at 4:08 pm

Well according to our Basikal Lajak case after the infamous re-appeal it is the Myvi fault for unable to avoid them and automatically blamed for driving dangerously even if they aren’t supposed to be there in the first place. Malaysia Power rules.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Gerald T on Nov 07, 2022 at 4:49 pm

All deliver riders should be made to install dashcams for their bikes as well before they can become delivery riders

• Samseng jalan raya terlalu ramai di Malaysia. Tangkap mereka, denda tinggi², penjarakan dan sebat punggung mereka yg mungkin tak pernah disebat ibubapa mereka dulu…

• Right? on Nov 07, 2022 at 10:29 pm

Nanti ade mak bpk yg bangang abadi backup cakap :

“Saya sebagai mak pak dia pun x penah sentuh anak saya…”

• Hantu Raya on Nov 07, 2022 at 5:14 pm

Dasar otak hulu. Kecik2 tak nak mampos, bila dah besar nyusahkan masyarakat.

• Riders ni tmbah belagak kuat klu rmai..apa2 hal mmg cari hal tp hrp ramai kwn tlg la..klu sndri mn berani dorg tu

• Laksataksedap on Nov 07, 2022 at 5:41 pm

Johorian johorian, maju la mentaliti anda alahai.
    Gangster gangster miskin

• Mohon terasa on Nov 07, 2022 at 10:33 pm

Biasa lah, dgn melayu je tunjuk kuat, dpn kaum lain sujud terus der. Tu blom sembang kari sarung2 baju bagai tunjuk kuat. Konon nk tegakkan dakyah islamiah, tapi mostly amar mungkar, nahi makhruf.

• Teti Wonders on Nov 07, 2022 at 7:13 pm

This eyewitness lied about who ran the red light. So, don’t believe other parts of his story.

• Kelvin on Nov 07, 2022 at 8:42 pm

Since that P.Myvi worth rm18k, would the 9 guys arrested willing to compensate rm2k each to the Myvi owner.??

• Rule Your Own on Nov 07, 2022 at 9:03 pm

Rider Samseng Jalanan !!! ada mana2 pihak ambil tindakan cara dia org ride on road so dangerous…!
    will never order food from riders i drive myself or eat toast better !

• Did police catchvl the lier Akmal? Should out him in jail too. If without video clip as proof, the driver in great trouble

• Ahmad on Nov 07, 2022 at 10:03 pm

in malaysia no convenience make food delivery.alway make problem at road

• These are pirates commonly uncivilised you name it…these moabs are no different from criminal…

• Food delivery companies should allow road user to capture evidence those rider who hit the red light or perform dangerous riding. Let them get penalise or ban from delivery rider from all companies.

• Geoffrey Connolly on Nov 08, 2022 at 12:08 am

bukti dah terang terang kat dlam dash cam kereta myvi tu, nak cakap myvi salah umpama menegakkan benang yang basah. Maybe ade sebab lain kenape “orang orang” tu serang Myvi tu, maybe sebab langgar lari and tak ambil tanggungjawab atas accident tu. Ape ape pun kite tak bole dengar sebelah pihak kite cube dengar dua belah pihak, but dengan dash cam kereta Myvi tu tak bole nak di nafikan yang moto tu terang terang langgar lampu and kalau betul, mamat myvi tu provoke “orang orang” tu, no wonder la “orang orang” tu ngamuk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Paul Tan on Nov 08, 2022 at 5:43 am

Dia tak lari.

https://twitter.com/fikeriy/status/1588959398428565504?s=46&t=NpPDF3iylFSWWUO43AcxCQ

• God please help this guy on Nov 08, 2022 at 8:52 am

Bengang Bodoh, u 1 of the mob ke ? Suka berbohong ? Suka hati je comment macam Judge ke ? Tengok betul betul bodoh

• Anonymous on Nov 08, 2022 at 10:09 am

Driver tu siap call ambulance lg, lari apanya?

• newme on Nov 08, 2022 at 12:05 pm

“Maybe ade sebab lain kenape “orang orang” tu serang Myvi tu,..”

Tak nak mengaku salah. Masih nak defend.

• statement bodo same same macam gang mob tu.

• Sparcov on Nov 08, 2022 at 10:25 am

The rules in Malaysia is a problem.

Car and motorcycle caught in accident is car wrong or motorcycle wrong? How to claim insurance against the motorcycle without losing the car driver NCD?

If this is not being cleared off, why allowed motorcycle to ride on the road? especially on HIGHWAYs ???

• I’m also mat motor , sometimes mat rempit if the road is clear though , but doesn’t go on red light because surely you will be confront with fast vehicle plus i hate any driver who drive recklessly , change lane suddenly & no signal fucking hate that kind of driver . i also hate motorcycle driver who go on red , i know you want fast because delivery but don’t put your life to waste like that lah bro fuck it if the customers report u if u took to long to deliver but remember that we live once not twice sincerely from me (mat motor also mat rempit who are think about safety first)✌

• Stupid Mat Rempit go die please on Nov 08, 2022 at 7:42 pm

Maybe u shut the fck up, mat rempit is mat rempit, don talk till u r legal

• Kai Lai on Nov 08, 2022 at 10:09 pm

That was very obvious. Justice must be served. The Food Panda driver goes under the license for “I can’t be late, the food will get cold”. The delivery would take only about 10 minutes, and now he got ran over. In the ICU for perhaps 10 months.
    So tell me which is worth it; follow the trafic light or get ran over.