LRT Kelana Jaya Line repair works pending arrival of foreign experts, buses ready to serve as alternative

Rapid KL held a press conference earlier today to address some questions from the media on the matter of 16 stations on the LRT Kelana Jaya Line to be shut down for a week starting today.

As we previously reported, the problem that the KJ line is currently facing is related to the Automatic Train Control (ATC) system, which is said to be supplied by Thales.

In the press conference it was mentioned that every time Rapid KL tried to repair it on their own based on remote feedback and SOP provided by Thales, the repair only lasts a day and the problem reoccurs.

So currently the technical team is awaiting the arrival of 2 experts from Thales who are currently en route. They are expected to arrive in Malaysia tomorrow.

If the technical team is able to complete the repair work and testing earlier, it is hoped that the line can be reopened sooner than the currently announced 7 day period. At the moment, 7 days is the time period announced with buffers included so that it does not have be extended later.

In the meanwhile, Rapid has set up 5 bus routes to provide an alternate mode of transport along the route where the stations have been closed. You can refer to the 5 bus routes in the infographic above.

According to Rapid KL, a total of 69 buses are currently serving these routes, with a potential to increase to up to 85 buses.

Rapid KL also said it is looking to compensate Unlimited Travel Pass holders but more details on how the compensation will be done will be shared later.

You can watch the recorded live press conference on Rapid KL’s Facebook page below.

???? Sidang media khas oleh Ketua Pegawai Eksekutif Kumpulan Prasarana En Mohd Azharuddin Mat Sah.

Posted by Rapid KL on Tuesday, 8 November 2022

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Lets See on Nov 09, 2022 at 12:18 pm

Kudos to Rapid for keeping us updated on this issue and being transparent with your actions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
    • Resurgent Rafizi n & Co on Nov 09, 2022 at 3:07 pm

Transparent..u kidding me?
      They have been sweeping stuff under the carpet for donkey moons,until the shit explodes.
      They wait until..beh tahan liow..then only resorted to being “transparent.”
      High time we have regime change in garmen and GLCs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
      • LRT User on Nov 10, 2022 at 2:11 pm

Enough with your ‘regime change’! It is because of regime changed that LRT have deteriorated to this situation today! If we had not changed, it would not be this bad.

• man101 on Nov 09, 2022 at 5:49 pm

Are you high on something? Why aren’t all these issues detected during their routine maintenance checks? Why wait till its broken? I call this sheer incompetence..you don’t see this in Japan do you? Any CEO would have tendered their resignation as this is a sign of failure. Imagine if you dont have water no electricity for 7 freakin days!!!!!

• Lets See on Nov 11, 2022 at 11:59 pm

Use brain a bit. You can do routine maintenance checks on hardware but this is a software issue. I say again SOFTWARE ISSUE! And if I had no water it is because Selangor Gahmen could not ensure their rivers are not polluted that shutdown the treatment plant. That is a HARDWARE PROBLEM!

This year alone there was 10 times Selangor had water outages, did you peeps demand for PH to leave or their MB to step down? Yeah right stupid.

• awaKL on Nov 09, 2022 at 12:38 pm

OMG Putra LRT line was open back 24 years ago in 1998 – don’t tell us you do not even know how to repair after all this while relying on foreigners. Brilliant transportation system management we had be prepared for future incidents of such.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • PKNanas on Nov 09, 2022 at 1:21 pm

Current CEO needs to step down. Failure to the country. Shutting down main transport line in the main city is no joke. Not long ago lrt train crashing into each other and now this. Malu apa bossku

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Tin Kosong Tian Chua on Nov 09, 2022 at 3:12 pm

Malu ? Far from it,for bossku type people.
      In Japan,the CEO is already stepping down .
      In Bolehland,deadwood r never sacked.Some r even promoted.

• Badrul Hisham on Nov 09, 2022 at 4:26 pm

Normal lah. A lot of the people are probably sleeping on the job. But despite that, they sometimes even get promoted. only in Malaysia

• Lolwhut? on Nov 10, 2022 at 8:50 am

Never heard of that. When did the JR Rail CEO step down in the last rail accident?

• Drypers Wee on Nov 09, 2022 at 5:08 pm

Resign bukan budaya kita.

• This is how unqualified Malaysian engineers are. Full stop. Imagine you sitting in that train managed and maintained by the these people. If you don’t have car, you better walk, safer. Even if you walk and drive, make sure you are far away from the LRT line, something might drop on your head like few previous cases. This is what happened when your entire governance policy is wrong in every single aspects, A-Z for decades.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • Unqualified? You actually know what an ATC is? You know that we are talking about human lives here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • Bob Mal on Nov 09, 2022 at 4:47 pm

Nah most probably the head also don’t know what is it and just tell us mumbo jumbo it is in the process of being obsolete just like the LCS case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • LRT User on Nov 10, 2022 at 2:08 pm

What the hell does LCS has to do with trains and automotive? Come on why bring it here, we don’t need that PH propaganda spiel vomited over and over in the other threads. Just stick to the topic.

• Sohai on Nov 09, 2022 at 2:03 pm

Wee Wee is so relief that the parliment is dissolved now…

• Kimchi on Nov 09, 2022 at 2:12 pm

We need local experts!

• Katheryne Wong on Nov 09, 2022 at 2:13 pm

Rapid KL need to design & construct their own trains, or else things like this will surely happen again.

• Where is the BLACKBOX on Nov 09, 2022 at 2:15 pm

Do postmortem on the error codes

Only Malaysia use thanes systems?

• kckfen on Nov 09, 2022 at 2:20 pm

Just dont know what to say 24 years, yet we still have to depend on foreign expert

• Phudda singh lathoo on Nov 09, 2022 at 2:53 pm

Where is BACK UP PLAN ???????????and CEO should kick out with immediate effect and transport minister as well too….

• Lets See on Nov 12, 2022 at 12:01 am

https://paultan.org/2022/11/10/rapid-kl-deploys-20-extra-buses-from-smart-selangor-mara-liner-over-100-buses-to-ease-lrt-situation/
      Here is the backup plan, and your welcome.

• every dark cloud has a silver lining… well, almost

• @Snakebabu on Nov 09, 2022 at 3:20 pm

Now “WEE” can build trams everywhere

• stranger on Nov 09, 2022 at 3:40 pm

very easy la..CEO & all bossed, PM & all Menteri no official car & escort..must take public transport, sure we become the most efficient public transport country with 5star facility & best security

• FrankC on Nov 09, 2022 at 8:36 pm

it will be nice to see PM and transport minister taking LRT service to work at least one trip a day for a month.. if the apology is real !

• Ya Mentri on Nov 10, 2022 at 8:51 am

Sure they will… if you can find an LRT line straight to Putrajaya.

• dong gor on Nov 09, 2022 at 3:43 pm

The headline reads : Prasarana says LRT breakdown a manufacturing issue.
    The LRT has been operational for 25 yrs, and can still blame on mfg. i salute this guy who should really share the same fate as the kissing train fella.
    even aunty also know this is maintenance issue…i can guarantee you on the account book the maintenance fee is never smaller than the OEM schedule…but work ..mana ada.

• Lets See on Nov 12, 2022 at 12:05 am

Here are the headlines of this incident:
      [LRT Kelana Jaya Line disruption – trains stuck on platforms earlier, Rapid KL ends service at 11.15 pm]

[LRT Kelana Jaya Line disruption due to Automatic Train Control (ATC) electronics malfunction]

[LRT Kelana Jaya Line – 16 stations closed from November 9-15 2022 to facilitate repair works]

[LRT Kelana Jaya Line repair works pending arrival of foreign experts, buses ready to serve as alternative]

No where in these headlines got the word ‘manufacturing’. Come onlah if you wanna make an accusation use some brains.

• Kenny on Nov 09, 2022 at 4:01 pm

Election around the corners so loss of signal issue and don’t know what caused it. What a laughing stocks. We have electricty blackout and now…………

• Hahahshahahahahahahahahahaha

• Wilson on Nov 09, 2022 at 5:18 pm

This is a laughing stock…
    So many years, we have not developed the skill to support it locally..
    But then again, it’s not that our people is not brilliant,
    Must be some support contract sign with some cartel sub-con that will get a passthru fee when hiring foreigners to support…..

• The line is almost 30 years old. They should know that and should have been building expertise last 30 years. While it is true that RAPIDKl is working hard to rectify the issue, if there is no action take over poor performnace then there will be no improvement in the future.

• Moorthy on Nov 09, 2022 at 11:46 pm

Hey gomen, do you care for rakyat? If yes, I dare you to appoint capable and deserving staff from top to bottom.

• Msmpbcs on Nov 09, 2022 at 11:47 pm

Hey gomen, do you care for rakyat? If yes, I dare you to appoint capable and deserving staff from top to bottom.

• If the Thales guys come in and discover the ATC issues has somehow been disabled or lead directly or indirectly to the “train kissing” accident, will the Prasarana CEO resign? Tajuddin was already fired.
    It is a very serious allegation, but if it is confirmed, someone has to be accountable for injuries sustained.
    In the report of the accident, it was reported that the train was remotely manually driven after experiencing issue

• Noob really fits your name. Where is it said there had been an ‘train kissing’ accident? You can read the incident report here:
      https://paultan.org/2022/11/07/lrt-kelana-jaya-line-disruption-train-stuck-at-abdullah-hukum-earlier-lrt-hours-extended-to-1am/
      https://paultan.org/2022/11/08/lrt-kelana-jaya-line-disruption-due-to-automatic-train-control-atc-electronics-malfunction/

Nowhere can find “eksiden” or “kemalangan”