Fatal crash on PLUS highway from Nilai-Bandar Ainsdale SB, contraflow activated from KM279 NB

A fatal crash has occurred on KM280.1 of the PLUS highway in the southbound direction, resulting in all lanes becoming blocked and traffic has come to a standstill, according to the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM).

The Malaysian Highway Authority added that traffic is now backed up for seven kilometres in both directions, and rain has started at the location.)

Meanwhile, northbound traffic on this stretch of the PLUS highway is congested for a length of five kilometres, and highway users are advised to take Exit 213 to Putra Mahkota.

(UPDATE as of 2:32pm – Clearing works are still being carried out on site, and the right-hand-side lane has been opened to light vehicles. Mandatory exit remains in effect at the Nilai toll plaza, and traffic contra-flow has been activated at KM279.05 to KM281.3 in the northbound direction of the highway.

Dashcam recordings below from Whatsapp forwarded media.

VIDEO: Dashcam of crash (same direction)

VIDEO: Dashcam of crash (opposite direction)

VIDEO: Phone cam of crash (aftermath)

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• looks like the trailer did an emergency sway because of those SAFETY LORRIES blocking the road from video 2. These SAFETY LORRIES are real irritating and always causing jams. Now , fatal accident !!! PLUS think of a better option !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 35
    • Instead of complaining PLUS, did u have a better option to suggest them ?

And also please see how close is the trailer with the trailer in front, did he keep a safety distance ? Please look carefully from the 1st video

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
      • Question on Nov 11, 2022 at 11:26 pm

He suddenly lost control… Distance looks normal, speed also. The lorry for “no visible” reason turned right, no braking, just sudden steering (?)

Did the lorry driver had a sudden loss of neurological function, something like a vascular injury ?

• why other vehicle can drive properly behind the safety but not that bloody lorry?
      obviously, that bloody lorry drove too fast, not focus on the road, dont brake on time and dont use brain! instead of swerved to left, he rather bring death to other by swerving to the right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
    • Those lorries were so far ahead la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Doctor No on Nov 11, 2022 at 11:15 pm

It also looks like the trailer driver couldn’t try an emergency sway because of a stroke…

Since the vaccination campaigns, many people have died from stroke. Even young athelic people suddenly died.

Specific blood test on the driver should be done. A D-dimer test is a blood test that measures D-dimer, which is a protein fragment that your body makes when a blood clot dissolves in your body.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • Too Late tard people ! on Nov 15, 2022 at 5:11 pm

14 dislikes, means, 14 injected people knowing they have been fucked by $cientistes on TV… Mini strokes, repeated flu, and other side-effects without any reason? Meh? Meeeh-mehh lol

• Truckers on Nov 11, 2022 at 11:28 pm

See the video again with your eyes OPEN. There was a green trailer in front of that white truck but it could slow down and stop on time how come?
      It is obvious that white truck was either going too fast or too close to that green trailer in front and he jammed his brakes and swayed when everyone including the green trailer were slowing down.
      PLUS are very careful about traffic disruptions. Those safety vehicles are deployed for a reason.

• Steve on Nov 11, 2022 at 3:40 pm

please beware, expecially who always use Plus highway, it is not safe!!, Govrnment have to do something , not allow lorry more than 1 tonne on highway like what Dubai implemnet!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 33
    • AppleTree on Nov 14, 2022 at 10:00 am

solve problem by removing heavy vehicle on the road? I think you have potential to be our next Transport Minister or Ketua Menteri of Kelantan.

• the trailer driver should have sway to the left into the grass instead to minimize the damage to other innocent motorists. if you’re unable to save your self, at least save others.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
    • The driver is sitting on the right side. Sway to the left would reduce his chance to survive the accident.

• jimmy on Nov 11, 2022 at 4:19 pm

Police should investigate why in front there were 4 ( I believe is the Plus contractor lorries that sometime on duty to perform some kind of check in the middle of roads covering slow and fast lanes). captured by the 2nd video of the driver going south. This is a very dangerous ⚠️ activity maybe without proper signage!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Arteu32 on Nov 11, 2022 at 9:49 pm

Its called a rolling road block

• Yes agreed. Plus lorry perform slow down which cause the accident

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 14, 2022 at 9:26 am

In this case, I dont think you can fault the PLUS contractors. They are performing a rolling roadblock to slow traffic down before shutting down a lane or 2 to do work or clear debris. Obviously other cars have already slowed down.

Question is why the white lorry decided to swerve right instead of going into the emergency lane and ditch. Probably also due to inattention as well as driving too fast and too close to the green lorry ahead.

• Li Peng on Nov 14, 2022 at 10:23 am

Police should check what? Why highways are maintained?

• AaRock on Nov 11, 2022 at 4:38 pm

hey, i keep seeing 2 motorcycles in both direction videos when i replay and slow down. does anyone else see 2 motorcycles??

• Hiroshima Ghost Rider2.0 on Nov 11, 2022 at 7:29 pm

One has become a pancake… Directly under the lorry cabine :-/

• There are two possibilities I can think of.
    1. The trailer not paying attention to the road condition and reacted too late.
    2. There are no warning sign on the safety vehicle on the road.
    For scenario 1, the trailer driver needs to be sentenced to jail.
    For scenario 2, PLUS really need to review their SOP on deploying safety vehicle because this is not the first time it happens.
    Either way, be safe and alert while driving on highway.

• Just learned that the trailer driver have passed away due to this accident. May he rest in peace.

• Truckers on Nov 11, 2022 at 11:32 pm

Scenario 1 is more likely. You can see in the 1st vid the green trailer just in front of that white truck has slowed down and was not involved in the accident. In the 2nd vid can see the same green trailer kept his distance from the car in front. This is purely driver reckless.

• RiderX on Nov 12, 2022 at 12:04 pm

There are 3 possibilities I can think of.
      1. The trailer not paying attention to the road condition and reacted too late.
      2. There are no warning sign on the safety vehicle on the road.
      3. The trailer driver had a sudden health issue and lost his own body control (stroke)

Just look around, since 2021 more and more people have post-injections side effects, especially heart failures.

Nothing to worry indeed, people trust $cience, they believe in TV… Just be careful when people suddenly die on the road, it is just normal.

• type 1 on Nov 11, 2022 at 4:44 pm

bawak laju lagi lori2 ni.. cucuk kemain rapat..

• Corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • WHO is WHO? on Nov 11, 2022 at 9:20 pm

Covid

• Lolwhut? on Nov 12, 2022 at 4:26 pm

How on earth did you relate corruption to this unfortunate accident?

• Pfizer's Land on Nov 15, 2022 at 5:20 pm

If someone get paid under the table to buy dangerous “experimental vaccines” and then, vaxxed people get stroke because of their lies, don’t you see the OBVIOUS LINK?

Pfizers and all those big corporates have billions of dollars in reserve to pay “penalties” where ever their scam is too visible.

Foreign corruption and penalties cost are part of their budjet. They own the international laws and they have the scientifique publications in their pocket.

Highest level of corruprion EVER! Health department totally rotten by them… They don’t even hide their collusions.

• the price we have to pay for other people’s mistakes… funny that 1000s die on the road each year and we’re not outraged? i guess accidents like this is ‘part of life’ already and we just ‘have’ to accept it

• Cargotrain on Nov 11, 2022 at 7:33 pm

Really this is not a quick fix but we really need to expand the usage of train haul for our heavy loads to reduce the number of these heavy trailers on the ever increasing number of vehicles by the year.

• Vickneswaran on Nov 11, 2022 at 11:15 pm

Fatigue, following distance, speed, hand phone while behind the wheel, drive to condition.
      Many reasons.
      My guess, fatigue as the speed and following distance is not appropriate.
      Too bad and cant go back

• OrangBodo on Nov 11, 2022 at 9:05 pm

They usually do this to safely clear debris on the road.

You people usually complaint alot when your beloved cars hits something on the highway right. So tell us how u can remove the debris safely? Since you sounds so smart.

• Highways maybe can have that flexi anti accident netting/equipment. Some countries implement that. Requesting PLUS to seriously look into esp when the number of ppl travelling between KL-Sban has increased recently.

• bieight8 on Nov 11, 2022 at 9:48 pm

No surprise that involved a lorry

• I believe it is time that we have the lorry drivers to be properly trained and monitored periodically. Perhaps they can also form a union to take care of their affairs including training and health checks.
    In the long term this perhaps can improve their working conditions and may be the pay package as well.

• Grace on Nov 11, 2022 at 10:30 pm

I’m really sympathize for everyone.. I just can’t imagine the pain and suffering for the driver and his fmly.. May God comfort everyone

• Victims of ignorance on Nov 11, 2022 at 11:05 pm

Does the lorry driver had a “sudden stroke”?

Maybe too much Spike protein generated by his genetically modified body resulting in blood clots and finally heart failure (?)

Scientific studies have been published which have found the SARS-CoV-2 spike protein, used in the Covid-19 vaccines causes major vascular damage inducing strokes, heart attacks, migraines, and blood clots among dozens of other dangerous adverse reactions that have already killed a minimum of over 1100 people in the UK and over 10,500 people across EU countries alone.

• These so call safety barriers , proven cannot keep vehicles in their lane.A failure.

• Brian on Nov 12, 2022 at 10:28 am

It works only for cars. Nothing much can stop a hurtling 80 ton truck.

• Aduyai…..if its not designed to stop a prime mover then it wont stop a prime mover. Almost all type of similar barriers are not design to be impacted head on. Its designed for almost parrallel impact. As u mentioned ‘their lane’, the prime mover is almost bertically crossing all 3 lanes.

If a biker hits the barrier and died then u blame the barrier too?

• Hiroshima Ghost Rider2.0 on Nov 13, 2022 at 11:16 am

But they are excellent motorcyclist’s head cutters.

• Plus must really take action and aware the long hauls safety to others.. keep the speed limit and regular spot check is required..

• Very likely that the truck driver dozed off and panic on seeing the truck in front. Something got to be done. I once got hit by a truck whose retreaded tyre exploded and the retread slumped into my car. On another occasion, I hit an angle bar on the road and got my new tyre cut beyond repair.

• That divider fence didn’t do its job. It should have stopped the lorry from entering the other side of the road.