RFID down at PLUS tolls, use TnG/SmartTAG today

PLUS announced on its social media channels today that it is experiencing issues with the RFID payment system at various toll plazas on the PLUS highway.

Works to fix the issue are already underway but if you have yet to enter a PLUS highway using the RFID payment method it might be a good idea to use a backup Touch n Go/SmartTAG instead so you don’t get stuck when trying to exit the highway.

If you have already entered the highway using RFID, you must exit using RFID to avoid getting a penalty charge. PLUS says it has stationed personnel at affected RFID lanes to help motorists out.

A quick check on social media reveals highway users experiencing issues as early as before 7pm at various toll plazas such as Juru, Labu, Duta and Sungai Buloh.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Katheryne Wong on Dec 15, 2022 at 11:05 pm

If any problem arise, should be free tol for that time being. Why must charge tol when error is at their fault? Can user claim for their time lost?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
    • Rafizi sembang kencang on Dec 16, 2022 at 6:51 am

Nobody wants to lose even if it’s their own fault

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • enrique on Dec 16, 2022 at 7:13 am

cause its money to the cronies, you pay for jam before toll and enjoy jam after toll

• Don’t use highways then, simple. Less congestion for us users. Thank you for keeping off the highways. Again, please stop using the highways.

• Reprogram to not allow late lane changers to go thru, only 1 day inconvenience I can dig that.
      https://paultan.org/2022/12/14/volvo-switches-lanes-abruptly-near-toll-booth-nearly-causes-collision-get-into-your-chosen-lane-earlier/

• Choong Khim Fen on Dec 16, 2022 at 9:00 am

Has the problem solved. I am traveling tomorrow

• Gabriel on Dec 16, 2022 at 9:53 am

Please don’t complain la. This is BN’s project. Since they and us are now brothers, we need to accept it.
    Long live Pakatan.
    If you complain so much, go vote Perikatan la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • Invert on Dec 16, 2022 at 2:48 pm

Later, if PN, will complaining too much. Enough is enough for PN.

• newme on Dec 16, 2022 at 10:43 am

Use RFID need backup method.
    Use TnG don’t need backup method.

You decide.

• Think-again on Dec 16, 2022 at 10:57 am

This was reported interruption. What about those not reported!! I’m daily user between N9 and Selangor. Can conclude Rfid performance is much much worse than a smart tag. And no sign of improvement over months of usage. Even if Rfid functioning normal, the first pass successful rate is bad, especially in contrast to the authority keep saying Rfid will be the future. Think again.

• It should be free if myrid having problems to open the gate. Just open the gate and let the cars pass. Why should the users be punished as it is not their fault

• kih kih kih… sian. 50 year old tech and still can’t get it right

• Mathi on Dec 16, 2022 at 11:28 am

Any update on why RFID cost RM35? No update till now.

• Ad007 on Dec 16, 2022 at 12:25 pm

This is what happen if the project is study half-baked. Reliability unknown and no back-up. SmarTAG better, still got backup from normal Touch’N’Go. Not to mention Reverse- Forward useless activity in RFID. Review back the RFID system… don’t use Rakyat as guinue pig…at least ada backup utk bagi free la !!!

• Mot Anthony Loke please make sure Plus and Touch and go be more responsible and considerate to the tax payers. They must be held accountable and punished for any inconveniences to the TAX PAYERS