Rapid Rail says escalator, lighting and leak repair work is ongoing at MRT, LRT and Monorail stations

Following the LRT spot check carried out by transport minister Anthony Loke earlier this month, Rapid Rail – the operator of the LRT, MRT and Monorail in the Klang Valley – has provided an update on the status of repair and rectification work currently being carried out at various stations.

In a statement published earlier today, the rail operator said that work on repairing escalators at stations is ongoing, with the replacement of parts being carried out in stages and expected to be fully completed next February. It said that as of December 15, the process of replacing 20 handrail units and three stepchain units at 10 MRT stations had been completed, and the escalators at these stations were back in operation.

The company added that as a long-term measure, it has implemented a condition-based maintenance (CBM) programme, where the process of replacing components that are judged to be damaged or frequently problematic will continue to be carried out without waiting for the end of the service life. It added that it has made sufficient advance bookings of parts to support the CBM programme.

Rapid Rail says escalator, lighting and leak repair work is ongoing at MRT, LRT and Monorail stations

Additionally, the company was also in the midst of addressing the problem of leaks at 93 locations at various stations, with repairs at 21 locations at LRT and monorail stations having being completed. Repairs on the rest of the leaks will be carried out in stages and is expected to be fully completed by June next year.

Meanwhile, for the renovation work at MRT stations, discussions with asset owner MRT Corporation have been carried out. Rapid Rail announced that the repair process at 22 leak locations has been completed, and monitoring of the effectiveness of the repair work is presently being carried out. The company added that there were locations which would require more time to resolve because the repairs would involve modifications to the roof structure.

As for lighting issues, the company said that repair work on the wiring system and the replacement of problematic bulbs at stations has almost been completed. “We have carried out regular inspection and maintenance programmes, and currently the number of non-functioning lights is below 1%,” the company said in its statement, adding that the the small percentage of lights that were still not working were new faults, and these would be replaced immediately.

Finally, with regards to elevator services at MRT and LRT stations, Rapid Rail said that the operational readiness of its lifts at these facilities was currently at 99%. It added that maintenance activities are always being carried out periodically to ensure that the elevators are in good, working condition.

“Regarding the issue of elevators in monorail stations, the original design of monorail stations did not have elevator facilities. Realising the needs of users, especially the elderly and the disabled, Prasarana has taken the initiative to add 18 units of lifts and 39 units of “wheelchair platform lift” for the comfort of users,” the statement said.

The company said that the lift upgrading work at monorail stations require structural improvements and safety issues that need to be addressed. It said that the work on the upgrades would start in the first quarter of next year and take 18 months to complete.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Undi PH dapat Zahid on Dec 23, 2022 at 3:46 pm

Good job loke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 18
    • LOL! This is just regular servicing and maintenance. No need for Loke fanboys to get a hardon as they usually do nowadays when they see his photo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 44
    • Undi PH dapat Zahid tanpa Hisham on Dec 23, 2022 at 6:54 pm

If the backdoor and sidedoor garmens continue for another 10 years,can u imagine the state of utter disrepairs?
      Thats why YDPA advocated Unity garmen…rakyat can see who can perform or merely tumpang keta je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 24, 2022 at 9:13 am

So u saying this new backdoor gomen must be kicked out ASAP? 100% rakyat fully agreed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
        • Invert on Dec 24, 2022 at 5:22 pm

This is front door government and you said PN is backdoor government…..Ahhh…new backdoor government must be kicked out ASAP is mainly from PN not PH.

• Invert on Dec 24, 2022 at 5:41 pm

We have anti hopping law…did you read Malaysia politics…you don’t really bother at all….

So you can cry whatever you want now. And there you have that PN fanboys and PN government are now deserved since PN government and PN fanboys have being doing to us and always laughing for the 17 months rule since Sheraton Move till Muhyiddin resigned in 2021

• Abcde on Dec 24, 2022 at 9:56 pm

No need to keep hiding your face but bring a soccer team of publicity la. It is better you do a non cowardy press conference at the station on a daily basis and commit to not leave until the problems are fixed, each day got problem dont blame people throw eggs at you.

Stop hiding pls

• finally, good job! for how many years at least one escalator is not working in each MRT station..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • finallySomeoneIsWorking! on Dec 23, 2022 at 3:50 pm

Looking forward to see more ministers is working! Kudos to Loke!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • davenport on Dec 23, 2022 at 4:02 pm

Gotta wonder, where was Wee all this while?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • Wee was behind then pulling the strings so this activity you see here could be done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • AhLokeSook n Co on Dec 23, 2022 at 6:58 pm

Sir,u dont know meh? Wee Wee is busy with Guinness Book of World Records selling fancy number plates,while AhLokekor is busy going to the grounds firsthand to see all the shit floating around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • Rakyat Malaysia on Dec 24, 2022 at 9:14 am

U gotten konfuis between hardworking Wee and Fancy Plate Seller No1 Loke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • seancorr on Dec 23, 2022 at 4:03 pm

Wow takes a new govt to push these clowns to fix their own stuff which the public are paying to use it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • Wow it takes a clown to not understand regular servicing and maintenance! Should we congratulate you for bringing your car in every regular service?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
      • stasta on Dec 27, 2022 at 9:36 pm

so why the previous government cannot handle simple routine maintenance? need to wait until 2022 new minister then only they start to do work?

• Everything in new government is based on merit now. no more fren fren and no more contracts freely given

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • Casual reader on Dec 24, 2022 at 10:06 am

“Hopefully, we don’t enter a situation where anything can be done as long as the end justifies the means,”
        “After coming into power, (he) only chooses principles which suit himself, spreads propaganda, restricts social media, sues his critics, practises tyranny, and becomes an autocracy.
        “May democracy, which means ‘a government of the people, by the people for the people’, does not turn into ‘a government of the PM, by the PM for the PM’.”

• frequent user on Dec 23, 2022 at 7:21 pm

YB please do spotcheck on KTM. very poor services, slow and not up to par

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • Maverick Merpati with a glimmer of hope on Dec 23, 2022 at 8:32 pm

KTM stands for Kita Tidak Malu..for 5 decades,the rotten culture never change.
      When u complain,they say,”bang,we r the worst gomen sector,biasa lah ,biar je..relax”.
      If AhLokeKor can bring changes,well it’s a miracle.

• why now???? after so many years? dah kene warning letter? aiyoooo. pathetic

• Hmmmm on Dec 25, 2022 at 12:31 pm

Its very sad when it took a minister ‘power’ in order to get simple maintenance or even a light bulb to be change.
    In most manufacturing field we work hard to keep everything in order and we felt very ashamed if top management tell us how to do our job. We took pride in what we do and set aside differences to get the job done.

• Guys be careful with your comments. Keyboard warriors from the extremist clan have penetrated every forum including Paultan. Merry Christmas all!