Electric cars aren’t zero emissions when electricity is generated by coal power plants, but so what?

It was bright and sunny this morning, with the kind of clear blue sky with minimal overcast that begged for you to go out and take a stroll to warm your body up in preparation to face Christmas weekend. So that’s exactly what I did.

Two hours and close to 8km later, I felt refreshed, yet a little sick at the same time. My entire upper airway felt like it was covered in a layer of mucous. The blue sky made the day look like it was fresh and clean, but in reality the air felt a little thick, like it was a little powdery to be honest.

The source – internal combustion engine vehicle pollution, it’s everywhere. Even as I sit here writing this story on the first floor of a commercial centre while having a cup of coffee, the air is horrible thanks to the high volume of cars and motorcycles passing by.

Admittedly I put myself into this situation. After all, walking for 2 hours outside and sitting outside at a coffee joint are entirely optional scenarios. Activities that are “non-essential”, a popular phrase from not too long ago in the history of Malaysia.

But this is what many people have to go through everyday. Think of the kids that wait for their transport at school. Have you seen the massive traffic jam of cars with their engine turned on and idling? Or people who work in little kiosks next to a parking area. Or the stalls at highway rest stops. Or the security guards in a parking lot. Or the traffic police trying to ease the morning congestion.

In 2013, a 9 year old girl died from a fatal asthma attack in Britain. She lived near a major road in southeast London. A coroner ruled that air pollution was the official cause of death, because she had been exposed to levels of nitrogen dioxide and particulate matter in excess of WHO guidelines.

The main source of her exposure was traffic emissions. Her mother said that if she had been told air pollution was contributing to her daughter’s ill health, she would have moved. In the three years leading up to her death, she had gone in and out of the hospital nearly 30 times.

An estimated 4.2 million deaths per year are caused by air pollution. A major source of air pollution that’s breathed in by humans are not caused by coal-fired electricity plants, but traffic pollution. And children are the most vulnerable due to their developing lungs, yet they breathe in an incredible amount of diesel particulate pollution while they wait for their transport, and while they sit in school buses or vans that aren’t properly sealed from traffic pollution. That’s at least 2 hours of exposure every school day, minimum.

It even affects humans before they are born. According to a WHO article, when pregnant women are exposed to polluted air, premature births are more likely. It also affects neurodevelopment, cognitive ability, and increases likelihood of childhood cancer and cardiovascular disease.

Research by scientists at the University of Aberdeen UK have found that unborn babies have air pollution particles in their developing lungs and other vital organs as early as the first trimester. Yes, air pollution has screwed up your baby’s lungs even before your baby has taken a first breath of air.

Ten paragraphs later, I think it’s about time I get to what I am trying to say. Yes, in a country where coal-fired power plants are used to generate electricity, electric cars are not truly zero emissions.

However, there are clear benefits to having coal burned for electricity away from where humans live, in a power plant that’s a lot more efficient with cleaner emissions output than the internal combustion engine that’s being started every morning and left to idle in the porch to “warm up”, allowing its emissions to seep into every house on the road where it is parked.

Overall zero carbon emissions is the end goal, a perfect solution, and will be good for the environment, but there are immediate health benefits to removing the source of all kinds of emissions (carbon, nitrogen oxide, soot particulates, etc) from where people live, where our children live, play, cycle.

There is this thing called the nirvana fallacy where we tend to compare actual things to unrealistic, idealised alternatives, or the tendency to assume there must be a perfect solution to a problem, choosing to reject a realistic achievable possibility in favour of waiting for an unrealistic solution that could be better because some part of the problem that needs to be solved would still exist after it were implemented. It’s like rejecting the use of seat belts because some people would still die in car crashes.

Our electricity generation mix will get cleaner, and so will electric car technology. Both electric cars and electricity will get less environmentally damaging to produce over the next decade.

According to a study by TNB, electric cars are already 23% cleaner in terms of carbon emissions (I repeat, this is just carbon) compared to ICE cars, and as according to TNB’s own plan to reduce reliance on coal power over the next few decades, it will improve to 32% by 2040 and it will only get better thereafter. The target is to be coal-free by 2050.

So yes, while on paper you see this figure of being only 23% cleaner, I guarantee if all the cars that line up outside the school to pick up your kids are electric cars instead, it will be 100% healthier for them and their lungs will thank you for it.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Justice on Dec 24, 2022 at 1:39 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 200 Thumb down 318
    • Tz1234 on Dec 24, 2022 at 3:45 pm

It’s not a joke. But it’s just expensive for our ordinary Malaysian, but a toy for the rich.
      It’s a progressive product of modern science and technology. It’s the future.
      Think about the cost of an EV is around a myvi, then it will become a main stream of vehicles that you will see here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 12
      • “progressive product of modern science and technology”?

The first successful electric car in the US made its debut around 1890 thanks to William Morrison, a chemist who lived in Des Moines.
        In the UK milk delivery vans were electric until the late 1970s, then they were replaced by diesel vans.
        And Penang had electric busses from 1924 to 1961 …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
        • Sohai on Dec 24, 2022 at 11:24 pm

Dont be fool by mask man … bcoz he dont have the Hydrogen FuelCell technology … sohai betoi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • Sohai on Dec 25, 2022 at 5:17 pm

The typical traffic jam is 2hrs … Pls save the towing car contact number when u run out of battery… also any official number the battery can stand how many hours of Air-cond?

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Dec 25, 2022 at 7:16 pm

Power (coal) plant can improve emissions quality standards

• YB KINTE KUNTE on Dec 24, 2022 at 10:56 pm

EVs means more fossil fuels burnt up to generate electricity.No nation is solely reliant on nuke power.
        Get this fact straight:Industries r the main source of universal pollution.Not ICE vehicles.
        EVs r marketed as “green” tech,while Elon Musk becomes a trillionaire as child labour is used to extract raw materials in Congo for his electric battery.He is the world’s richest hypocrite.
        Dont think EVs r cool.TNB has to generate more power by burning more coal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 15
        • EV is the Future on Dec 25, 2022 at 4:50 am

And you conveniently forgot that solar power is getting cheaper and cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
          • seancorr on Dec 25, 2022 at 2:12 pm

It’s still expensive. Takes years to get back your ROI and do tell me how much power can you recoup during monsoon season at the moment.

• EV is the past on Dec 25, 2022 at 8:35 pm

Yes, solar panels are getting cheaper and cheaper because they are made with forced labour:

BBC,14 May 2021: “China uses Uyghur forced labour to make solar panels, says report”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
          • Has you ever look at a solar panel or solar equipment manufacturing factory? The amount of hazardous fume, liquid they release everyday..just be because the end product is clean but you got to look at the manufacturing stage, how these contribute to the destruction of someone else life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • Anonymous on Dec 25, 2022 at 1:09 pm

We won’t be using coal or fossil fuel forever. And steps have already been taken. A hydrogen capable 2x 720 MW gas turbine power system is already up and running in Pasir Gudang. And don’t think for a second it’s an outdated passed-down tech. It’s one of the largest and most efficient cogeneration gas turbine power system GE has ever produced, and Pasir Gudang is their debut. For now they run on natural gas but could run 50/50 mix with hydrogen or even full hydrogen when the economics is right.

I don’t know how you don’t know this. It was major news last year. Also Malaysia is planning on retiring over 11 GW worth (out of the current 26 GW total, either for the whole Malaysia or just the Peninsular I don’t remember) of ‘dirty’ power plants by 2029, most of which are coal. So unless you do your part and drive ICE cars sensibly, save electricity, save water, and recycle to reduce our country’s net CO2 emissions you don’t get to complain of how we are “dirtying” the country with EVs. That would make you the hypocrite.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
          • And where the hydrogen shall come from? Electrolysis maybe, with an efficiency of 65% at best?

• Helmi on Dec 26, 2022 at 10:09 am

I work in power supply industry and I can confirm that Malaysia is very serious in reducing carbon footprint by investing in renewable energy. Plenty of rooftop & large scale solar plants are being built everywhere. In 2025, RE share in generation mix will be 31% which is a lot, and the percentage will increase until we reach net zero carbon mainly by using solar & battery energy storage. 8 years ago I mainly deal with fossil fuel power plants but since 2019 now my work is 95% dealing with commissioning & managing solar plants. The stakeholders like ST, KETSA, TNB, SB, SEDA & My Power are now frequently meeting, planning, creating taskforces for large scale RE adoption. You can read about Malaysia Renewable Energy Roadmap in SEDA website.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • othman on Dec 27, 2022 at 10:05 pm

TNB May need to need to generate more power for EV, but it means less fuel burned near houses. Less pollution near humans that are killing and maiming all of us.

• othman on Dec 27, 2022 at 10:12 pm

GM Wooling car is already cheaper than MyVi, but it will not be available in Malaysia because of limited production. Slightly more expensive versions will be on sale in Indonesia but these are not even popular in China. Mainland Chinese prefer luxury EV cars because not enough luxury vehicles for sale in China that can match EVs.

Once these luxury segments are satisfied, only then will it be worthwhile to build consumer mass market vehicles.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 24, 2022 at 4:13 pm

Ghey joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • paparadzi on Dec 24, 2022 at 1:48 pm

“In 2023, a 9 year old girl died from a fatal asthma attack in Britain”

Considering that I read this article in December 2022, I wonder if it is written by a time traveler?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
  • A bit too hopeful on Dec 24, 2022 at 3:42 pm

There’s two ways to reduce air pollution from usage of cars. One is by switching to a car that has no air pollution output like EVs. Which happens to be expensive and unrealistic for a low PPP country like Malaysia. Maybe if you go to a international school in KL, you might find a few EVs, but I guarantee that you will find more Vellfires instead.

The second way is to either have enforcement in vehicle inspections or mandatory vehicle inspections every few years up to a certain age, similar to what Japan has. Enforce emissions for heavy vehicles. Ban heavy vehicles in cities. Even in KL, there are still people driving plow tractors along the highway, or overloaded lorries blowing out black smoke at 30km/h up a slope. Solving the heaviest polluters will make the biggest change in our air quality. We havent even talked about heavy industries and factories yet.

Asking mass market adoption of EVs is just pushing the responsibility of cleaning the air onto us. The only real environmental advantage of using EVs here is reducing our reliance on petrol. Nothing to do with cleaner air. But lets face it, as long as B40 M40 still cannot afford EVs, govt needs to keep up petrol subsidy. Not to mention cars are not expensive, you can thank proton and perodua protectionism for that. Where are the cheap EVs from our “national” car producers?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
    • seancorr on Dec 25, 2022 at 2:17 pm

To add to this comment, cost or EV batteries are going up so no way this can be affordable in the next decade. It will remain as a rich man’s toy for the foreseeable future. https://www.businessinsider.com/automakers-rising-electric-vehicle-battery-costs-lithium-affordability-2022-12?amp

• othman on Dec 27, 2022 at 10:27 pm

Vellfire is more expensive than comparable sized EV, and yet you call Malaysia low GDP nation that can afford to buy lots of Vellfire. Tesla Model X is huge. Not to mention Model S Plaid that are much cheaper than Lamborghini and Ferraris, with much better performance. Only idiots will want to buy ICE versions of these luxury vehicles instead of equivalent EVs but surely a lot of them in Malaysia.

• “However, there are clear benefits to having coal burned for electricity away from where humans live, in a power plant that’s a lot more efficient”

The power plant itself might be more efficient, compared to a petrol ICE. But until the electrons reach your battery, there are losses by electric power conversion (high voltage to low voltage and again to high voltage), current-resistance losses in cables etc. etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • lolpanda on Dec 24, 2022 at 4:45 pm

Let’s not forget the elephant in the room here – Motorcycles have long known to be on average 10x more polluting than cars and this study was done ages ago; while cars have come a significant way since then, motorcycles haven’t seen the same level of improvements.

Bikes may be more fuel efficient (given that relatively, they weigh nothing), but it produces a significantly higher amount of hydrocarbons, carbon monoxide, and nitrogen oxides. Where’s the attention focus on that?

I’m sure the math isn’t as linear but rhetorically speaking doesn’t it suggest for every car off the road we should also remove 10 motorcycles and have them use public transportation? Yet nobody addresses this point and readily point fingers towards cars/car owners instead – hmm i wonder why…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
    • Charles Brooke on Dec 24, 2022 at 6:09 pm

As you can see those rempits with 2 stroke engine, really polluting the environment.. not to mention the sound pollution that coming from those exhaust

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Kariayam on Dec 24, 2022 at 6:36 pm

All forms of transportation, cars, bikes, planes, ships, should be indeed held accountable for their carbon emissions. But I think it’s really unfair that civilian motor cars are being targeted while the shipping industry, cruise industry and the super wealthy with their private jets (that account for an alarmingly high rate of carbon emissions) regularly gets a pass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Hmmmm on Dec 24, 2022 at 7:42 pm

Well, u yourself said the study is done ages ago and i bet with older engines which contribute to more pollution. Bar 2 stroke engines which is getting lesser (almost extinct unless during weekend) these days, cheapo bikes with carb engine are meeting at least euro 3 emmission std and this is based from manufacturer claim.

Cars have seen significant improvement? Not really, all the tech are already there a long2 time ago but people dont take notice which is why most engines sold here arent sold in country with strict emmission standard. Here in our country, we can only significant leap in term of safety feature. Engines tech is more or less the same.

• scion on Dec 24, 2022 at 10:19 pm

This is uneducated talk. a carburetted 8hp kapchai will produce less emission than a 100hp myvi. He also uses less earth resource to move himself on a 100kg bike as opposed to you hauling over 1000kg of weight just to move yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
  • “According to a study by TNB, electric cars are already 23% cleaner in terms of carbon emissions (I repeat, this is just carbon) compared to ICE cars”

TNB is more or less a company which want to sell electric and not petrol. How about a study from Petronas, Petron, Shell, Caltex? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Terfikir on Dec 24, 2022 at 6:39 pm

TNB is indirectly Petronas Ron95 saying Euro4M not so clean yet?

• badut on Dec 24, 2022 at 11:24 pm

do you really think people can lie in published research journals just to prove a biased point

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Sohail on Dec 25, 2022 at 9:48 am

a Research Paper can prove Coffee shorten life, vice versa. But both not wrong.

It is bias depends who is presenting facts selectively.

• vedder on Dec 25, 2022 at 10:23 am

Yes

• DonkeyKong on Dec 25, 2022 at 2:20 pm

LOL you think people don’t? Bro have you published a paper before while doing your masters or PhD.. there are plenty of vendor sponsored studies to cherry pick data that suit their desired conclusion

• Shahrol on Dec 25, 2022 at 10:51 am

The TNB study has been peer-reviewed

• Hi Paul, have you consider also the impact of the battery? EV has a very big battery, after 8 to 10 years, how to handle this auch big volume of e-waste if all EV on the road? This impact to environment too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 7
    • clownlim on Dec 24, 2022 at 10:23 pm

after 10 years ev are still running on the road, it is not a disposable toy la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
      • DonkeyKong on Dec 25, 2022 at 12:49 pm

“after 10 years ev are still running on the road”

Wow we have a Nobel Prize winner here who has successfully mass-produced lithium batteries without the electrode dendrite problem..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • donkey clown on Dec 26, 2022 at 7:14 pm

how many percent of ev batteries that are 10 years old gave the electrode dendrite problem and how many are perfectly functional?

• seancorr on Dec 25, 2022 at 2:22 pm

It’s exactly this reason that the first gen batteries that will cost the most pollution and there’s no clear cut way on how our 3rd party mechanics should dispose these old batteries as they are all reaching the end of their lifespan.

• Jenny on Dec 25, 2022 at 7:42 pm

in 2012 – EV cars available are like Nissan Leaf, BMW i3, Mitsu Imiev, Chevy Volt.

However, people prefer used Gasoline and Prius instead of those EV. 10 years old EV do looks like a disposable toy.

• Realistically as of now it is near impossible to stop any kind of pollution. But what the article is conveying is, the most polluting source of carbon emission is from internal combustion vehicles which are everywhere now. It is like 99% of every location in the world there is cars or bikes or trucks. Even planes.

Imagine when all or at least 70% of these are EVs. That will significantly reduces carbon emission. Remember during Covid lockdown when everyone was prevented from going out? See how clean the air becomes during that time because there is very little amount of vehicles on the road.

EV are expensive now, true. Eventually they will come down in price and public charging becomes a convenience. Right now we cannot afford an EV, but we must support all efforts to reduce carbon emission. Disruptive technology takes time to be mainstream and matures, and when it does it will be cheaper for all. While they have been here long time ago, only recently EV tech becomes widely acceptable and pose a serious alternatives to ICE.
    The technology are maturing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • When building charging stations in Malaysia, make sure the stations are installed with solar panels. Charging cars using solar, if no charging, the extra electric output can sell back to TNB, can reduce dependency to coal power.

If government can provide tax incentives to companies setting up factories like car charging equipment, batteries, and other components, so electric car can be produced locally with lower prices.

Reason for electric car expensive due to raw material to produce the electric car batteries very expensive. If R&D able to find a more cheaper alternative. The car will be cheaper.

• The reports here talk about charging capacities of up to 350kW. You know how many solar cells you need to get 350kW and how much space it would be needed to install them?

• solarmolar on Dec 26, 2022 at 7:18 pm

solar charges an ESS battery, the battery outputs the 350 kw

• So they can charge only 1 car per week? Because the rest of the time the battery have to be recharged?
          Take some physics tution, boy.

• vezeroth on Dec 24, 2022 at 6:08 pm

Ya the problem is nobody compares the impact of harvesting the rare earth metals required to build the batteries and whats the plans to dispose off such batteries. Are they recyclable like conventional engines?

People are pushing a technology with no proper end solution. Especially dangerous in a country that never has a long term plan.

This is dangerous. Just like phones nowdays, we used to be able to use them for years, just change out the old batteries.. now we fill landfills with old phones because the batteries are non removable. Companies literally brainwash us to buy the latest phones that are just similar to the old ones.

We shouldve gone to cleaner fuels and engines before worrying about electric

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • Tortilla on Dec 24, 2022 at 6:37 pm

Global warming started by CFC, Chlorofluorocarbon, great cooling stuff designed by American
    till today CFC unable to be fully banned yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Sohail on Dec 25, 2022 at 9:51 am

CFC caused Ozone depletion hence caused a direct Global Warming.

• Helenesssssssssssssssss on Dec 24, 2022 at 7:16 pm

Full EV is just a phase, hydrogen is the future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • Euro 6 and 7 on Dec 24, 2022 at 7:55 pm

A lot of EV fanatics still picture ICEs and even hybrids as noisy, inefficient, disgusting ancient tech from the pre-War Industrial era. Why ?

They refuse to acknowledge the fact that the latest petrol engines are quieter, fuel efficient and cleaner than ever before. We now have widespread adoption of EFI/GDI, forced induction, cylinder deactivation, start/stop etc..

The latest hybrid cars are no longer ‘lembik’ oddball tin cans anymore, many have very advanced on-board computers which maximize fuel savings, low-end torque, energy management, thermal cycling.. You won’t even know you’re driving a hybrid, it’s all executed very seamlessly.

Basically, it would take hundreds of new Euro 6 cars to pollute as much as a single Euro 2 milo tin from the 1990s. Most of the traffic pollution is disproportionately from old commercial vehicles, two-stroke kapcais, and old beater cars which won’t pass JPJ.

If we go with EV-only future, cars will become affordable for the rich and privileged only. This might not be a serious problem if public transport was practical, reliable, accessible and safe.

Reality is, only a few countries, mainly those small or ultra-rich like Singapore, Switzerland, Norway etc.. can afford to totally ban ICE cars and switch to EV-only future. Rest of us need to find a way to coexist, ICE and EV… maybe FCEV too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • Misset on Dec 24, 2022 at 8:48 pm

“If we go with EV-only future, cars will become affordable for the rich and privileged only” that’s the point. WEF’s wet dream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Elon Musk once clarified that even if the electricity that powers an EV is 100% from fossil-fueled power stations, the carbon generated by that EV is much less than ICE cars. That’s because power stations by their sheer size are more efficient at converting energy from fuel, than the small engines in ICE cars. Even with taking into account the losses in power transmission.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • t333son on Dec 24, 2022 at 9:38 pm

Want to really reduce carbon foot print ? Breathe less, breed less. Seriously, all this talk is pointless when we are all hung up with going digital ( a lot of power to run the cloud servers, networks etc) and online shopping (with countless purchases of unnecessary items in the name of consumerism .. plus all the added traffic delivering to the doorstep ). the more obvious carbon culprit are holiday travel, traffic jams, aircond and consumerism ( we humans are busy digging , melting, building , demolishing , packing , delivering, shopping etc in an endless circle creating lots of carbon footprint ). Sorry , simply want to say even EV is not a solution. walking, bicycle, roller blading, skateboarding .. encourage local economy without needing massive international logistics, live a simple existence , respect nature

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • karen on Dec 25, 2022 at 7:46 am

so EV is the solution la. LGBT cannot breed what.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 26, 2022 at 9:13 am

Wrong. They breed freaks. Haven’t you seen “pregnant fathers” and LGBT couples that use surrogates to get kids? Their kids will grow up just as mentally ill as the parents and turn the planet into a woke wasteland.

• EVOption on Dec 24, 2022 at 10:08 pm

In NZ ,,,,, One EV charging Compnay ONLY BUYS/USES …… Electricity generated from Wind or Solar. That is TOTALLY .. FREE OF POLLUTION. Many …”^$%$&$$” still think thet ELECTRICITY … MUST come from Oil/Gas/Coal. Nuclear is also free from “pollution”.But there will be “&&^&*%%” who thinks that Nuclear is BAD. Please note tha 1KG of Uranium(U238) can provide 800MW-Days. But why No WIND FARM or Solar Farm in Malaysia ?

• Katheryn Wng on Dec 26, 2022 at 12:33 pm

If 1 time Fukushima Nuclear history repeat @ NZ,
      then the pollution is even more and they will failed Carbon Neutral.

• scion on Dec 24, 2022 at 10:20 pm

Really want to reduce carbon foot print? have less babies please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • Dav Lee on Dec 24, 2022 at 10:38 pm

Say in the future where most of us charge our electric car at night, can our infrastructure handle the demand?

• Lampu on Dec 27, 2022 at 10:03 am

1.0hp A/C @ 750watt.
      Snail Charging Car AC at 7,000watt.

10x 1.0hp A/C.
      how to handle the burden?

• Electric cars does not solve traffic jam. Perhaps a more livable place is where most of us can travel without wasting most of our time on the road.

• Mechy on Dec 24, 2022 at 10:47 pm

I have worked in power stations for almost 30 years, 21 of them in a coal-powered plant. I can assure you that even though a coal plant is designed to be extremely clean, in reality it is far from that. The pollution is unbelievable. Decades before Covid, masks had already become a part of my life. Don’t for a minute believe power stations are clean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • newme on Dec 25, 2022 at 2:44 am

Electricity generation is just as polluting as well as the materials used to manufacture the batteries. Period. Takyah tegakkan benang basah.

• Helenesssssssssssssssss on Dec 25, 2022 at 4:19 am

I will stick to my soon to be 22 year old Kelisa. It is less than 800kg. Fuel injected 3 cylinder 998cc 55hp economical engine. Smart packaging, doesn’t take a lot of space. More importantly, the car doesn’t pollute. The problem is car makers are making their car into big heavy SUVs that is not economical, worse into an EV that is heavy. Of course car makers and governments need to find ways to sex up the industry. At one time we made.into believe that diesel engines are green, what a load a bullsh. Just smell the thing. Disposing batteries, range anxiety, charging times, I don’t understand why EV is even the solution. We need to go back to basic. Kei car is the future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • karen on Dec 25, 2022 at 7:44 am

even kei car has gone electric now. nissan sakura.

• Linda on Dec 25, 2022 at 1:06 pm

But low spec,
        Less top speed,
        Less range,

• kei cars arent exactly the epitome of specs and refinement

• Louis on Dec 27, 2022 at 2:13 pm

When I look at Benz Masterpiece from the old days,
            I see plastic and gaps everywhere, smelly plastic too.

New cheap car easy tapau outdated luxury. No class

• vedder on Dec 25, 2022 at 10:25 am

It pollutes my optic nerves

• DonkeyKong on Dec 26, 2022 at 9:18 am

Damn right. Sing it, Eddie..

Those old shitboxes on the roads (ancient Hondas, Protons, Peroduas) with B40 noisy exhaust systems and ratrod aesthetics (different-colored body panels.. different colored bumpers.. weird aluminium rear lower arms and drilled holes on the rear bumpers) are as polluting as crappy motorbikes while being a total eyesore.

• vedder on Dec 27, 2022 at 9:43 am

Ya bro!
          All these POS need to be off the road. Only cars with any sort classic value can stay. The rest of the rust-buckets need to go. Now!

We were out on a date in my daddy’s car
          We hadn’t driven very far
          There in the road, straight ahead
          A car was stalled, the engine was dead

• Gomorrah on Dec 26, 2022 at 11:17 am

Completely agree with this sentiment. Comparing the 1.5L toyota vios with the 1.3 nissan sunny we used to have and the fuel efficiency of the 30 year old nissan completely wipes the floor with the toyota. Even when you account for the difference in engine displacement and curb weight, it is no contest. So much for higher efficiency, cvt transmission bla bla bla. Also being able to repair the car easily, minimal electronics, and not having to go back to stealership for just about anything. It’s all about control, profits and keeping people in an endless debt trap.

• Economically, your 22 year old Kelisa looks good. But, safety wise, not really. Latest technology to strengthen crumple zone, anti-skidding, etc will help you to avoid accident. Even if other crazy drivers collide with you head on, at least a chance to survive is better with latest car safety features.

• rahman on Dec 25, 2022 at 9:59 am

To make an ev car is more polluting than ice car. By average ev car take 5 years to breakeven with ice car in c02 output. Bigger battery ev car will take even worse up to 7-9 years. This figure is based on the elcetricity source from 100% green energy. If country like malaysia electric source from mostly coal, then it defeat the purpose on reducing the pollution. By comparisson u are less damaging using ur ice car for 15 years rather than buying new ev car every 5 years

• venven81 on Dec 26, 2022 at 10:19 am

of course when talking about so-called zero-emission vechile, battery-powered cars seem to be the right choice. however, what most people have neglected is that they forgot that the process of making the battery and the byproduct is creating more pollution than ICE car itself.

• robert kuppusamy on Dec 25, 2022 at 11:03 am

Just enjoy driving your ICE car la…don’t bother about going electric la….life is short, just enjoy it before you kick the bucket…

• Amriji on Dec 25, 2022 at 4:51 pm

Yeah. Let our kids and future generation suffer in the long term so that they can curse us at our grave….

• Lim Kuan Seng on Dec 25, 2022 at 2:26 pm

So true. Everyone wants to be “hero”. With some brain please!

• drMpower on Dec 25, 2022 at 3:38 pm

actually the charging points initiative missed a simple point – the charging points MUST deliver power from renewable energy sources. be it PV or biomass or any other non fossil based fuel

that should form the biggest portions of the charging points. yes u may have chargers with conventional fossil fuel based sources, but they must be in smallest numbers

and, transportation forms the biggest energy usage, also contributed the biggest portion of emissions. just cut it by 10% also good enough for now

• Bangkok on Dec 26, 2022 at 9:58 am

Believing your ice car is better than ev is like loving that old Nokia phone you used to had

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Wrong comparison on Dec 27, 2022 at 2:45 am

It shows that you don’t really know what you’re buying. Just following trend.Just assume new things are always better.

• Nokia3510 on Dec 27, 2022 at 3:43 pm

The old Nokia had to be charged once per week only?

• Gomorrah on Dec 26, 2022 at 11:38 am

Suggest the writer/editors make reference to Volvo’s carbon footprint reports for the XC40 and C40 – pretty transparent for a manufacturer that wants to go completely electric, and has identical vehicles to compare ICE vs EV. The breakeven point where the total GHG’s released are telling – have to run the cars for more than 110,000 km before it happens. So in the context of Malaysian vehicle ownership, (government cost barriers to entry, average disposable income, upgrade cycle for new car owners, maintenance costs and difficulty for 3rd party repair even when EV’s have less moving parts) when is this going to happen?

Not that I don’t agree with the premise for cleaner air, but personal EV ownership is low hanging fruit. Enforcement of emissions standards on commercial/industrial vehicles that are larger offenders per vehicle is what is going to have the biggest effect sooner.

• Middle Age Driver on Dec 26, 2022 at 12:20 pm

Controlling pollution from a coal powerplant that produce electricity is way easier than trying to control pollution from millions of petrol/diesel vehicles. Have you seen TNB plant spewing out black soot as oppose to heavy trucks ?

• No to EV on Dec 27, 2022 at 2:39 am

Have you ever thought about what they’re going to do with so much scrapped EV batteries in future? What to do with old EV when the cost of battery replacement is higher than the value of the car? Do you know what is the main ingredient used in making batteries? Since the main ingredient is rare, don’t expect the cost to do down. It can only go up when demand is more than supply. So long term sustainability is also questionable. If you think emission is the only source of pollution, think again. Don’t be fooled by articles like this. They only tell you the few positive points, but hide all the negative points which could be much more than the positive points.

• EV but not Carbon Neutral, big LoL.

pura pura saja.

• when you are using the Lagging fast charge at charging station, you might take another 30mins to 3 hours, depending if 180kW DC or 50kW DC, charging from 20%-80% or 5% to 100%..

Often ppl just stay in EV car with A/C on, waiting lag-fast charge: this is causing more pollution too.

“Air conditioning units consume a lot of energy, creating pollution in the form of greenhouse gas emissions.”

• Bryan on Dec 26, 2022 at 1:12 pm

The problem is misleading and misinformation.

• Hijau Alam on Dec 26, 2022 at 3:08 pm

Remember the lyrics of the song ‘Hijau’ by Zainal Abidin ; “Dewasa ini kita saling merayakan
    Kejayaan yang akhirnya membinasakan”

In the same way, going full EV will be harmful to us in the long term. The environmental and social disaster from harvesting minerals for mass battery production to no clear solution for disposing off used EV batteries will eventually make us realise the mistake of going full EV. I believe Toyota has the right approach, efficient hybrids and push for Hydrogen ICE.

• SayNoToCars on Dec 26, 2022 at 8:28 pm

The real problem is cars. Whether EV or ICE, quite frankly private cars are carbon bombs and a colossal waste of space in our increasingly dense cities, on top of forcing people to take on debt they don’t need. If we’re serious about averting global warming, we need to find some way to drive down the volume of cars on the road drastically. Or is this a conversation this site is not ready to have?

• Multiple papers, statisticians, and more have numbers that ICE produces much more carbon in its lifetime as opposed to electric cars. It’s a no brainer when it comes to saving the environment.

Sure, the mining of lithium in order to make batteries also affect the environment in other ways. But electric cars not need to be battery-powered. There is also Hydrogen fuel cell, which is the technology I personally rooting for.

A person who oppose EV is just a minority, and a loud one at that. People use cars as a means of transport from point A to B. If you want to drive cars to have fun, you have a track for that, not the public roads. Unless you are a ….?

• No to EV on Dec 27, 2022 at 2:14 am

They didn’t even mention what to do with those scrapped old batteries after 10yrs and those EV batteries are very much bigger than batteries for ICE & hybrid cars. They are not 100% recyclable and the chemicals inside are far more harmful to the environment than the emission from ICE cars. Since the costs of replacing the EV battery would be more than the value of the car, old EV cars which are still in good condition except for battery problems will be scrapped and this will significantly increase wastages, just like old phones. How is this good for the environment?Look at what people are doing with their old Tesla. If they really care for the environment, they should push for Fuel Cell EV (FCEV), not battery EV.

• newme on Dec 27, 2022 at 9:07 am

This EV is just as good as the Start/Stop Idle feature, dumb as rock.

• banana republic on Dec 27, 2022 at 11:25 am

The coal is classified as banned energy option like Fossil fuel. So the article might as well said, electricity generated from burning fossil fuel.

• long time I’m not commenting. Comment section still fill with stupid pipu.

• FireAce on Dec 27, 2022 at 4:07 pm

TNB report totally forget about 2 things, production and delivery of the electricity.

Not electrician but simple calculation.
    A level 2 240v 7.7kW EV charger is 33 Amp monster. Our normal house single phase electricity main fuse is rated 60 Amp, that means each and every house that install tis EV charger need to upgraded to 3 phase power to cope with the load. If every house in your area equipped with EV charger, that means the power need for the whole area suddenly is up by at least 50% minimum. Will be even more if those driving luxury EV that have DC fast charger (100+ Amp).

What will happen if power need suddenly raise by at least 50%? Everything from cables, transformers, switch boards, electric generation, etc. will need to be added/upgraded/replaced. We are talking about nation wide major infrastructure upgrade which will take decades if not century.

In the mean time we all need to take EL from work when brownout happened, car not charged enough to reach and later go home from office. Can’t even Work from home because no power mean no computer, no internet, no wifi, mobile signal dropped to basic EDGE/2G (on UPS, power saving mode). Housing area will sounds like pasar malam because every household fire up their power generator..

• So what on Dec 30, 2022 at 1:00 am

To the guy who wrote this ‘so what’ articles, you did not elaborate more on the harmfulness of dispose used bulky EV batteries which may leak into our environment in long run.