Proton Iriz – 50 units delivered to Metro Driving Academy, specially prepared as training vehicles

Proton has announced that it recently delivered 50 units of the Proton Iriz to Metro Driving Academy. The cars, which will be used as training vehicles at Metro’s Subang and Puchong campuses, were delivered in a handover ceremony to Metro Driving Academy’s MD, Mat Aris Bakar.

In accordance with regulations defined by the road transport department (JPJ), a brake pedal was added on to the passenger side of all the driving school vehicles, with the modifications being carried out by ACE, a subsidiary of Proton Global Services specialising in custom builds.

Proton deputy CEO Roslan Abdullah said the national automaker was proud to continue to play a role in helping educate and train new Malaysian drivers. “The Proton Iriz is an excellent choice for new drivers as its combination of manoeuvrability, compact dimensions and safety make it unimposing from behind the wheel,” he said.

“Driving schools are a great touchpoint for Proton to get closer to the younger generation. With this collaboration, we can showcase the USPs offered by our products and tap into the psyche of potential first-time car buyers. We are appreciative of the trust shown by Metro Driving Academy and hope this will encourage more driving schools to consider adding a Proton to their fleet,” he added

Metro Driving Academy, which was established in 1998, is a licensed driving academy that has received a number of accolades, including Best Driving Academy and Five-Star Rated Driving Academy awards by JPJ.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Upupup on Dec 28, 2022 at 1:58 pm

The already poor sales iriz got extra 50 unsellable unit from p1 yard for years, so just give to driving academy. Lel!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • The article didn’t mention that the driving acedemies got the Iriz for free…

But I’m sure that they got a very good price (as it’s common in other countries for a long time already).

• MooMoo on Dec 29, 2022 at 1:05 am

Article didnt mentioned the driving academy buy the iriz as well. Owaiii.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 28, 2022 at 2:11 pm

They should use big cars for test and training. No?

Sometimes damn infuriating seeing aunty try to park an alphad.

• Yeahsure on Dec 28, 2022 at 3:10 pm

Sitting on two pillows trying to reverse park… Dafaq…

• Ex Rafizi supporter on Dec 28, 2022 at 4:34 pm

U r right sir. Driving schools should use alphard for test and training.

• Mr Mar on Dec 28, 2022 at 4:56 pm

Old stock clearing, making space for new IRIZ 2023 !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Not clear stock, u shud try to ask proton 3s how long shud wait, last year i wanted to buy iriz, but long wait time than saga, so i took saga, it is actually smart marketing, some of driving students(especially new drivers) will buy the same model of they trained in driving school since they already get used to…

• Makes sense. Some buy the car they had in driving school as their first own car.

And for beginners a hatchback is always a good choice when it comes to reverse parking.

• looks like if not for it being police car, ministry car, gomen car, army car, and now driving school car, proton dah lama tutup dah

• Hmmmm on Dec 30, 2022 at 3:21 pm

Wow..i never thought such a shallow creature still exist today.
      We should notify WWF on your existence.

• Vios 1st gen on Dec 28, 2022 at 10:28 pm

Should combined as a proper persona, black leather interior, rear adjustable headrest as the iriz exec. Saga hyundai 4at, led across all variant, take out hi proton, give android auto. Supported p1 over p2, no nonsense eco idle, adass, cruise control useless wasted junk.

• Dr. Siti Hashimah Abd Rahman on Dec 29, 2022 at 9:23 am

Hi Mr Paul, can you guide on how to be a car reviewer and tester like you. Is there any commission for doing this job?

• Ground europe passenger on Dec 29, 2022 at 9:24 am

Last time berlajar pakai kancil manual jer. Iriz an underwhelming car that many peoples got little interests but never actually buying.

+ Nice interior, seat
    + Nice ride Handling
    + No useless eco idle, halfbaked adass as rival

– Small boot, better choose persona
    – High fuel consumptions compare to rival
    – Timing belt old campro engine
    – Jerky and tend to fail clutch base punch cvt

• Jason on Dec 29, 2022 at 1:08 pm

At least you will have a nice interior to wait in for roadside assistance when your clutch or engine or gearbox fails.

Decent handling plus high fuel consumption equates to high fuel costs. Have fun while your wallet can still afford it.

Everybody have their own priorities in life.

• I guess it’s better better for you to buy a car with a obsolete four-speed auto from the 1960s. This can be repaired with scrap imported from developed countries.
        Everybody have their own priorities in life.

• – Small boot, better choose persona
      I don’t need and I don’t want a big boot. 95% of the time the boot is empty anyway.
      – High fuel consumptions compare to rival
      Correct. Time for Proton to replace the campro with the 3cyl turbo engine from the X50.
      – Timing belt old campro engine
      The Internet is full of “timing chain problems”. A timing belt is not so bad at all.
      – Jerky and tend to fail clutch base punch cvt
      Me and my neighbours never had any problems with that, even in traffic jams. Possibly true for Iriz’ of the very first batch.

• Ex kelisa owner on Dec 30, 2022 at 2:27 pm

U haven’t encounter famous lampu durian with punch cvt yet. Once kena need to fork out 4k to overhaul the gearbox else the car will give u headache suka2 stall at the middle of the road. Im a grab driver with persona cvt milleage 170k km. If 4at then easier and cheaper to change at oil every 20k to avoid problem.