Motorcycle hijacks car’s toll payment, car gets stuck

Apparently its a trend now for motorcycles to pass through toll plazas using the car lanes instead of going through the motorcycle lane where they do not have to pay to pass through.

Unfortunately this ends up inconveniencing the car trying to pass through the toll booth. Seen here in these videos posted on social media are car users who have made toll payments (using RFID) but are unable to pass through the toll because the sensor at the toll booth has detected that a vehicle has already passed through using the most recent payment. This happens to be the motorcycle instead of the car.

Since this seems to be happening more and more frequently these days, there’s nothing much we can do other than to slow down on purpose if a motorcyclist happens to overtake us and go into the toll lane before we manage to clear it. Let the motorcyclist clear the toll booth by going around the boom barrier first.

You might be wondering, what happens if this happens to you? Will you have to pay toll twice? Some social media users have reported that they were only charged once. The toll system likely detects that a repeat charge by the same payment method within a short period of time is a system error.

If you did somehow get charged twice, this is when dashcam footage will be useful so make sure you install a dashcam if you haven’t already, so you have the necessary proof of what happened to make a claim and get a refund.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kariayam on Jan 07, 2023 at 7:26 pm

The man who chased him down and made him pay is a legend 10/10

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 143 Thumb down 1
    • Make Malaysia Great Again on Jan 09, 2023 at 12:55 pm

Kesian now under Pakatan rule Malaysia, even motorcyclists are under cost of living pressure as to skip paying tolls. Soon we will be a lawless society seen in Mexico where all gets poorer and ruled by the cartels, in our case the PH supporting underworld gangs. Malaysia is doomed if we don’t save it now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 53
      • Celup King on Jan 09, 2023 at 7:58 pm

This was happening often under BN-led govt in 2022 too.

• Car boi on Jan 09, 2023 at 11:56 pm

You high or what. Motorcyclist dont need to pay, they have their own lane la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • Phaser on Jan 10, 2023 at 10:23 am

Motorcycles have never had to pay toll. So they’re just being law-breaking jerks.

• Wendy on Jan 12, 2023 at 12:07 pm

Kesian you for being biased. These toll skippers has been going on since the age on BN already. It’s people like you, even baby crying for milk, you also blame kerajaan. Budak crying because of circumcision you also blame kerajaan. So narrow mindset.

• Kalau dah bodoh , simpan je..jangan jebidohan anda.

• US the great on Jan 13, 2023 at 7:40 am

Wow you are Malaysian? Kenapa boleh bodoh sangat? Makan US kencing banyak sangat?

• US the great on Jan 13, 2023 at 7:40 am

Wow you are Malaysian? Kenapa boleh bodoh sangat? Makan US kencing banyak sangat?

• James Lourdes on Jan 14, 2023 at 5:44 pm

Talking cock!

• daddy on Jan 07, 2023 at 7:39 pm

happen to me once. maybe free is not enought for motorcyclist they need to go steal people tng aiyoo never once in my life i see people dont want free stuff still want go steal what a world we are living in.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
    • slim shady on Jan 07, 2023 at 7:55 pm

its the same reason why ice cars go park at ev chargers on purpose. its people dengki others who are ahead in life and feel better if theres an opportunity to pull the one ahead down abit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
      • Dengki ppl driving EV? Are u sure?
        It’s more likely due to the fact that the charging parking bays are usually near to entrances. If u pay more attention, some ICE cars parking at charging bays could be double the price of EVs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
  • asean scam busted on Jan 07, 2023 at 8:22 pm

all civilized nations charges toll on motorcycles as well only malaya gives free passage to motorcyclist on toll roads!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 4
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 07, 2023 at 11:18 pm

Vote bank.

• Stone on Jan 08, 2023 at 11:02 am

Dengki ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
      • Semenanjung Tanah Monsoon on Jan 08, 2023 at 2:14 pm

savages tendency of taking things for granted whenever it’s free of charge

• DonkeyKong on Jan 08, 2023 at 5:56 pm

Alhamdulillah rezeki jangan ditolak…

• Who are the b40 doing this? If the authorities are serious to stop this, it’s easy to just use the CCTVs in place to trace their number plates. But the authorities do not wish to nab them, this is Bolehland… the transport minister should show law & order as his calling.

• ThePolygon on Jan 07, 2023 at 8:26 pm

This is called hidup nak menyusahkan orang lain.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
    • Powershot on Jan 08, 2023 at 4:29 pm

Indeed. Hidup perasan baik tapi hakikatnya menyusahkan orang lain.

This type of people have to die first, for them to contribute to society.

• Mindful on Jan 07, 2023 at 8:31 pm

This epidemic of selfishness is getting worse by the day in Malaysia. No one stands up or question the rule-breakers. THIS needs to change!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 0
  • Motorcyclist deserve their high mortality rates. Even in residential areas, they ride way above 110km/ hr. They never think about other road users including pedestrians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
  • DonkeyKong on Jan 07, 2023 at 11:16 pm

These are the brainless people that YB Loke think can be educated. Not sure who is more uneducated – Comrade Loke or the motorcyclists

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 34
    • En Sabah Nur on Jan 08, 2023 at 10:15 am

It’s human traits to domesticates savages, savages can’t be domesticated eventually will be slaughtered as offering to sky daddy

• FYI, this happens because the RFID/Smartag get the payment and open the barrier, and once the motorcycle pass through the loop coil(sensor), the system detects that the vehicle already pass through. In this case, you have to call for help via intercom. Even if you reverse and enter again cannot open unless it is a toll where we get charged on the spot.

• Had this thing happen to me before but using tng not rfid. Motorcycle take the opportunity to speed up once payment was made

• pitrem on Jan 09, 2023 at 7:22 am

why rempits so stupid, steal something that is given free to them? i really really cannot brain

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 09, 2023 at 12:26 pm

Because they are indifferent to others. Pentingkan sendiri only.

Some dont want to use the Moto lane at toll because it’s a longer route, narrow and not well maintained.

Those Moto toll lanes that are just right next to the toll gates, almost all will go through the Moto lane. It’s the ones that snakes behind the toll gates (and whatever building) that they get tempted to bypass.

Question though, why not just design and build the toll gates to have the Moto lane at the side instead of making them go one big round? There is really no logic to it. Basically the highway operators created this problem in the first place.

• Macampondan on Jan 08, 2023 at 1:53 pm

Those idiot bikers and cars that invade tolls are leeches.

This is what Malaysia has plenty.

• Why do this? Bike lane is already free? … Just wanna f people’s day up?

• As a motorcyclist who always ride from jb to batu pahat on a weekly basis, I would rather be late a few seconds then having my number plate shown on some stranger’s dashcam

• CarOwner on Jan 09, 2023 at 6:06 am

In bolehland, it’s always car fault.

• Dong gor on Jan 09, 2023 at 1:50 pm

Law Enforcement gaji buta ka..do something about it

• Motorcyclists were neglected and never respected: the dedicated motorcycle lane is too narrow and required to bypass the toll plaza with a longer and quiet route.

• Dpt free nak bising lagi on Jan 09, 2023 at 9:55 pm

Lain kali, sykt tol bayar pemandu motosikal bila guna hw lah, kan? Boleh u bina hw tu?

• Nothing happened can be hero now. If accident happened, become idiot now. Worth to act dangerously because of rm2,3,4?