Tesla nearing deal for Indonesia EV production plant

Tesla is approaching a preliminary deal for the setting up of its production plant in Indonesia, Bloomberg has reported. This vehicle production plant would produce up to one million vehicles annually, which is in line with the EV maker’s annual production volume targets for all of its plants worldwide, according to the news site.

Discussions towards the deal include plans for multiple facilities in Indonesia for different functions such as production and supply chain, Bloomberg cited its source as saying. Talks for this deal are ongoing and the agreement could still fall through, its sources added.

Indonesia’s talks with Tesla are being led by the country’s coordinating ministry for maritime affairs and investment, according to Indonesian investment minister Bahlil Lahadalia. Should the deal be agreed upon, the EV maker’s plant in Indonesia will be its third outside the United States, after Shanghai, China and Berlin-Brandenburg, Germany.

Indonesia resumed talks with Tesla in April 2022 for EV and battery manufacturing

The Indonesia-Tesla courtship has been years in the making. Initial talks about a ‘potential investment‘ came to light in October 2020, and Indonesia president Joo Widodo stated the following month that a high-level team will be sent to meet with the EV maker’s top executives.

In February 2021, the republic revealed that it received an investment proposal from Tesla with a focus on EV battery manufacture; Indonesia is a world’s largest producer of nickel, a crucial ingredient in EV batteries.

Those plans for a battery factory in Indonesia were not to be, however; the republic’s president desire was for Tesla to produce its cars, not just batteries, in Indonesia. in April last year, Indonesia resumed talks with Tesla for EV and battery manufacturing.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• good. you guys take elon and all his eccentricities, we stick to boring BYD and other Chinese EV manufacturers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Make Malaysia Great Again on Jan 13, 2023 at 4:00 pm

Tun M, bapak EV making Thailand
      Abang Non, bapak EV making Indonesia
      Well done Pakatan bapak kepala hotak!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Malaysia is simply too small to justify a new Tesla plant here:

Thailand: 71.6 million
        Indonesia: 273.8 million
        Malaysia: 33.6 million

• Rakyat Malaysia on Jan 16, 2023 at 10:51 am

You can say the same with Porsche yet they chose to come here instead thanks to Azminkor & Sabrikor hardwork. Ketumkor did not bother so they went Indon lorr. Wasted chance with a single wrong decision now rakyat will suffer.

• Ex PH supporters on Jan 12, 2023 at 4:11 pm

We are losing more and more potential investments due to our incapable government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • Jonathan on Jan 13, 2023 at 10:26 am

On the contrary, PM Anwar is bringing investors to Malaysia

• Tesla PCB’s are made in Penang, Bayan Lepas Industrial Park. Not only for Indonesia, but for the whole world.

• Kerajaan gagal tak layak memerintah on Jan 12, 2023 at 4:17 pm

Anwar, where are the investments that you promise? I thought when we changed the government, a lot of big companies would invest in Malaysia. But right now, our neighbours got most of the deal, not us. We truly have a failed government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
    • Kea Was on Jan 13, 2023 at 9:21 am

Must be all thanks to the previous government that lowered down our corruption index further & further now other people just wait to see.

• Less than 2 months on the job and already kena bashing from you.

• Jonathan on Jan 13, 2023 at 10:27 am

This deal was done under PN bro. Blame them

• Tesla already selling their cars in Singapore and Thailand, and have factory in Indonesia. While Malaysia got nothing from Tesla except for proposed Supercharger bay.

• To all the dormant Malaysian ministers:
    Please find a way to reach a cooperation agreement with Elon, otherwise our country will lose its competitiveness in developing electric vehicles in the future. We have significantly lagged the development of internal combustion engine vehicles in neighboring countries such as Thailand and Indonesia. I really don’t know how to describe our leaders if they still maintain the same attitude.

• newme on Jan 12, 2023 at 5:54 pm

The losers will say “China is future”.

• FudgeMeSideways on Jan 12, 2023 at 6:57 pm

Thank you affirmative action, thank you Social Contract. Asal ore kito.

• Jaguh Global on Jan 12, 2023 at 8:46 pm

This is reason why Indonesia no need for national car nonsense whatsoever.

• What to expect from a 3 months old baby government?

• Anti ccp on Jan 13, 2023 at 11:58 am

Why these retards above/below saying that losing Tesla to our neighbour is like the end of the world or something? Stop acting like those libtards wokes on Twitter no matter which sides you are on

• david on Jan 13, 2023 at 12:17 pm

Here all junkie from china coming

• Mike Tee on Jan 17, 2023 at 11:53 am

I would love for Tesla to have a plant here but only if it makes sense for our country and is a win win.

Please however make them in Indonesia and start selling in Malaysia and not just the 3 and Y. I want the full fat Plaid S and X also!