Perodua to launch car subscription plans this year

Just like how hybrids being a part of Perodua’s near future plans isn’t a surprise, so is car subscription. That’s because the 300-unit Ativa Hybrid subscription plan – launched in September 2022 – isn’t just an ‘electric vehicle study’ but also a ‘long-term mobility as a service market study’.

Then, Perodua said it wanted to understand consumer acceptance of a five-year subscription service, which the carmaker is already offering to corporate clients under its EZ MOBi fleet arm, launched in January 2021.

“While we believe that vehicle ownership will still be our bread and butter; there is a possibility that a vehicle subscription business model may be acceptable for more users in the near future. This is what we mean by ‘subscription’ – a service where all other obligations of owning a vehicle – such as following a service schedule, paying vehicle insurance and paying road tax – will be managed entirely by us; all the customer has to do is pay a subscription fee to enjoy the package,” Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad said then.

We now have a timeline. At yesterday’s 2023 outlook event, the P2 chief’s presentation mentioned “total rollout for car subscription and leasing” as a new value chain business that’s a key activity for 2023.

“We will make announcement prior to the full implementation of our subscription scheme. But that will come after we have completed getting feedback from the 300 customers of the Ativa Hybrid. We have done the first (round of) feedback from customers and we received quite good response from them. No complaints at all. In fact, they say that the RM500 monthly fee is on the lower side,” Zainal said, referring to the Ativa Hybrid’s subscription fee.

“We will do another round of gathering (information from customers), most probably by the middle of this year. And based on that info, we will announce how shall we do our subscription. What is the amount, what kind of scheme that we will introduce. But definitely, as part of our new business, we would like to launch within this year,” he added.

“That’s on the customer and market side. On our side, we are now developing the system and try to make sure that when we launch, when we announce this subscription scheme, there will be no hiccups. We will announce very soon, after we receive the feedback from our current Ativa Hybrid customers,” the P2 boss reiterated.

As a recap, Ativa Hybrid subscribers had to pay an upfront sum of RM2,150 (includes refundable three months safety deposit, the first month fee and stamp duty) followed by a monthly subscription fee of RM500 for five years. Maintenance (including wear and tear items), insurance and road tax is covered by Perodua, as the rebadged CBU units are registered under the company, not in the name of the customers.

It is a five-year commitment and the mileage cap over the period is 100,000 km, which averages to 20,000 km a year or 1,666 km a month. At the end of the tenure, the total amount paid to Perodua would be RM30,150. Participants will have to return the SUV to Perodua after five years.

Is this a good deal for you, or you’d rather buy a car the traditional way and have something in hand at the end of the loan tenure? By the way, Renault distributor TC Euro Cars is a pioneer in car subscription in Malaysia – here’s how they are doing it.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• welcomed on Feb 01, 2023 at 4:39 pm

this is a welcomed initiative. Personally, I dont like owning assets that depreciates, or brings with it a lot of upkeep and maintenance (like a car!). Alas, the factor that will determine if the EZ Mobi subscriptions will work out would be the pricing plans.

• Celup King on Feb 01, 2023 at 10:23 pm

P2 cars no longer affordable so people now force to lease instead of buying them macam dulu. P2 penipu scalper pegi mampos!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Keyboard warrior on Feb 01, 2023 at 4:42 pm

How is this benefit a consumer? Aren’t this just like a car rental except this is (probably) a brand new car? I am against this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • pengguna ploton kecewa on Feb 01, 2023 at 5:06 pm

It’s good for any person which do not like to be involved with usury (riba’) from both conventional and fake’islamic’ loans. this will provide second best options after buying cash

• Autodriver on Feb 01, 2023 at 5:14 pm

It is similar concept as car leasing plan. In fact what Perodua doing on the Ativa Hybrid is very good. Usually car leasing plan monthly subscription is quite high compared to getting loan installment. For example same car and same repay tenure, loan is RM 1000 meanwhile leasing is RM 1200 (leasing company cover insurance, roadtax etc).

Look at Ativa Hybrid, RM 500 and even if pay for 9 years it is only RM 54000. Of course some argue buy car is better and when we sell it the car still got resales value. It is true for high 2nd value car but not true for low resales value vehicle. Buying car we have record in CTOS and showing we got car loan commitment meanwhile car leasing or subscription plan is not showing any debt in CTOS. Many countries got this kind of subscription plan or leasing few decades ago.

• Tommy on Feb 01, 2023 at 7:04 pm

Would Perodua customers currently waiting for delivery of their vehicles, be further affected if the subscription vehicles are given priority over theirs? The waiting time for a new Alza is broadly comparable to the delivery of a bespoke Rolls Royce now

• Dong gor on Feb 01, 2023 at 7:05 pm

I think the leasing can really help to change the attitude of some ppl towards car…as in just use it as it’s designed for, instead of trying to keep it shiny and mint like new…it’s just natural behaviour if it’s not yours it doesn’t hurt if u got a dent from the door parked next to u. Just keep the subscription affordable…

• If its RM500, very reasonable indeed. No worries on maintenance etc…. I’ll be 1st inline to take it up.

• Danny Choong on Feb 01, 2023 at 9:54 pm

Subscription car method cannot work in Malaysian market.

• hasn’t worked before but maybe it could this time if the price is right, renault’s been trying for a bit.

• if they are offering ativa rm500/month for 60 months subscription, many would take that.

• Mahameru on Feb 02, 2023 at 12:00 am

If pricing is similar to the Ativa Hybrid, would gladly take it. As a daily car going through KL traffic, it’s more than enough.

• Mokmok on Feb 02, 2023 at 7:38 am

Cheaper option rather than 9 years full loan. It could be the perfect plan for youngsters who didn’t have any intentions to car mods, just to carry themselves from point A to B safely with latest safety technology.

Also could be used car killer someday. This plan should be thought through and through to let everybody wins.

• After paying over 30k u get nothing. Its like paying Perodua for the data they have collected from your to aid in their business.

• Next question, what will be the impact to workshops and car accessories industry if the subscription plan is broadly accepted by the market? Subscribers will not need to service their or upgrade their cars with fancy features if their are not the owner. It will be revolution on the automotive ecology.

• Karim A. Bachik on Feb 02, 2023 at 4:25 pm

I’m up for RM300 Axia subscription.

• Angie on Feb 02, 2023 at 10:16 pm

This sounds too good to be true. Any hidden tricks? But definitely will want to look into it …

• Wish able to lease an Alza Hybrid with ACC for at least 30,000km.

It’s hybrid and comfortable cruiser , 20,000km can be very struggling to control.

• Just buy an axia n drive la..rm 250 per month n petrol jimat..fullstop goodbye…i earn 12k a month also thinking pf doing this

• Andrew on Apr 05, 2023 at 6:07 pm

WEF Prediction about life in 2030 coming true , on schedule?

“You will own nothing and you will be happy.”

I can’t wait…