Perodua working on localising EV manufacturing – key components like batteries must be made in Malaysia

With electric vehicles being the talk of the automotive industry, Perodua has given its input on the matter during its recent outlook media conference. First and foremost, the carmaker has no immediate plans to launch an EV yet, but it will ensure the groundwork is in place should the time come.

One of the key activities that Perodua has planned for this year is to initiate a new project focused on xEV take-off. It’s important to note that the term ‘xEV’ refers to electrified vehicles that covers not just battery electric vehicles (BEV), but also vehicles with plug-in hybrid (PHEV), hybrid (HEV) and hydrogen fuel cell powertrains (FCEV).

As mentioned in an earlier post, Perodua will first focus on hybrid cars, so it’ll be a while before the company launches an EV. While no timeline was provided, the carmaker will ensure preparations are in place for both EVs and HEVs, and it all starts at the vendor level. It also added that efforts must also be made to promote the use of renewable energy as a more holistic approach to carbon neutrality.

“I didn’t mention when we will introduce an EV, but if you notice from my slides, the preparation is at the vendor system. What I’m trying to say is that if we introduce an EV, we must make sure localisation is finalised,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad.

“Out of the three main components (of an EV), which are the battery, inverter and motor, one must be localised because we are Perodua, and because we want to develop the local industry. If you notice, I hinted in my slides that the preparation is at our vendors,” he added.

Zainal also said Perodua will conduct promotional activities to bring in vendors of EV technology into the country so they can work with local vendors. This would help arm Malaysian vendors with the capability and capacity to produce components for EVs, which would make it easier for the carmaker to plan for an EV product.

It’s still early days into this initiative, and the carmaker said it will possibly share more details this year. In any case, it want vendors in Malaysia to take up the challenge to localise batteries, inverters or motors, or all three if possible.

“Hopefully, I really wish that they (vendors) can do that because if we want to produce EVs, we must make sure the production can cater to that. So, space management is one of the preparations required for us to produce that (EVs),” said Zainal, who pointed out the need to ensure its plants need to be readied for EV production.

When asked which of the three main EV components is most important when it comes to localisation, Zainal said the battery is the best bet. “If we were to do an EV, we have to decide whether we will do a full model EV or a conversion model. For example, if we take the Axia and I want to convert it, if we do a conversion model, the limitation is the battery because we have to make sure the platform can fit the battery packaging system that they have,” he explained.

“If you ask me what is the best out of the three (EV components to localise), I think the battery is the best to localise. So, if we are able to do that, then if we want to do a conversion model, it would be easier for us and at less investment compared to a new model development,” he continued.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ex Proton Fanboi on Feb 01, 2023 at 1:38 pm

Perodua is so far ahead, it will widen the gap with Proton. Even Geely gave Proton older models to rebadge. What a bad partnership they had.

• Raja Celup on Feb 01, 2023 at 4:49 pm

Better do conversion model and turn it into EV car version.

Just develop the official conversion kits to existing and old models eg. Axia, Myvi, Alza, Kancil, Rusa etc and tap the already huge market.

From the kit setup let the buyers choose the battery/motor/inverter according to each budget or range needed.

Syabas and good luck Perodua exploring yet another new income streams!

• perodua is so far ahead, even toyota doesnt have a proper EV car.

bz4x is a joke in the EV world , so dont remind me, LOL.

Perodua has a bigger mouth than their parents Toyota.

Geely on the other hand, has every model under the sun, SELLING in China right now.

from EV to PHEV, from sedan to sports coupe suv.

• Celup King on Feb 01, 2023 at 10:22 pm

P2 penipu scalper, in the past RM 50k can get you full spec Myvi. Now P2 downgraded buyers from Bsegment to Asegment. Shame on you for insulting buyers P2!

• These components are made in mega msnufacturing plants. I don’t think its cost effective to build a stand alone plant just for perodua. It has to be manufactured for several car companies.

• Senang cite selagi T n D tak giat buat ev,selagi tu p2 pun takleh buat lg.

• historian on Feb 01, 2023 at 3:37 pm

while it makes perfect business sense to have a local factory, the risk is endless. Jenjarom stories of the past, all comes back to mind.

• KennethTho on Feb 01, 2023 at 4:36 pm

that is true. A battery plant is not a simple car workshop, it brings with it environmental and health concerns. So far all battery factories in Malaysia has had its fair share of bad press (poor governance, shoddy disposal of chemicals) so dont blame the locals for not trusting yet another battery factory locally.

• car battery for EV arent using LEAD

perodua fans really dont read at all?

EV car battery manufacturing is absolutely high tech stuff, and i dont think it will be Made in Malaysia.

Even USA is forcing/begging people to go to setup factory in USA.

Malaysia? LOL, be grateful to get outdated 3cylinder 1.5 turbo from geely to manufacture here.