2023 Audi RS e-tron GT seen undisguised in Malaysia before Q2 launch – 598 PS, 830 Nm, 487 km EV range

The Audi RS e-tron GT has been sighted in Malaysia ahead of a planned in Q2 this year, with this example being sighted at EQ Kuala Lumpur. PHS Automotive Malaysia’s (PHSAM), which is the official distributor of Audi vehicles in the country, previously announced that it would introduce a range of e-tron electric vehicles and has already begun accepting registrations of interest.

The 2022 World Performance Car of the Year first made its debut back in 2021 and is based on the J1 platform that is also used by the Porsche Taycan. With two electric motors for all-wheel drive, the RS e-tron GT has a total system output of 598 PS (590 hp or 440 kW) 830 Nm of torque, with boost mode bumping power up briefly to 646 PS (637 hp or 475 kW).

In terms of performance, the RS e-tron GT takes 3.3 seconds to get from 0-100 km/h on its way to a speed of 250 km/h. As for range, the 85-kWh lithium battery provides 487 km (WLTP) and supports DC fast charging (CCS2) thanks to the 800-volt electrical architecture. The maximum DC input is 270 kW, which can get the battery from a 5-80% state of charge in just 22.5 minutes. There’s also AC charging (Type 2) up to 22 kW (upgradable from 11 kW).

Besides the RS e-tron GT, PHSAM will also offer the standard e-tron GT quattro that also has a dual-motor setup, albeit providing 476 PS (469 hp or 350 kW) and 630 Nm, or 530 PS (523 hp or 390 kW) when boost mode is engaged. The non-RS variant requires 4.1 seconds to complete the century sprint and has a slightly lower top speed of 245 km/h.

We don’t have Malaysian pricing just yet, but in Germany, the e-tron GT quattro starts from 104,000 euros (RM483,172), while the RS e-tron GT is from 142,500 euros (RM666,184). With current EV incentives in play, how much do you think Audi’s electric sportback will retail for when it is launched here?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• I love Audis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Richie bunny on Feb 04, 2023 at 10:14 am

I LOVE Audi, I always ride in BMW and Merc during teen so feel boring. I then owned and drove 2 brand new Audi frm age 21, the A4 and at 23, the A6! After tht I dont love them anymore. I realised how advance is BMW driving and comfort and reliability and continue to own BMW till now. Too bad I once said BMw for old man and laugh at it when my family propose a BMW for my birthday because my dad always drive those car. Now I understood. You can try Audi too. You might end up knowing all the service center staffs. Lol. Gd Luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
      • Isaac on Feb 04, 2023 at 4:04 pm

So if you drive Mercedes, you will face more problems than buying Audi. The reasons also on why Audi is more reliable than Mercedes

• Isaac on Feb 04, 2023 at 4:05 pm

From Jety said,

“Btw, My C Class W206 owner just bought two months ago, suspension that produces sounds, wierd sound from interior, car jerking after starting the engine, many loose parts, boot cannot close properly, power window jammed, isofix cover broken and screen sometimes hang.

Already went to Mercedes sc to fix my car but still can’t even solved till today that happened before Christmas but only isofix cover already fix and boot door already fixed so far”

This is real truth

I also owned S Class in 2020, but two months later come out with so many problems, many loose parts, active safety system also got problems, auto start stop function issues, brake squeaking sounds that very annoying sometimes, car boot open and close got crack sounds, gear shifts sometimes can be jerky when change back to comfort mode and whatever I have issues. Same issues as Jety when going to service center so many times till today can’t solved but more problems coming

• Isaac on Feb 04, 2023 at 4:06 pm

If you think audi is not good, why not try mercedes, you will realize that how many any of mercedes owners have been facing many problems until now. Not only just c class owners, also other mercedes models owners and my s class also facing many problems until now. Much worse experience than any other brands bro. Even Audi is better than mercedes

• Bobby on Feb 06, 2023 at 3:20 pm

I love my A5. It has been many years and I still like to have a peek at him after i made the park. When you really floor it, it will make you smile. Sure there is problems and i think all car have problems and you gotta fix it if you like it. Regarding the warning light, i told my friends it is best to get to know which part has issue than not knowing it when it fails. You gonna stand for your Audi when other is pick pointing them.

• Keyboard warrior on Feb 03, 2023 at 5:07 pm

The only Audi that did not resemble Volkswagen

• Breeze on Feb 03, 2023 at 6:07 pm

Isn’t this just a Taycan underneath?

• Pur gomen penalise EV cars like this Audi with hefty road tax by 2026. The gomen mentality still the same as during merdeka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • Better don’t tax anymore. People love dream cars just like this Audi

• 1st glance i tot new arteon

• hazri on Feb 04, 2023 at 2:02 am

ah lawa giler. siapa tengok sekali, dia pasti tengok lagi sekali.

• The road tax in 2026 will kill this car. The gomen not really trying to get us electrified but more like electrifried.

• Darth Zoom on Feb 05, 2023 at 12:16 pm

LOL All Audi cars are overpriced & overrated – all there’s road cars are pricey (compare to Mercs/BMW) – even this cost more than Tycan
    Marketing mental problem

• If Audi make the price cheaper than BMW/Mercs, will be better buy, especially for electric cars

• Zahid Hamidi on Feb 05, 2023 at 2:41 pm

My dream car.

• Jeffrey Chew on Feb 06, 2023 at 3:48 pm

brought from Singapore