Mazda “not sure” if CX-5 will get new model successor

The future of the Mazda CX-5 is uncertain despite its sales successes, Car Expert, as the Japanese manufacturer has commenced production for another two mid-sized SUV models, the CX-50 and the CX-60.

“I’m not sure whether we are going to introduce a [new] CX-5 or not,” current programme manager for the CX-5 Mitsuru Wakiie told the Australian publication. The CX-5 received a facelift in September 2021, which suggests that the C-segment SUV has several years still to go in its current lifecycle.

The CX-5 has been the brand’s biggest seller in 2022, with 365,135 units of the SUV delivered out of the 1,116,107 vehicles sold globally last year. In other words, the CX-5 accounted for nearly one-third of the Japanese brand’s total volume in 2022.

Mazda CX-50 (left), Mazda CX-60 (right)

According to Car Expert, the CX-5 was also Mazda’s biggest seller in Australia last year with 27,062 units sold Down Under, second to the Toyota RAV4 which sold 34,845 units in Australia last year.

The US-market-only CX-50 is made at the Mazda Toyota Manufacturing (MTM) plant in Huntsville, Alabama, and is the first from Mazda to be built at the facility, while the CX-60 is a Japan-built, European-market offering that is the brand’s first plug-in hybrid that makes 327 PS and 500 Nm in combined output.

The CX-60 uses a longitudinally-oriented powertrain for a rear-wheel-drive-biased layout. By contrast, the CX-50 is on a transverse-engined layout that is shared with the CX-30 and therefore closer to the driveline of the CX-5.

GALLERY: 2022 Mazda CX-5 facelift

GALLERY: Mazda CX-50

GALLERY: Mazda CX-60

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• ROTI CANAI on Feb 08, 2023 at 6:41 pm

correction, cx-50 is also sold in china.

• Makes Tata Proud Again on Feb 09, 2023 at 10:27 am

Matsuda motor following the path of saab automobile

• “The Mazda CX-5 will live on post the brand’s push upmarket led by the CX-60 and CX-90 SUVs, with the manufacturer confirming that a new-generation model will be arriving to take on vehicles like the Toyota RAV4 Hybrid, Subaru Forester and Nissan X-Trail.”
    Yasuhiro Aoyama, Mazda’s Director and Senior Managing Executive Officer

• anonymous on Feb 09, 2023 at 11:50 am

i wished Bermaz brought in the facelifted CX-5 into Malaysia with updated features to reflect what’s offered globally. ours hasn’t been updated since 2019 and it’s sad because Mazda around the world gives their cars periodic updates. seems like ever since they took on Kia and Peugeot, Mazda has been left on the back burner. the CX-5 would be perfect if it included the MRCC, Bose speakers and the paddle shifters.

• Shut up and take my money. Lol. on Feb 10, 2023 at 9:47 pm

Yup. We don’t care if Mazda increase the price for the full spec variant if they include all the goodies. We have the money, and we want all that things on our car. For me, I don’t want to go to ‘Abang’ shop to get fitted because factory quality much better than all the accessories shop. Trust me.

C’mon Mazda, you’re better than this.

• AppleTree on Feb 13, 2023 at 10:06 am

Why want to kill a model that is the best? CX-5 is way cheaper than CX-50 and target a different audience. CX-5 is both young and mature alike, where-else the CX-X0 ranges are targeted at more younger and active lifestyle group.

So I think it is unwise to remove CX-5 as CX-50 will never be on the same category with those competitors.

• eeeriz on Feb 20, 2023 at 12:11 pm

CX-50 will not come to Msia as it is for US model only.. so no worries.

• Mazda can be kind of dumb sometimes. And slow.. and frustrating.
    Kind of like a really talented friend who got hooked on dope.

• Sghtan on Aug 15, 2023 at 8:01 pm

Maybe they should hire you as their consultant since you are way smarter than them, a company that was founded more than 100 years ago.

• suomynona on Aug 16, 2023 at 5:05 pm

Deeep

• Mazda can be dumb sometimes. And slow.. and frustrating.
    Kind of like a really talented friend who got hooked on dope.