Malaysian police says please park in the proper place

A reminder from the Malaysia police Traffic Enforcement and Investigation Department (JSPT) to park your vehicle in the proper parking spot. Coming in the form of an infographic posted on JSPT social media, parking places are detailed with illustrations.

Road users are reminded cars and motorcycles have properly demarcated spaces, while reserved parking spots are outlined in red. Disabled parking is clearly marked in blue with appropriate signage for wheelchair users while the act of “reserving” parking lots using chairs, umbrellas, hawker stalls and the like is expressly forbidden.

Additionally, drivers are admonished not to double park so as to avoid inconvenience to others or cause traffic congestion. Any individual not obeying parking rules is subject to a summons under the Road Rules and Regulations 1959 or under the Road Transport Rules (Vehicle Parking) under the relevant local council by-laws.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• nak gelak ke nak nangis. Anggota polis patut bagi contoh utk ni. Ramai anggota kalau singgah kedai, main park bsepah, terutamanya yang bawa moto.

• wild wild west deputy sherif on Feb 10, 2023 at 4:32 pm

that’s the consequences for not yet empowering IPCMC to check and balance on police misconduct.

• newme on Feb 09, 2023 at 12:28 pm

As like the illustration will create any difference.

Put lah images of people being punished and the types of punishment and its amount.

• call me by your name on Feb 09, 2023 at 12:34 pm

its easier to execute infographic’s kpi rather than actually enforcing the rules eh

• i never once be a nuisance to ppl by double parking and also not wanting to risk a scratch on my beloved car. if the place is full, i will just proceed to visit other place or park further away.

• yusry kru on Feb 09, 2023 at 1:17 pm

u must understand, this is malaysia

• Malaysians are not so smart and also not trainable?

• Fat mama with tons of birkin handbags on Feb 10, 2023 at 6:45 am

Recalcitrant MNV
        Hello,train ? What type of weed r u smoking ?
        Stop hallucinating.The training stops at the driving school.
        Enforcement is strictly needed.PDRM..why must u say “PLEASE ?”

• It’s wrong to say it’s normal to misbehave because it was never a Malaysia way ..as stated in the Rukun Negara …Kesopanan & Kesusilaan

• Mohd Ramlan Mahmud on Feb 10, 2023 at 4:52 pm

This comment I totally agree, how on earth the police really ĝoing to enforced.

• Johnny on Feb 09, 2023 at 1:42 pm

If got sufficient parking space, for sure drivers won’t simply park due to risk having cars kena saman or being towed away. But this topic is also not new, but situation is getting worst. Instead of telling the problem, perhaps better provide a solution so all can benefit?

• Mr Fakta on Feb 09, 2023 at 5:23 pm

I always saw cars double park even there’s plenty of parking spot down the road, some are just lazy can’t walk a few meters. Can’t denied parking is not sufficient, gov should force developers to provide let say 20 parking lots per shop lot.

• The solution is people should educate them self how not to be selfish……

• Mr Fakta on Feb 09, 2023 at 2:22 pm

If Malaysian has this mentality, we would be as advanced and rich as Japan.

• Curious on Feb 09, 2023 at 2:46 pm

Can pdrm or town council giv a clear guidelines that ” petal sewa khas” is only valid during office hrs and after working hrs or public holidays can b utilize by others.

• neverending problem on Feb 09, 2023 at 2:50 pm

this is an on-going problem with no end in sight. It seemed that vehicles has increased a lot in the past 2 years. Weird but true. Suddenly after MCO, the roads are even more congested. This directly relates to insufficient parking spaces. If we dont fix the root cause, more problems will appear soon.

• Unker Sam on Feb 09, 2023 at 3:31 pm

Cakap kosong, enforcement mana? Rules and regulations since beginning of time, people still doublepark, block exits and junctions, park on handicapped and EV spaces, dll. Siapa peduli? Motobodo lagi berani, park on walkways, car park spaces, behind or in front of vertical parked cars, mcm2..lagi no action taken, b40 kot?

• Viknes on Feb 09, 2023 at 4:05 pm

There is no point in making laws when there is no enforcement. There are thousands of parking violations daily. Imagine the amount of income the government earns if enforcement officer just did what they are paid to do. No one is asking them to do extra work. Just do your damn job. With revenue from compounds of illegal tint and parking, tens of millions can be collected. Elected officials take note.

• The Govt should give 10% commission for each summons issued to the enforcement officer. Then you will see they will be highly motivated.

• Sue Thomas on Feb 09, 2023 at 4:52 pm

As if these big kids wanna obey or follow…my arse!

• Charlie on Feb 09, 2023 at 4:52 pm

Here in Melaka it’s difficult to get an oku parking lot. If you find one, some one without a oku sticker will park his /her car in that’s lot. Besides the oku parking lot is very narrow. Hope the authority will do something about it.

• Woo Chee seng on Feb 09, 2023 at 5:07 pm

Tell that to the mamak shops who occupied parking lots in the evenings especially in PJ Paramount gardens!

• Orang Asli on Feb 09, 2023 at 11:17 pm

Mamak is above the law lah.. they got cable. One night DBKL towed away my car coz I parked,70 metre away from mamak restaurant. Funny those car parked in front of Mamak Restaurant DBKL di not summon or tow away. . What a double standard.

• Temiang Empire Mall on Feb 10, 2023 at 4:36 pm

same goes PJ SS2, corner lot chinese kopitiam behind magicboo closed off whole road for tables and chairs after every sunset.

• FudgeMeSideways on Feb 09, 2023 at 6:12 pm

Or else what?

• Hendak seribu daya, tak hendak seribu dalih.

Police and JPJ should enforce and do extra rounds to catch people who don’t obey the rules and law. Double-parkers, taking up two spots for one car, motorbikes simply park anywhere they want although those spots are designated for pedestrians and OKUs. Do your job!

• Dr Rah on Feb 09, 2023 at 10:18 pm

The day we find cars and bikes parked properly without double parking and bikes not parked at car parking lots is the day the authorities have succeeded in their enforcement. Will this happen is a question mark to me.

• Need to add car parking in bike parking. At CBD near my place this always happens too.

• Orang Asli on Feb 09, 2023 at 11:11 pm

Am always very calculative.. hence avoid committing any traffic offence… Summon can steal my money lah… And I don’t one to gaduh with any body …so I try my best to be a good citizen lah

• Nincompoop on Feb 10, 2023 at 12:54 am

I’d like to see how effective the enforcement will be without fear or favour or favouritism, more so on Fridays during prayer times

• Fed up!! on Feb 10, 2023 at 8:29 am

Police, DBKL, please come to Kepong, near ,Petron, more often. Big 4WD parking on pavement meant for walking., at junctions, in front of bus stand, etc. Do something. !!?

• Gabriel on Feb 10, 2023 at 11:44 am

Police and local council enforcement personnels should patrol such areas by walking around and issuing tickets. People dare to break the rules because of no enforcement.

• Tell how am I supposed to park my motorcycle at the atria mall area? There’s no motorcycle parking given.

• Petak Parkir yang disediakan terdapat penjaja meletakkan kerusi Dan ianya merumikat bagi kenderaan. Jika dialihkan perselisihan Akan berlaku. Penguatkuasa perlu buat tindakan. Yang kena Saman kenderaan.

• Johnny on Feb 10, 2023 at 2:15 pm

What about motorcycles, parking at car parking lot. Is it acceptable

• Nasir on Feb 11, 2023 at 7:13 am

Where got please please… get out on to the streets and do your job diligently…. issue summons …no talk2

• Ah Liew on Feb 11, 2023 at 8:19 am

Infografik pun buat real sikit la. Where got parking lot so long and wide. Most parking, kalu pakai MPV or pickup truck, backside sure sticking out. Or side by side less than 1ft between cars. Enforcement pun kurang, jarang nampak mat trafik buat rounding. Seriously, cakap only, infografik alone won’t make a diff.

• Alphonso on Feb 11, 2023 at 4:36 pm

Yang mana salah guna oku sticker pin tolong tolong tengokkan….ada yang org ada anak atau org tua yang bukan oku mengguna mereka sebagai alasan

• I think i agree, sorry if i offended our fellow Malaysian but it seems we are too lazy to park far and walk to the destination but if you go to such as japan, Singapore you will see they all do that. i think we need more parenting (police, enforcement & etc) to punish more then only we willing to do that. There is a parking area, if dont wan to park, take train or grab etc. I once do that too but i driven at other countries and it changed my behaviour.

• Asoka on Feb 12, 2023 at 4:30 pm

Just 2 new laws needed to improve the situation overnight.
    1. Yes, 10% of the saman amount to be given as commission to the arresting officer.
    2. Tow the vehicle away to be auctioned off for charity, and 10% of the sale price to go to the police retirement fund. Any outstanding loan payments must still be paid by the original owner.
    In Japan people follow the rules because they have natural disciplie. In Singapore it’s because the police enforce the law. In Malaysia there is a lack of discipline and enforcement. Many years ago I complained and the transport minister just said to leave it to the public to be educated. When, how, in what way? That’s only an excuse for doing nothing. Tough laws with strong incentives for enforcement will solve the problem immediately.