Hannah Yeoh: Make Malaysian motorsports affordable

Making Malaysian motorsports affordable is in the plans, says Youth and Sports (KBS) minister Hannah Yeoh. During her welcome speech at the 30 Years of Malaysian Cub Prix dinner, Yeoh said finances is an issue in Malaysian motorsport.

“How can we make this (motorsports) more affordable?” asks Yeoh. “When I meet the sports associations they tell me they have no money and when I return to Putrajaya then the government tells me they don’t have money too.”

Saying she heads one of the smallest ministries in Malaysia today, Yeoh is exercising her creative mandate to engage with partners in finding “out of the box” solutions to promoting motorsports. Saying greater co-ordination among ministries is required, Yeoh believes “we can grow anything in Malaysia.”

Commenting on the successful expansion of the Malaysian Cub Prix over the past three decades, Yeoh said Cub Prix has only received a grant from KBS once, in 2018. “And yet, you have been successful in such a scale over a period of time,” she said.

Yeoh said she wants to co-ordinate amongst government ministries and agencies to remove “roadblocks” that stand in the way of productive investment in motorsports and “money should not be pumped in to solving bureaucracy.” “How do we make it affordable? By removing roadblocks,” Yeoh says.

Saying race organisers mentioned having to go from ministry to ministry in order to meet government officers for approvals and wasting time, Yeoh says she has instructed KBS to look into organising “open day” meetings every month to put all agencies together in one location so that organisers “don’t have to run all over the place.”

Yeoh also emphasised race organisers should work with the Malaysian Association of Motorsports (MAM) and not use the excuse it is expensive to make it (motorsports) safe. “We have no choice, we are dealing with very young lives and KBS with MAM has released a list of venues that are audited and considered to be safe,” said Yeoh in indirect reference to the fatal racing incident at Datuk Sagor.

“There have been many requests from state governments for more tracks to be built, but that is not going to be easy as we have very limited funding,” said Yeoh. “What kind of model can we put together to ensure we have more infrastructure but is not dependant on government for maintenance,” added Yeoh.

Yeoh also called on organisers to make motorsports inspiring for young people. “In order to inspire young people you have to give them more platforms to race safely,” Yeoh said.

With grassroots racing organisers such as MSF, Yeoh says things have to be done differently. “Don’t do the same things every year and expect things to improve,” said Yeoh, “we have to transform motorsports into a lifestyle thing.”

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Ah Chong on Feb 20, 2023 at 3:31 pm

Why not promote off road racing? Unless I’m being ignorant, an off road track should be much cheaper to maintain, no?

Then if they get dual sport bikes, those thing fits perfectly well on our pothole ridden roads too.

• Scraper on Feb 22, 2023 at 6:25 pm

A good offroad bike sets you back at least rm40k. And this does not include body protection. And dual sports are not cheap either. The ministry should talk to the MOF about scrapping or reducing import duties on these bikes.

• electric is the future on Feb 20, 2023 at 3:34 pm

when can we allow electric motorbikes to compete?

• mana boleh on Feb 20, 2023 at 3:40 pm

habis pao semua motor petrol.

• Sohail on Feb 20, 2023 at 4:38 pm

Not really, different bike has its racing category.
        Then you get affordable Racing lifestyle @ the circuit.

• newme on Feb 20, 2023 at 4:25 pm

They have all the highways at their disposal. How much more affordable you want it to be?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • donno on Feb 20, 2023 at 4:35 pm

What KBS can do is, try to replicate the success of CubPrix to other types of motorsports that has potential to put malaysian drivers/riders into the world championships.

– entry level tintop racing 1 make cup (below even the vios cup), then a national/regional TCA cup as ladder to world TCA/endurance racing

– revival of motorcross / enduro events

– revival of rally events. needs entry level cup with simple rules and low racing costs that gives a level playing field.

• Sohai on Feb 20, 2023 at 4:38 pm

Why she needed to mention she heads the smallest ministry? Youth and Sports is a very strategic ministry to engage the younger generation voters in Malaysia. It is also a key component to foster unity among the youth and future generation. There is really no need to set lower expectations and tell people how difficult your job is with no money and all. Can you guarantee outcome if a big allocation is given to you? If you are not up to the job, please do the right thing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Ben Yap on Feb 21, 2023 at 9:18 am

hannah is promoting rempit in a legal environment. who cares about motorsports? they will never be a motogp or F1 racer coz Malaysians are generally not as talented. better ask them to pursue their studies to Masters or PhD.

• Greg’s response on Feb 21, 2023 at 5:43 pm

You’re negative and blind. Obviously you don’t watch motorcycle racing of any type. You’re just commenting because of your dislike on moto sport. You should be ashamed of yourself as a Malaysian as you’ve no faith and believe in the future.
      Why encourage basketball, football, tennis etc in the country when there’s no world beaters here.

• Ahmad badrul on Feb 21, 2023 at 11:58 pm

Stupid take

• aismen on Mar 03, 2023 at 3:06 pm

MotoGP & F1 don’t have to be the end game and be all end all. Drivers/riders can always bring their talent elsewhere.

• stick on Feb 21, 2023 at 9:44 am

motorsports are a waste of time and resources and lives, just ban it altogether for the sake of humanity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Scraper on Feb 22, 2023 at 6:27 pm

A good offroad bike sets you back at least rm40k. And this does not include body protection. And dual sports are not cheap either. The ministry should talk to the MOF about scrapping or reducing import duties on these bikes.

• Kok Siong Lee on Feb 22, 2023 at 8:52 pm

Hannah is no motor-head, else she would understand the tri-state compromise of the motoring world….
    Fast+Cheap = Not safe
    Safe+Cheap = Not fast…
    Safe+Fast = Not cheap!