Rapid KL launches ‘Bas Parlimen’, a free mini bus service from KL Sentral and Taman Botani carpark

This cute little bus is officially called the T851 free feeder bus, but let’s call it the Bas Parlimen. That’s because Rapid KL’s latest route is to take people from KL Sentral and the carpark at Taman Botani Perdana to the parliament.

You’re asking why, just like this writer did. Well, it’s because of the lack of parking at the parliament. According to transport minister Anthony Loke 2,000 cars enter parliament on average every day that it is in sitting, but there are only 500 parking bays.

“This means that three-quarters of cars that enter parliament will find it hard to find parking unless you come very, very early. This also affects those who have work at parliament, including the media and officers, who are forced to line up for a very long time every morning to enter parliament and to take their safety passes,” he said today, reported by Malay Mail.

The Seremban MP said that the process of entering parliament can take up to an hour. “We want to provide quality of life. The service is currently on a trial run as a proof of concept. After this, we will see what improvements need to be made,” he added. Now we know.

Provided by Prasarana at a cost of RM800 per day per bus, the T851 starts at KL Sentral’s ERL departure side and heads to the Taman Botani Perdana multi-storey carpark before going to parliament. The Lake Gardens carpark is the nearest big parking facility to parliament. The frequency will be every 30 minutes during peak hours and every hour during non-peak hours.

Bas Parlimen will no doubt be a boon to members of the media covering parliament, but will we also see our Yang Berhormats ride the bus?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• no study done on Feb 20, 2023 at 3:29 pm

how does this benefit the public?

• Ahli Parlimen Pekan on Feb 20, 2023 at 3:39 pm

only those who works in parliment benefit this.
      Paid for by tax payers

• RM800/day/Bus by Prasarana,

Good begining, I wish my Office Tower supply this service to my House too.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Feb 20, 2023 at 9:11 pm

Hahaha pushing MPs to ride
          Not everyday Alphard waiting

• taweel on Feb 20, 2023 at 4:04 pm

So anyone can enter Parliament just like that?

• Jimho on Feb 20, 2023 at 5:56 pm

I’d like to ride the bus to Parliament, for a visit & to plead with just a few influential ones who should be alarmed with the ongoing govt encouragement advice for us to take the latest (poison) jabs – that’s still injuring, maiming, killing ppl worldwide. Plz stop thinking of the money benefits. Plz stop the pharma/who genocide. Mr Tan, plz post this, for the sake of saving human lives. Be brave. tq

• Sick&Tired on Feb 20, 2023 at 7:58 pm

Dude, the jabs (I assume you are referring to covid vaccine) are least of your problems! I highly recommend you get psychiatric help!

• Healthy&Energetic on Feb 21, 2023 at 9:20 am

dont worry, JIMHO will be gone as soon as he caught the covid virus, because he is anti-vaccine.

• orang biasa mcm saya boleh naik ka?