Ram 1500 REV electric pick-up truck sells out in 5 days

Stellantis group’s Ram Trucks brand will be entering the EV market with its new Ram 1500 REV. Released along with a bunch of production vehicle images is this cheeky and suggestive 60 second TV commercial which debuted at the this year’s Big Game on Feb 12

The spot features Emmy-nominated actor Jason Jones (“The Detour,” “The Flight Attendant,” “The Daily Show”) as he addresses head-on some potential electrification anxieties that consumers may have about purchasing an all-electric vehicle, including range, power and payload.

Curiously, all the material related to the Ram 1500 REV seems to indicate it is a pure electric truck, but there are some parts of the commercial that suggest that it could have a range extender.

However, we found no evidence of a fuel-powered range extender engine anywhere in whatever’s released so far, and the space under the hood where the engine would typically be has a storage frunk. Could a variant with a range-extender be in the works, and just not revealed yet?

In any case, Ram’s customers are loving it anyway, as the truck’s pre-order volume has reportedly been sold out after just 5 days.

Would you like an electric truck in Malaysia? Perhaps a Proton-badged Radar RD6 to support your outdoor activities such as cycling? Let us know in the comments.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ray Chong on Feb 21, 2023 at 1:47 pm

it makes me envy those living in 1st world countries, where the people collectively embrace new tech. Looking back to the local scene, we still get a huge chunk of the population with backwards mindset, and outright objecting electric vehicles. How can we ever be anything other than a 3rd world society?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 32
    • Izzat on Feb 21, 2023 at 4:18 pm

Bersyukurlah boss tinggal di Malaysia. Bila rakyat guna kereta isi minyak, kata otak kebelangan. Bukan semua di negara maju indah2 belaka. Kalau envy sangat, pindah Sana. Case closed. Tq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • Syukri on Feb 22, 2023 at 9:56 am

“Kalau envy sangat, pindah sana”. Bagus! You are the reason why we are still in a backwards minded country. Someone tries to compare and help people to think that our country should change its mindset and yet there are people like you who are still so stubborn to change. You my friend, have just displayed what he pointed out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 32
  • om ram ramaya on Feb 21, 2023 at 3:41 pm

this is a huge pickup ev not your typical compact size pickup ranger hiilux storm navara

• Tortilla on Feb 21, 2023 at 6:59 pm

Looks ugly but sold off?
    Did they achieved 100,000 bookings first 5 days?

https://paultan.org/2019/11/25/tesla-cybertruck-received-nearly-150k-bookings-despite-launch-glitch-over-80-avoided-base-model/
    Tesla “sold off” 200,000 units cybertruck at first 3 days.

• Butoh hang on Feb 22, 2023 at 5:54 pm

Bersyukur harga telor dah turun! Kwsp pun buleh keluak