Government looking at extending the maximum renewal period of a driving licence to 10 years – Loke

If you’ve been wishing for the ability to renew your driving licence for a longer period than the maximum of five years that is allowed right now, your wish may come true in the near future, because the transport ministry says it is considering extending the maximum renewal to 10 years, as the New Straits Times reports.

According to transport minister Anthony Loke, the ministry is looking to extend the validity period of the driver’s licence beyond the current five-year cap, and that he had requested for the transport ministry to look into allowing motorists to be able to renew their licence for up to 10 years.

He added that a move to allow the public to renew their licence for up to 10 years would also add to the government’s coffers. “There is a need to review the extension to 10 years for the licence validity. When a driving licence is renewed, it generates income for the government through the road transport department (JPJ),” he said in the Dewan Rakyat.

At present, it costs RM30 per year to renew a Class D driving licence, with a minimum renewal duration of one year and a maximum of five years, so a 10-year renewal would mean forking out RM300. While not everyone is likely to opt for such a long validity period, having the choice would allow those wanting it the ability to do so.

What are your thoughts on extending the maximum renewal period for a driving licence? Share them with us in the comments section.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• an issue to note on Feb 23, 2023 at 9:49 am

Malaysians should be required to come back in person and get tested that they are physically fit enough to drive/ride before their license can be renewed every few years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Lawrence on Feb 23, 2023 at 10:02 am

Good idea! I will definitely renew it for 10 years

• Out of ideas ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • The Forgotten on Feb 23, 2023 at 10:12 am

I would renew the licence for the 10 years option then on the next decade, I wil surely forgot that I need to renew it again. LOL

• Nak lesen rahmah RM5 setahun bulih ke?

• Mikasa on Feb 23, 2023 at 10:30 am

Give discount based on tenure renew. Imagine how much the cost saving for printing the licence for 10 yrs

• Govt should give a discount option if renewing for 10 years. Example RM200 for 10 years instead of RM300.This will incentivize people to renew it for a longer period and it will contribute to government’s coffers.

• Sohai on Feb 23, 2023 at 10:58 am

10 years? Why not just have a perpectual life time license? Charge rm1k lah

• Tan Bian Liang on Feb 23, 2023 at 11:21 am

Make it an options.

• Susukotak on Feb 23, 2023 at 11:57 am

Tapi apa keperluan renew & bayar tiap2 tahun? Exam spm bukan tiap2 tahun, dah lulus.. kira lulus la.

• Back in the 80s, you can renew your licence up to 10 years

• Back in the 80s, the Malay ladies all melt my heart with their kebayas and baju kurung. That time no PAS nonsense yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • make the KTM komuter train arrive/depart on time first lah… is 30mins late acceptable??

• TlKing on Feb 23, 2023 at 4:08 pm

Should consider given rebate or discount for senior citizen like 1yr Rm15.00

• Bieight8 on Feb 23, 2023 at 4:51 pm

License renew fees should be based on the driver saman record, if the driver is clean that should get discount but dirty driver should pay higher fees…

• In UK, once you pass driving test, you get driving license valid till you reach 65 years old. No need to renew

• Habibu on Feb 24, 2023 at 8:45 am

Renew….waste time, what did the officer do during renew ? Just key in system we are alive ?

• Driver licence is given because the person has passed the exam that he is capable to drive safely. It should be granted cos that is his right and not fair to remove his licence unless he committed a serious traffic offense. Should not charge any fee and no renewals required.