Go To-U Rekascape chargers now cost RM1.60/kWh

After an introductory period where EV owners could charge for free, the Go To-U EV Lifestyle Hub in Rekascape, Cyberjaya has moved to a pay per use model. The fee to use the chargers is now set at RM1.60 per kWh.

The Rekascape chargers have the option to charge by kWh instead of by time because it is the recipient of an EVCS license from the Energy Commission of Malaysia. Though note that while an EVCS license allows per kWh instead of per minute time-based pricing, it is not compulsory for the charger operator to provide per kWh pricing, which is why many sites with EVCS license still continue with time-based pricing.

While per kWh pricing is deemed to be ‘fairer’ to all types of EVs because of the different rates that each EV can be charged at, time-based pricing has the advantage of discouraging charger-hogging at highway sites where there might be a queue to use the charger.

The Rekascape hub features two DC fast charging stations by Star Charge capable of delivering up to 60 kW of power. Each charger has two guns, so a total of four EVs can charge at the hub at the same time. If two EVs are charging at the same charger, the charger’s 60 kW of power is divided to 30 kW for each connected EV.

To operate the charger, you need to download the Go To-U app linked below.

LINK: Go To-U app on Apple App Store
LINK: Go To-U app on Google Play Store

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Bieight8 on Mar 11, 2023 at 10:07 am

What they should do is if the battery is bellow 80% price will be based on kwh after that will be time based

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • So how much I kena charge for a Kona Electric? Can do a price comparison between an ICE and an electric car whenever I want to charge on the road?

• SCion on Mar 11, 2023 at 2:55 pm

Why so expensive that is RM1.60 per 5km!

• Amriji on Mar 11, 2023 at 8:58 pm

We can always charge at other operators. Hence why we need more players in this space.

• chris p bacon on Mar 13, 2023 at 12:31 pm

can charge at home?

• EVWEE5445 on Mar 14, 2023 at 3:45 pm

How di you get 1Kw/5Km . Currently the WORST EV has about ~23kw/100KM and best at ~ 12kw/100km. Assuming Rm1.60/kw….. 36.8Cents/km and 19.2Cents/Km. Much Cheaper if you Charge at Home using your own electricity. Max at Rm0.46/kw .

• Bangkok on Mar 11, 2023 at 5:26 pm

Same in Thailand everywhere is about ev now restaurant that can charge while you eat and the growing numbers of ev on road is big plenty of models and Thailand is producing the Byd seal now soon on sale testing all the time in bangkok

• super tai lin ngong on Mar 11, 2023 at 9:33 pm

wah ….sounds like expensive la….like that only the rich 5% can play this toy

• Li Peng on Mar 12, 2023 at 11:22 am

“has the advantage of discouraging charger-hogging at highway sites where there might be a queue to use the charger.”
    Then petrol should be also sold time based to discourage fuel pump hogging?
    The advantage has the owner of the charger only, as the needed capacity is lower if the battery is >80% charged.

• stasta on Mar 14, 2023 at 11:37 pm

petrol flow rate is constant. electric charge rate depends on how full the vehicle battery is.

• Baldwin V, Count of Flanders on Mar 12, 2023 at 7:25 pm

EV is not for saving your money. It is for saving the environment.

• Miner on Mar 13, 2023 at 10:05 pm

By destroying the environment by mining cobalt, copper, rare earth and lithium?

• evlim44 on Mar 14, 2023 at 3:47 pm

You guys have been BRAINWASHED by Lobbies from ICE manufacturers and Oil Companies. Do your own researched.

• Bro Baldwin, please pass me your credit card, so that I can use it whenever I need to charge my EV… then we save the environment together – gether…