Mazda prices in Malaysia to be increased by as much as RM26,200 from April 1? Mazda 2 from RM114k?

It looks like the prices of some Mazda models in Malaysia will go up come April 1, 2023, at least according to a photo of a presentation slide that has been going around social media.

Many of the models seen in the photo are accompanied by the term ‘New IPM’ which is an internal code denoting a refresh or minor year model updates. These include the Mazda 2 that recently received a facelift in Japan and will apparently see its price go up by RM10,200.

The Mazda 2 we have now comes fully imported (CBU) from Thailand and starts from RM103,670 on-the-road without insurance for the hatchback version – the sedan is an extra RM500. As such, a price hike of that magnitude for the IPM model would increase the starting price to RM113,870.

Next up, the Mazda 3 that is a CBU Japan model will be priced RM10,200 more with the IPM version. With pricing for the C-segment model currently starting at RM143,320 and peaking at RM161,059 (we’re excluding the Ignite Edition that goes for RM170,059), the Mazda 3 IPM would technically range between RM153,520 and RM171,259.

Another CBU Japan model listed is the Mazda 6, which will see prices go up by as much as RM26,200 with the IPM version. The base 2.0 variant is priced at RM176,159 and is listed to get a price bump of RM4,200, bringing the figure up to RM180,359.

The 2.5 Touring, which is a wagon, sees the second highest price bump for the Mazda 6 at RM12,200, which would mean a final figure of RM230,848 (up from RM218,648 currently). The 2.5 Sedan that is now at RM214,648 will go up by RM26,200 to hit RM240,848 from April 1. The last named CBU Japan model is the MX-5, with both the manual and automatic variants going up by RM4,200 to reach RM277,354 and RM279,354 respectively.

Another model mentioned in the slide is the CX-30, which is now locally assembled (CKD) in Malaysia and comes in four variants. The price increase is stated as RM3,500, bringing the starting price of the crossover from RM128,109 to RM131,609. Meanwhile, a price increase of RM200 will apply to other models not mentioned, which should include the CX-3, CX-5, CX-8, CX-9 and BT-50.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Leonnard on Mar 30, 2023 at 6:34 pm

Speculated scam?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
    • Mazdarati on Mar 30, 2023 at 8:25 pm

Mazda is now BMW level. so price vely affordable,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 57
      • Rafizi Anwar Sallahudin & Co (RAS & Co) on Mar 30, 2023 at 9:18 pm

Mazda 2 ridiculous premium pricing.
        One can get the latest base Vios plus spare cash to get preowned Myvi or Axia.
        Anyway,Pure hardcore Mazda fanboys will still buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
        • Sofano on Mar 30, 2023 at 10:13 pm

But Mazda 2 don’t have those things like ADAS, BSM, RCTA while Vios & Almera got but price for Vios and Almera also cheaper than Mazda 2

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 4
          • Dong gor on Mar 31, 2023 at 5:21 pm

Mazda is already on life support..plus this hike, I can say it’s as dead as Nissan in Malaysia. U can ask for premium if your car has something extraordinary to offer .in this case, most if them are not even loaded with basic features. It’s very much like the traditional hardware shop that sells screws by the ringgit so to speak…where outside ppl already can compare prices and spec online

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
        • Wow! RV gone up yo’ for existing Mazda car owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • Mazda aftersales very bad. Mazda quality also very bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 17
      • Sofano on Mar 30, 2023 at 10:19 pm

Why buy Mazda CX-5 when BYD Atto 3 gets everything and got full ADAS, ACC, BSM and RCTA if compare with CX-5 2.0 low spec have partial ADAS but no ACC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 11
      • MR bean on Mar 31, 2023 at 11:32 am

Bmw asking who are you to the uninvited madza guest. Mazda then go jnto Mr Bean mode. Everyone scare….

• chatgpt on Mar 31, 2023 at 10:41 am

this 2nd tier brand carmaker has poor global sales turnover for straight two years, there are burden of liquidity issue and hoping via increasing retail pricing could pumping some cash in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Gabriel on Mar 31, 2023 at 9:44 pm

Another poor decision by Bermaz. Really poor decision.

• Proton Fanboy on Mar 30, 2023 at 6:40 pm

The most syok sendiri brand in Malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 17
    • Pity poor Ryan on Mar 31, 2023 at 8:05 am

X70 – Porsche Cayenne
      X50 – Porsche Macan
      Mazda – “Continental” Japanese Brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Hoing on Mar 31, 2023 at 11:21 am

Mazda – Continental price but boring design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
        • luther on Apr 02, 2023 at 2:07 pm

Design is subjective and the fact that your comment is just boring, i find it sleek and timeless design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
          • Bro, don’t just defend yourself, mazda fanboy. You have the opinions, is already good enough, but just don’t defend yourself. He has the rights to speak

• Quality a lot better than geli.. Btw Proton hanya tinggal nama. Nothing to be proud of. Not Malaysian anymore. Cap out the ridiculous taxes, lets see who’s syok sendiri brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 38
      • Right? on Mar 31, 2023 at 9:50 pm

Those that said syiok sendiri can just buy P1 & P2. No harm brother. Literally don’t care with the car price right now as it’s still consider cheap.

Bukan sebab benda tu mahal, tapi ko je x mampu.

Tepuk poket tanya selera.

Study and work hard brother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
        • Tailinngong on Apr 01, 2023 at 6:44 pm

Jangan talk cock …..keep yr mouth shut and enjoy yr money…there are millions out there can afford and can’t afford ….don’t belittle those can’t afford and become a farking ceebai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Phuddi sung lee on Mar 30, 2023 at 6:51 pm

Who likes will buy, doesnt matter price markup how many %%%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 62
    • Sohai on Mar 30, 2023 at 9:42 pm

With this logic, why stop at rm20k increase? Just go for rm100k increase lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
      • Terfikir on Mar 31, 2023 at 7:49 am

Mazda spare parts also getting more expensive,
        Expensive parts for old cars.

Don’t worry, can just markup.
        Who likes will buy.

• Mazda on Mar 30, 2023 at 7:09 pm

DOA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • RyanT on Mar 30, 2023 at 7:31 pm

M6 rm240k? good luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
  • So funny on Mar 30, 2023 at 8:06 pm

April Fool?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
  • Thsts becsuse effect if our weak currency still continuing. If najib had been prudent when it was RM3 to usd1 in 2014, we could have controlled inflation. Instead, najib went on spending spree like a billionaire on wasteful projects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 51
    • Glates on Mar 30, 2023 at 9:08 pm

Not Najib. This causes by Moodin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
    • chatgpt on Mar 31, 2023 at 1:38 am

flaw economics, yen is even weaker than ringgit

• MahaFiraun on Mar 31, 2023 at 3:43 pm

Do you know that only select people are allowed to import cars in Malaysia? You can thank kutty kerala for that.

• Nvmd, afterall these models never find their buyers, just do anything you like Mazda Malaysia (Bermaz)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
  • Mazdabolehbungkus on Mar 30, 2023 at 8:41 pm

RIP Mazda!!! Pls close shop… muahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • Mazda 2 become more rarer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Interesting idea… when you don’t have enough cars to sell, you increase selling price! Make more margin, while selling less cars. Brilliant!

My friend is still waiting for his Mazda 3, after booking 15 months ago. I hope he won’t get one of those “if you pay new car price, can get car next week” tactics, which happened to my other friend who paid extra for his BRZ although he booked before the price increase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • dellen on Mar 30, 2023 at 9:12 pm

this is incredibly genius

due to stock shortage, mazda is scalping their own cars

everyone should line up to get BAUTO shares

their financials gonna flyyyyyy

• Mazda aftersales very bad. Mazda quality also very bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
    • Abu Bakar on Mar 31, 2023 at 10:44 am

Which Mazda models you owned? Which year model? Just curious since you know so much about Mazda.

• Bought CX5 in Oct 2022, but got paint scratches and got steering rack, but replaced new ones but come back with problems but two new problems like tyre alignment and dashboard also not fitted properly and also noises from the dashboard and got water leaking under passenger and driver side front underneath the dashboard and center console. Worse service ever and worst to own mazda, despite low mileage and now clocked at 18k km and problems started around Dec 2022. Spare parts, also need to wait months to collect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • meladam on Mar 31, 2023 at 3:07 pm

sorry to hear for CKD model. Mine CBU so far touchwood all great. just send for free service on time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • Spritlee on Mar 31, 2023 at 5:11 pm

CBU or CKD, not consider worth of buying mazda, because of parts and worrying for service

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Mazda spare parts also difficult to find

• Piplup on Mar 31, 2023 at 5:35 pm

Lol literally other car brands are the same. My friends are still complaining about toyota and honda sc. i dunno abt other countries but it seems that it is the sc here who wants to earn more or technicians tat are lazy to do more work until u keep complaining abt it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • Uiplup on Mar 31, 2023 at 9:44 pm

But mostly better than mazda.

• Uiplup on Mar 31, 2023 at 9:45 pm

But mostly better than mazda. Mazda spare part expensive but difficult to get and service also bad than other brands

• Sofano on Mar 30, 2023 at 10:20 pm

Junk car with premium price tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Welp. Not only are they not bringing in new models anymore (dang the CX-5 model year we have is ancient…) but they’re also raising prices now! Bravo Mazda.

• Xervexc Zymycur on Mar 31, 2023 at 1:37 am

Good luck, Mazda. Old cars with high prices. The Mazda 6 is at least 12 years old and yet increasing in prices? Are car buyers suckers?

• Buy local on Mar 31, 2023 at 8:36 am

Really MAD AN’I bolehlah if you know what I said, the price hike is rahmah :)

• IS the price reflect the quality of Sales & Aftersales…

• This Mazda is so out of touch. First, their EV SUV with less than 200km full charge selling at RM200K. And now with this price for a B-segment car.

• James on Mar 31, 2023 at 9:10 am

No brand Mazda price increase what a joke

• Gone are the days when local A segment at 30-40k, Japanese B segment below 80k, C segment below 120k, D segment below 170k. New norm now, B segment >100k, C segment >150k, D segment >200k.

• Roti Canai on Mar 31, 2023 at 1:10 pm

Gone are the days RM800 minimum salary.
      Malaysian will get $ paid.

• Yes daddy. on Mar 31, 2023 at 9:54 pm

I love when gov increase the min salary to 1.5k as I can enjoy more money now with supplying all the goods.

Business is business.

• DonkeyKong on Mar 31, 2023 at 10:41 am

Why waste time? Might as well discontinue all CBU Mazda models in Malaysia.

Bermaz is really becoming a syiok sendiri car company. CBU Mazdas getting exorbitant prices while the Kia Sorento and Kia Carnival have ridiculous prices that clearly indicates that they imagine Kia is a premium brand.

Let’s see them jack up Peugeot prices next to match Mercedes and BMW prices..

• luther on Apr 02, 2023 at 2:09 pm

I think you are just syoking sendiri la thought using this strategy Mazda team will lower their price and sell to you but too bad if you can’t afford it or your just hating it because of Mazda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
      • Because you don’t really know much about cars. He have better knowledge than you while you don’t know much. Even you also don’t even know on how any car companies works on car pricing. Anyways, Mazda car prices really did go up to 26k. You can love all you want, but nothing is free in this world.

• meladam on Mar 31, 2023 at 10:42 am

weak currency + its CBU brand new. What to do. thanks PMX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • there’s a way around it. Don’t buy Mazda. duh

• i own a mazda and very satisfied with it and so far no problem at all.

But still i cannot justify the price increase as mentioned. Bermaz why?? All brands handled by bermaz end up selling very expensive. Look at what happen to KIA now all more than 200k already. Later when CX-60 introduced here is it gonna be 300k car? omg bermaz is taking too much profit here.

• I don’t know what on earth is bermaz thinking. Great looking cars but no comments on the pricing strategy. Looks like it’s not going to sell a lot. Cx5 same old model from Mazda never change. Cmon la so much potential

• luther on Apr 02, 2023 at 2:03 pm

I’m driving the latest gen Mazda 3 liftback and coming from many other brand like Nissan and Honda I personally experienced it is far better than expectation, meanwhile other brand has this and that technology but it’s just junk out of the box, sensor faulty, poor component quality etc. I always been told Mazda was a good and reliable car and before I own one I was being skeptical and not believing it but now I decided to give it a chance and so far I have 0 issue with it despite some missing feature that I don’t care / won’t use. More tech NOT EQUAL better but quality that’s matter, like X70 my dad was driving it, it was a terrible driving experience and the infotainment is just poor af. Don’t tell me I’m syok sendiri because that’s the harsh truth you need to accept it. If you think the price is too high go look for other brand because you can’t afford it or you want all the trendy tech to justify the quality of a car and I understand, if that’s the case go get yourself a local brand car, don’t keep commenting saying Mazda is killing itself and curse will not be selling well, but the reality is that CX-5 can be seen everywhere on the road that’s because people now believe the quality of the Mazda now. Now go choose your perodua or proton or whatever you think that worth for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
    • Such as what…Before you hate any other brands, can you tell which of other brands is junk technology, is it all like Proton, Perodua or what. And how did you know that other brands come with such issues, I know proton have issues but you mentioned other brands have issues… Get your logic right before you say bad on other brands. And also doesn’t mean that Mazda is one of the reliable brands and good, there will be times where Mazda have problems. From the people experience, you don’t know that Mazda have issues and also come with spare parts issues for mazda. And if mazda is killing itself, then why Bermaz is jacking up prices for Mazda. You know? You should know more on how any companies works on pricing for cars. Anyways, you mentioned that Mazda CX-5 is everywhere in which I agree with you but there will be times on what happened now, not just forget about quality for mazda in here. Like I said, mazda car prices have already shoot up to 26k. You can love all you want but nothing is free in this world