JPJ is helping vehicle companies post product recalls so owners are made aware and get their vehicles fixed

Vehicle companies in Malaysia have issued recalls whenever they discover a safety issue or defect with their products, with affected customers being notified personally as well as via notices published in the media.

As per Section 66 (1)(pp) of the Road Transport Act 1987, these companies are required to notify the road transport department (JPJ) of any recall activities being carried out, which enable the authorities to monitor the progress of each recall campaign until all affected models have been rectified.

It is imperative that vehicles affected by ongoing recall campaigns be fixed to ensure the safety of the owner as well as other motorists. However, despite the efforts of companies, there are still owners of affected vehicles that are not aware of ongoing recall campaigns in the country – the repair work is carried out at no charge to the owner.

To promote greater awareness of these recalls, the JPJ has announced that it will help companies to spread the word by posting ongoing recall campaigns on its official website and social media pages. As a start, the JPJ has listed out Mercedes-Benz, Audi and Perodua cars as well as Suzuki and Honda motorcycles that are currently being recalled in a new post on its official Facebook page.

According to the JPJ, this initiative was implemented in line with the wishes of its director general of Datuk Zailani Haji Hashim during his speech at a bilateral meeting with Japan’s ministry of land, infrastructure, transport & tourism (MLIT), National Traffic Safety and Environment Laboratory (NTSEL) and Japan Automobile Standards Internationalization Center (JASIC), which emphasised benchmarking activities for recall activities as implemented in Japan.

[PEMANGGILAN SEMULA] (PRODUCT RECALL)

Pemanggilan Semula atau Product Recall secara umumnya merupakan suatu aktiviti…

Posted by Jabatan Pengangkutan Jalan Malaysia on Wednesday, 5 April 2023

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• newme on Apr 05, 2023 at 5:09 pm

Great. Start with Perodua oil filter.
    But before that, have Perodua even fixed the problem already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • The Victorian on Apr 05, 2023 at 8:08 pm

JPJ has the latest address of the latest owner if there r multiple ownerships.
      After collecting so much road tax,cant they online with the car distributors to text the affected car owners?
      How much does it cost to send a sms?
      Ahlokekor…dont just go undercover…this simple favour can be done.

• Malaysianlazyreader on Apr 07, 2023 at 10:12 am

Don’t be lazy. Read! It’s written in the FIRST paragraph that they already notified personally.

• Terfikir on Apr 05, 2023 at 5:42 pm

JPJ can banned these for road tax renewal.

Then can effectively stop the safety issue.

Audi, Perodua, Mercedes Benz, Hayabusa,
    Long list of ignorance Owner,

Never go service center to service?
    Other brands why so slow, please submit your recall list to JPJ for safer road.

• Ajibkor in Kajang on Apr 05, 2023 at 8:13 pm

Mr tak terfikir
      If your uncle isnt aware of the recall,do u want him to be denied roadtax renewal?
      The problem is people r not reacheable at times due to certain reasons.
      You r not solving the problem.You r compounding the problem.

• Justice on Apr 06, 2023 at 1:11 pm

Your uncle will get aware when he cannot renew road tax.

Why insurance should continue cover this Confirmed problem car for another year?

• Car sold by grey importer how?

• P2? This is hoax. P2 is bulletproof. The poster itself is made from Power Point.

• peroduavios on Apr 05, 2023 at 7:54 pm

kenapa perodua buat recall toyota veloz? lepas ni perodua recall toyota vios juga ke?

• Justice on Apr 05, 2023 at 8:08 pm

Becos veloz is a 3rd grade toyota assembled by perodua, the new vios is a 2nd grade toyota using faihatsu platform but assembled by toyota

• Silthice on Apr 05, 2023 at 8:30 pm

Sbb DNGA produk yang byk kongsi parts dgn kenderaan lain suapaya dapat kurangkan kos tp hakikatnya harga semakin naik dan lebih baik kelengkapan dikurangkan. Contoh terbaik skrg untuk Axia hanya AV saja yg dpt reverse camera tp harga dekat nk 50k dh.

• Veneno on Apr 05, 2023 at 9:54 pm

Sebab Veloz pasang kat kilang P2.

• Christian Rakesh on Apr 05, 2023 at 10:12 pm

Sebab Veloz dibuat di kilang perodua & Alza/Veloz secara mekanikal adalah kereta yg sama

• Sbb veloz kat malaysia ni pro2 yg pasangkn.

• Incaseudunno on Apr 06, 2023 at 9:33 am

In case you are not aware, Veloz is assembled by Perodua.

• Justice on Apr 05, 2023 at 8:04 pm

Perodua burukdua, the household name for inferior quality

• Benny on Apr 06, 2023 at 1:15 pm

Recall able to get free new parts, syiok and good despite no issue there.

Why my Lambang H no recall despite so much noises.

• Phuddi sung lee on Apr 05, 2023 at 8:09 pm

Normal person sure knw any recall from any manufacturer bez its not stone age its social media age, so u jpj focus on ur daily assigned goals and objectives mentioned in jpj website, this recall issue leave it to rakyat as we know well

• Mango on Apr 05, 2023 at 8:19 pm

Some malaysians claimed that mercedes is reliable but after looking at this….. Even new mercedes surely have problems and also uses cheap dashboard part

• Dominic on Apr 05, 2023 at 8:45 pm

JPJ shd have ownership records of all these owners, why can’t they call the owners or give the details to car companies to call the owners? If publishing online does not work, lift up the phone and call lah. Orang tua may not be browsing FB or websites.

• A bit confused with the Perodua recall……. Don’t remember seeing any recall news for Perodua or Toyota. I guess I missed it.

• tapsoba on Apr 07, 2023 at 12:27 pm

Not surprising. They only inform me about the recall of my previous bezza when I went to do service. I did few search afterwards to see if perodua did any announcement anywhere but couldn’t find any. I kept on thinking what if I didn’t go to service for a loong time? How about ppl who don’t even go to official service center from the beginning? I think they should improve that part, I mean if sms is costly, why not email? Or even whatsapp? I see many companies using whatsapp nowadays.

• Gomorrah on Apr 05, 2023 at 11:31 pm

Finally a step in the right direction. Next would be for JPJ to start collecting data/complaints from the rakyat to ensure recalls are issued in the first place by the manufacturer. The current system of requiring self reporting by the manufacturers has meant that lots of problems which are recalls elsewhere are not dealt with here. Even when the manufacturer/dealership is presented with evidence and relevant information nothing happens.

• Perodual Official Statement on Apr 06, 2023 at 9:39 am

I just checked with Perodua CS is my 2022 Ativa AV is affected, and this is what they answered. “Thank you for contacting Perodua. There is no official statement from Perodua regarding this matter. Please follow our official Perodua Social Media accounts for the latest information. Thank you.”

• newernewme on Apr 06, 2023 at 9:41 am

since Mr Loke takes over the helm as transport minister, those lazy blokes all forced to do their jobs as they were supposed to. Good job!

• Ground europe passenger on Apr 06, 2023 at 9:41 am

Strangely the most problematic car brand in Malaysia never calls any recall before. One unfortunate day your iriz brake switch fails and u’ll spend halfday towing to the sc and another halfday to check and fix.

• Mangekyou Sharingan on Apr 06, 2023 at 10:07 am

We should clone Anthony Loke and put his clone in charge of Kementrian Kerja Raya (if there is one). Imagine all the pot holes and poor conditioned roads his clone can address.

• holofanboi on Apr 07, 2023 at 12:28 pm

Oh wow, this is actually awesome!