Sepang circuit undergoes RM10 million resurfacing

Resurfacing work is ongoing at Sepang International Circuit (SIC) during the fasting month. The resurfacing is a condition of homologation requirements for 2023 from the Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme (FIM).

Cost of the resurfacing is estimated to be RM10 million, according to an SIC spokesperson. The track areas resurfaced are from turn 7 to turn 12, otherwise known as the “South” part of SIC.

With SIC seeing almost full utilisation since the lifting of MCO restrictions last year, certain areas of the track were found to be uneven and bumpy. The tarmac mix used for the resurfacing work is locally sourced and applied under supervision of a consultant.

SIC last underwent resurfacing in February 2016 with further remedial work carried out after reports of water seepage on the track.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Bob Mal on Apr 05, 2023 at 11:35 am

Resurfacing in 2016 just for one final F1 event in 2017 brilliant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • Casual rider on Apr 05, 2023 at 2:29 pm

There are many other events after that until 2022

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Hanna Yeoh on Apr 05, 2023 at 5:28 pm

Exactly bro, I still remember they resurfaced in 2016. Since that the track used only for 4 years after minus the covid periods. If they use their revenue money to resurface I don’t care. I just don’t want gov to allocate for this. If gov allocate then we all know who going to benefit from this and pocketed the money

• Sepang circuit belongs to petronas i think.so petronas pay for maintenance. Plus msnagement. I think dr m son one of the bosses.
        Same with petronas orchestra. Not sure if its still functioning.

• Money money come…no projects, no lobangs

• Casual trackday driver on Apr 07, 2023 at 12:42 am

Guys, Sepang rental fee RM40K+ minimum per 4 hours and it operates from morning until 12 midnight including weekends… Pretty sure they can afford resurface anytime they want.

• palatao on Apr 11, 2023 at 9:17 am

wah semua tau eh.
    hebat ma – duit pergi mana pun tau oh
    sepang rental fee 40k banyak wang oh
    lagi hari hari jalan dari pagi sampai malam ohhhh
    banyak hebat la you kawan
    nanti pergi sepang kasi tau sama saya
    saya mali belanja you air oh