Perodua sold 32,179 cars in March 2023 – Q1 sales up 27.5% at 78,564 units; YTD production at 84,800 units

Perodua has announced it delivered 32,179 vehicles in March 2023, which is 29% higher when compared to the 24,936 units sold in February this year, while also being 20.2% more than the 26,759 units it sold in the same month last year.

“These achievements can be attributed to several factors, such as our efforts to fulfil the Penjana orders before its deadline on March 31, 2023, production improvements throughout the supplier ecosystem and better coordination within our sales network,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad.

With this, the carmaker’s sales tally for the first quarter of 2023 is 78,564 units, an increase of 27.5% compared to the same period in 2022 that saw 61,624 deliveries. “Despite these achievements, there are still a small number of Penjana orders that we were unable to fulfil; to these customers, we will honour the sales exempt amount guaranteed under the initiative and we apologise for the long wait,” Zainal said.

As for production, last month saw Perodua’s manufacturing arm churn out 33,666 units, bringing its year-to-date (YTD) total to 84,800 units. This is 33.9% more than the 63,325 units produced in the first quarter of 2022.

Over the coming months, Zainal said Perodua will look to further build on these achievements as the order banks for its models continue to be healthy. He added that the sustained production growth has managed to reduce the waiting period for certain models.

“In fact, for some of our models, the waiting period has been reduced significantly; only particular models such as the Bezza, Axia and Alza have a slightly longer waiting period based on their respective variants and colour,” Zainal explained.

Still touching on the matter of production, Zainal said the global price of raw materials has decreased recently, which has helped ease cost pressures for suppliers, Perodua as well as most of the automotive players. “These favourable conditions will give us a chance to build up our stock faster while at the same time enable us to reduce the waiting period for our customers,” he commented.

For 2023, Perodua said in January that it is targeting sales to hit a record 314,000 units – 11.3% more than the 282,019 units in 2022 – with the production goal being 330,000 cars.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• newme on Apr 10, 2023 at 5:53 pm

Faulty oil filter dah habis jual ke belum? Takkan tak habis lagi, every month announce high sales volume? Aku nak gi tukar ni.

• Ajibkor on Apr 10, 2023 at 8:49 pm

I thought engine/gear box failure…oil filter..ohmy.Anyway,this newme tulanliow..better send oil filter to his house n fix it on the spot.

• Dah Menang Semua on Apr 11, 2023 at 7:37 am

Carry forward from 2022
        Pending 100K-150K still
        Axia orders canceling
        Overpriced

• Not worth to cancel.
          Rather the booking fee and waiting for this.

• Civic Turbo 2018 on Apr 11, 2023 at 2:21 pm

Axia was the P2’s 2nd-best selling. I wonder how many old Axia bookings converted to new Axia in the end… the price was almost 30-40% hike.

https://paultan.org/2023/02/14/2023-perodua-axia-20100-orders-received-so-far-with-13600-orders-converted-from-outgoing-model/

https://paultan.org/2023/02/08/2023-perodua-axia-nearly-all-bookings-for-outgoing-model-converted-to-upcoming-next-generation-car/

• newme on Apr 11, 2023 at 8:56 am

This is a recurring problem. Some people change 3,4,5 times and it still leak. Playing it down won’t make you look smarter.

• Kesian P2 not doing well anymore. P1 is selling shy of 2X less but with 3X profit margin on higher valued cars. p2 making big losses now. Prepare for a massive job cut inkambing soon.

• ““Despite these achievements, there are still a small number of Penjana orders that we were unable to fulfil; to these customers, we will honour the sales exempt amount guaranteed under the initiative and we apologise for the long wait,” Zainal said.”

The Penjana orders were way before new Alza and Axia launching. How many new Alza and Axia on the road already?

• YB Kinte Kunte on Apr 10, 2023 at 8:56 pm

Perodua,one thing very glaringly bad about your organisation…the unwillingness to reciprocate in kind the blockbuster support from us Perodua ardent fanboys.
      At least absorb the SST till year end if u keep saying orders r still backlogged.
      All your latest launchings come with price increases.
      Do lah like PM Anwar..giving telco package perpaduan to the deserving folks,more rice subsidies to farmers etc.

• leoRNado on Apr 11, 2023 at 9:17 am

”Despite these achievements, there are still a small number of Penjana orders that we were unable to fulfil; to these customers, we will honour the sales exempt amount guaranteed under the initiative and we apologise for the long wait,”

• Janji dicapati on Apr 10, 2023 at 10:49 pm

Please read previous articles.

• Congratulations to Proton and Perodua!

• Curious on Apr 10, 2023 at 6:38 pm

After Raya wil see more tarik kereta due to global economic slump, so better pull your purse for better use unless you hav the xtra money.

• YB Kinte Kunte on Apr 10, 2023 at 9:05 pm

Mr Curious …you maybe right.
      The impulsive car buying phenomenon must stop.
      China is our largest trading partner.It is going to overtake USA soon as world’s largest economy.
      Lately,I read that thousands of truck drivers in China r jobless due to their slowing economy.
      Very soon,when China sneeze,the world may catch a cold.
      Getting your perodua delivered to your doorstep does not mean u can fulfill the HP banking obligations.For some,it is 84 to 108 months of non stop instalments.

• Squid on Apr 11, 2023 at 9:47 am

1st u say China going to overtake USA, then u say thousands truck drivers in China jobless due to slowing economy… Which is which?

• Ajibkor in Kajang on Apr 11, 2023 at 10:09 pm

Mr Sotong
          China going to overtake USA GDP in few years.Fact.But does this mean China cannot face slowdown? USA have its up n down too.
          No 1 doesnt equate to never ending success.

• Squid on Apr 11, 2023 at 9:45 am

I’ve been hearing this for 20 years already

• Where’s ativa’s sales figure?

• Justice on Apr 10, 2023 at 7:05 pm

So many substandard burukdua perodua cars on the road now..aish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • KingMaibi on Apr 10, 2023 at 7:13 pm

Congrates perodua.
    Best budget car choice for rakyat.

• Wee Ken Fatt on Apr 12, 2023 at 1:03 am

Ah Fatt here nice red color. Prosper the burger and Ong Sama sama

• Kesian P2 not doing well anymore. P1 is selling shy of 2X less but with 3X profit margin on higher valued cars. p2 making big losses now. Prepare for a massive job cut soon.

• Ex kelisa owner on Apr 13, 2023 at 10:04 am

I hope perodua drop the eco idle features, give options with of without PDSA for ALZA and ATIVA H variant.