Volvo says it won’t reduce its EV prices to follow Tesla

Despite reporting a drop in its first quarter operating earnings, Volvo has reiterated that it sees no need to cut prices of its electric vehicles (EVs) because there is a healthy demand for them.

In February, the company had said it would not follow Tesla’s move of going into a price war to spur demand and fend off rising competition. Yesterday, its CEO Jim Rowan repeated that stand, telling Reuters that as long as demand continues to be high for the automaker, he saw no reason to change its position on pricing.

Rowan said that lithium prices, a major source of cost for the company’s EVs, had started to decline, which would help reduce costs. This was despite Chile, the world’s second largest producer of the metal, saying it would nationalise its lithium industry. He said that more lithium sources were starting to be available from other parts of the world, which made him comfortable that the cost of the material would continue to decline.

With sales up by 10% in Q1, the company reaffirmed its outlook for “solid double-digit growth” in retail sales this year, provided there were no major supply disruptions. Like other automakers, Volvo has begun slowly emerging from an extended period of supply chain shortages, which has affected output and driven up costs. The company said while there were still some shortages, its manufacturing had improved.

The Swedish automaker said yesterday that its Q1 operating earnings fell to 5.1 billion krona (RM2.2 billion) from six billion krona (RM2.59 billion) in the same period last year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mr Fakta on Apr 28, 2023 at 5:58 pm

It means that when Tesla is launched in Malaysia, they will be forced to sell at a higher price to protek Volvo manufacturing plant in Malaysia. Do mind that Malaysia car selling price is fixed by the government to protek certain parties, cronies suppliers, tax income, insurance companies and also bank profits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Joshua Albert Gog on Apr 28, 2023 at 11:21 pm

I would love to ask if you have proof of your claims against ‘the govt, cronies suppliers, tax income, insurance companies and banks”.

• Mr Fakta on Apr 29, 2023 at 8:00 am

Link below (by Paultan for car price approval)

https://paultan.org/2019/01/25/miti-to-speed-up-process-for-vehicle-price-approvals/

• Mr Fakta on Apr 29, 2023 at 8:11 am

The higher the car price can be set, the higher the excise duty, the higher the insurance, the higher you have to loan from the bank. Just for your reference, UMW is owned by PNB, and Maybank largest shareholder is PNB. PNB is a govt investment arm filled with own people aka cronies.

• Mike Tee on Apr 29, 2023 at 11:58 am

Explain why the BMW iX is cheaper in Malaysia than the UK and Australia if there is such a great conspiracy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Tesla ...A clear and present danger on Apr 28, 2023 at 6:03 pm

The only problem for would be tesla buyers is they cant resist the temptation to get SYIOK SENDIRI.
    If there is a buying moratorium on Tesla cars,u think Elon the bugger can smoke cigar in style and tokok?
    Let his Tesla cars spill over into the highways with no more parking space for unsold units.
    There is a video in USA of rows n rows of tesla cars waiting for expensive car parts..some abandoned.Check it out for yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • seancorr on Apr 28, 2023 at 7:14 pm

Gotta keep the shareholders happy yo line up their big fat pockets yo.

• Joshua Albert Goh on Apr 28, 2023 at 11:23 pm

I would love to ask if you have proof of your claims against ‘the govt, cronies suppliers, tax income, insurance companies and banks”.

• McJempul on Apr 28, 2023 at 11:26 pm

But but suckers buy premium price X70 thinking it’s Volvo tech. Cant help it SjkC mentality in play here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Here is for car enthusiasts. Idiot like you get lost!

• Keyboard warrior on May 01, 2023 at 8:46 am

True. X50, x70, x90 buyers are so delusional thinking they are in Volvo owners league

• I love gas on Apr 29, 2023 at 10:13 am

I’m fine if they won’t reduce EV prices, gotta switch to Combustion cars loh for now

• REAL X70 OWNER WITH CAR STUCK AT WORKSHOP (FRUSTRATED) on Apr 29, 2023 at 1:10 pm

made in china but still so exp. tak nak. it nak beli china made I buy cap china