2023 Toyota Vios sales to continue despite Daihatsu crash test issue – UMWT says no need for halt or recall

Following Daihatsu’s admission of “wrongdoings” in particular crash safety tests done for regulatory approval applications involving four models, one of which was the new Toyota Vios, UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) has issued an official statement on the matter.

In it, UMWT announced that the sales of the Vios will continue as there are no issues with the safety standards and quality of the vehicle. The company said that subsequent testing has validated that the vehicle meets the UN-R95 certification, and there is no need for the Vios to be recalled. As such, sales of the vehicle will continue without disruption.

“For customers who have booked a Toyota Vios or are interested in purchasing it, we would like to assure you that the model complies with all safety regulations, and there is no compromise to the quality of the vehicles,” said UMWT president Datuk Ravindran K.

“We sincerely apologise for any distress caused to our customers and we wish to assure everyone of the safety and quality of our vehicles. Our commitment to our customers’ safety has always been and remains our topmost in our priority,” he added.

The statement by UMWT – in full, below – follows on that sent out by national automaker Perodua for the new Axia yesterday.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• anonymous on May 01, 2023 at 3:16 pm

what a load of bull. these companies prioritize profits over anything at this point. disappointed in toyota and perodua on how they are handling this. i hope buyers for these cars continue to make noise + those who have bookings cancel them because let their profits hurt and perhaps only then will they actually listen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 70
    • Wow, lots of Toyota and Perodua salespeople are downvoting you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 26
    • Fat mama with tons of berlian cincin on May 01, 2023 at 9:31 pm

What happens if Camry,Fortuner,the high end SUVs are also subject to recall ?
      People spend 200 plus grand to get injured later due to a known defect?
      UMW..u only place profits above safety just to please bapa PNB. Just disgusting and unacceptable.
      Afterall,how much does a recall amount to ? 1 Billion RM ?
      U want to lose customer’s confidence..just go ahead.People can choose Honda or protong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
      • GripX on May 02, 2023 at 8:38 am

Honda also not good – poor quality and poor aftersales
        Proton also not good- poor quality, poor aftersales and no spare parts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
        • Ajibkor madani on May 02, 2023 at 3:03 pm

Dude…we r debating about recall.Not poor quality issues.
          Every car has quality issues…big or small.

• Great

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
    • Dah Menang Semua on May 02, 2023 at 4:33 pm

D92A Vios designed by Daihatsu Japan
      So it has “UN R95 certificate 1998”
      No valid NCAP rating for now

• Same script, different CEOs. So why is Japan’s HQ Toyota head become very angry then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • kai chai on May 01, 2023 at 3:27 pm

Cause Vios was also produced in Malaysia. Not to forget that tho

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • Bumper on May 01, 2023 at 3:44 pm

Good statement from UMWT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
  • Civic Turbo 2018 on May 01, 2023 at 3:44 pm

Sell 1st
    Safety 2nd

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • cbfark on May 01, 2023 at 3:44 pm

bottomline all cau ceebai ….consumers here and the less developed countries all easy to bully …not much of ceebai protection and always at the losing end at the expense of the big corporates and government ….the law only enacted to protect the rich and powerful….lia ma cau hai…so good luck…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • As long as there is safety, reliability, fc and resale value

• Let those discover Daihatsu wrong doings run the test and see if both UMW Toyota and Perodua are telling the truth! Malaysia is so blessed! Recall is happening left right and centre but never hit Malaysian shore. What a blessed country!

• PeroduaVios on May 01, 2023 at 4:10 pm

Welcome to purchase Perodua Vios! Hahaha!

• Sure…..

• Starfighter on May 01, 2023 at 4:28 pm

BTW: How many NCAP stars the Vios have now? Kosong?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • If you afraid about NCAP Vios….then how come UMW Toyota sales are improving compare to that time after already learning from big lessons where Camry have 2 airbags but no VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • oiler on May 04, 2023 at 10:19 am

Sales and safety are two completely different matters, namely in Malaysia. BTW: Sales in Indonesia, Thailand and Japan are not improving, because sales were stopped due to safety concerns.

• Simpler better on May 01, 2023 at 4:57 pm

The real car on the roads looks so cool and gaya. Not buying the car not because of the crash repirt but it`s overpriced with unuseful perodua safety features. Take new myvi as example, those acc, aeb, lka are bugging useless features that u wan to disabled or completely removes for good after u using it for a while.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
  • Boy Racer on May 01, 2023 at 4:58 pm

Toyota CEO: Sorry, this is absolutely unacceptable and will be investigated thoroughly.

Perodua & UMWT: Chill bro no issue la faster make ur booking now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
  • ohyeahtoyota on May 01, 2023 at 5:06 pm

sounds like, no need to care about the malaysians, they would buy it anyway.
    pity those early and future adopters.. stay safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • GripX on May 02, 2023 at 8:41 am

You mean Proton and Honda also didn’t care about malaysians when facing problems on quality and service

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Good news!! Now waiting for new Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • lee ckt on May 01, 2023 at 5:45 pm

congratulations perodua vios , out of the gate running scared

• Mr Fakta on May 01, 2023 at 6:54 pm

Of course, most Malaysian never care about safety and the gov need to protek UMW.

• Malaysians care about safety when purchasing cars. Even UMW Toyota does that after learning lessons that Camry have 2 airbags and no VSC that time

• Komen alternatif on May 01, 2023 at 7:02 pm

Good luck new vios owner!. I guess toyota says sales is more important than safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Are you saying Toyota says their sales are more important than safety….don’t you know on why so many loves to buy Toyota now than that time, toyota now priorities not only sales, but also priorities on safety, features, tech, etc but sales comes last. That’s how UMW Toyota does that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Let’s buy Toyota Vios again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Bossku on May 01, 2023 at 7:45 pm

https://www.drive.com.au/news/toyota-admits-to-rigging-crash-tests-overseas/

I would be more concerned what else had they “omitted” from their production cars. If they deemed something that cost RM0.20 to be expensive to install on car doors, what other corners are they cutting??

• Retired Akio on May 01, 2023 at 7:59 pm

IMHO any related death or injuries may car insurance covers therefore your official car distributor co. washes hand.

• Hater of under cover tak apa idiot on May 01, 2023 at 8:10 pm

It is an unbecoming behaviour of profit over safety of UMW and Perodua. Your big boss, Chairman Toyoda-san has decreed to stop sales until the non-compliance issue is settled with the right part, Secondly, it has to do with our government who is incompetent to handle recall issue that affects safety.

• Dining on May 01, 2023 at 8:12 pm

Still will buy Toyota than P2

• Toyota – one of the trusted brand company

• Platinum2 on May 01, 2023 at 9:00 pm

Poor PR from UMWT and Perodua..remember in this day of social media you cannot say your cars are safe when the ultimate Toyota CEO says further investigation is warranted and there are potential risks to the safety of the vehicles. If the cars were safe, why is there a freeze on exports for these vehicles in Japan? Shameful really…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • kebal on May 01, 2023 at 9:26 pm

this just shows safety standard here is not on par. rather they recall and halt production rather than prioritizing profits. More customers will lose trust. P2 and UMWT shooting themselves in the foot here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Mantap Toyota!!!

• Yucky Tsunada on May 02, 2023 at 1:13 am

Neither Daihatsu nor Toyota global sites have published any news about the results of this “subsequent testing” mentioned by the UMWT president. On their global sites, the most recent news is still about the irregularities discovered, published 2 days ago. Nothing newer than that (as of time of me posting this). This guy can simply announce meh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • trytohelp on May 02, 2023 at 6:30 am

the companies know what is right and wrong and current age everything is under scrutiny. If they kept quiet no one would have known the wrongdoing. But it seems like we have many engineers here who know better than the car manufacturers.

• Hellya on May 02, 2023 at 7:22 am

Actually from what I’m thinking, they should do a retest on current model using NCAP to gain back the trust. It’s a cost but it’s worth to gain back the trustworthy from the customers. and I also not sure if UN-R95 include crash test? If yes, how extended is the crash test? Why don’t share the report? It’s something fishy here.

• Ben Yap on May 02, 2023 at 8:29 am

indirectly toyota is saying “the incidences of such deadly accident is low, sell the car first and if anything happens, see how we can twist our way out. Our sales are losing to honda and we will not let this affect us further”.

• GripX on May 02, 2023 at 8:43 am

No matter what it is, I will choose either Toyota/P2 over Proton/Honda, at least Toyota/P2 have better aftersales, quality and easier to get spare parts over Proton/Honda. But for P2, sorry for me can’t buy, also due to spare part issues although better than Proton/Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Katheryne Wong on May 02, 2023 at 8:44 am

Japan says the car is not safe, Malaysia says the car is safe. Japan design & manufacture the car. Malaysia just assemble the car. I dont believe you UMWT & Perodua. You guys simply lie. Just admit if there is any issue, rectify it. Dont lie.

• Bob Mal on May 02, 2023 at 8:44 am

Might as well just say well Malaysia law just so lax even 40 year old car with probably 0/5* crash safety also on the road so what if our 5* car safety degrade to maybe 4* safety still OK to be on our Malaysian road. Also you want to sue me go ahead since our law is no where as protective to the consumer as 1st world country.

• Just ask the Toyota Sales Man about the door and the sharp edges before you buy Vios…

• davenport on May 02, 2023 at 9:38 am

Wow it seems UMWT invested quite alot to protect their reputation in social media.

The comments and like/dislike ratios are totally opposite to the reactions in the P2 article

• Perodua reliability is not good but Toyota is good although both have problems

• Apeniyek on May 02, 2023 at 9:54 am

How come re-test fix the issue? So funny.

• At least UMWT tells the truth but P2 wasn’t after saw news that MIROS need to look safety claims for Axia P2 after both UMWT and P2 came out statement

• Robinhood on May 02, 2023 at 9:59 am

Accident then only talk. Profit come first. Biasalah.

• If everything is so hunky dory, why Daihatsu made the difficult decision to admit the rigging and cause the unnecessary uproar?

• We Malaysian very lucky, always recall not affected our market.

• CunNia on May 02, 2023 at 10:31 am

UMWT MD already said Vios is safe.. what else you want. The assurance wasnt from a pokok ceri mekanik or any motoring journalist.

So pls disregard Akio Toyoda’s old and senile ramblings and continue to buy Vios. Enough said.

• Fool Safety and High Safety on May 02, 2023 at 10:50 am

ANY cars that score 100% Safety?

FAIL a single test point out of many other test points == TOTAL Disaster Failure

Redo fail test point == PASS

FINAL result FULL Resolution Safety vs prevoius High Resolution Safety

VIOS certified Fully SAFE

• Suicidal Tendencies on May 02, 2023 at 11:24 am

Vios owners can kill themselves if they want. But the insurance fees for the Vios should be adjusted according to the Toyota “safety”, meaning they should be doubled at least. Why shall other drivers subsidy suicidal Vios owners?

• Paultan collaborating with T, D and P brand as God’s ambassador. Their main work is to send off people to another realm.

• I will trust more on Toyota than P2 which saw the article that MIROS will retest for Axia again although CEO Malaysia from Toyota and P2 announce about recall statement

• newcomer on May 02, 2023 at 12:32 pm

Me myself have a Vios 2nd gen, but I had to say. This gen of Vios is for “water fish”, more expensive then previous gen and give you less things. Daihatsu product badged a Toyota logo and sell you a premium price. And, good luck for those eying upcoming Corolla Altis. It uses torsion beam now

• GenGM on May 02, 2023 at 1:22 pm

UMW TOyota do not have data to show Vios, Axia etc pass test..
    It is just a dumb ass president words… He maybe on the way to retired.

• Curious on May 02, 2023 at 5:13 pm

Wait n see attitude, after something hapen then only they wil take action. Do u think the whistle blower is just doing for fun

• passerby on May 02, 2023 at 5:19 pm

when toyota thailand holds the delivery for their yaris ativ, us malaysia decides to keep on delivering. UMWT will say in malaysia there won’t be any accidents, those are not relevant.

really can’t understand why they keep on mentioning that they had the ceritifcation whereby the certification is issued under fudged test procedure and part.

it just like telling police that you have the driving license that you bayar duit kopi untuk dapat punya.

• ROTI CANAI on May 02, 2023 at 5:57 pm

typical UMW