2023 Perodua Axia deliveries will continue despite Daihatsu crash test issue; no recall as it’s safe – P2

Following Daihatsu’s admission of “wrongdoings” in particular crash safety tests done for regulatory approval applications involving four models, Perodua has issued an official statement on the matter.

According to Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad, the Malaysian carmaker engaged Daihatsu to carry out safety testing for the new Axia in Japan. This was witnessed by relevant authorities and agencies for their respective assessment.

“As we receive news of this procedural irregularity by Daihatsu, we immediately contacted these bodies to determine if the safety standard of the Perodua Axia was compromised. We were assured that despite the revelation by Daihatsu, the UN-R95 certification given to the Perodua Axia is intact,” Zainal said.

“This means that the Perodua Axia is safe for driving and no recall will be issued nor will Perodua stop delivery of this new model to our valued customers,” he added.

“We apologise for any distress caused to our customers on this matter and we wish to assure that the safety information and specification of all our models are verified by professional bodies. We will continue to monitor this situation and will update the public on this matter as it develops. We place our customers safety and comfort above all else and we will continue to do so as part of our practice of ‘Going Beyond’ of what is expected” the statement ended.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Frankc on Apr 30, 2023 at 8:08 pm

Interesting.. is the standard required by perodua different from what daihatsu apply for its products? Why is it daihatsu will stop but not perodua..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 1
    • Leafable on Apr 30, 2023 at 9:05 pm

Msia drivers drive slower than 80kmh.. the safe speed limit. So no problem.. can buy P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
    • melanie on Apr 30, 2023 at 11:54 pm

jepunese feels remorseful for their wrongdoings meanwhile p2…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
      • remorseful? they have been cheating non-stop from takata airbag to olympus camera report to mitsubishi fuel consumption to nissan scandal to kobe steel .

if it was China that did one of it, you all would form at mouth and keep repeating those.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
        • Pop Pee Pee Pop on May 02, 2023 at 8:35 am

China is involve in worst controversies. Have you forgotten the 2008 Chinese milk scandal where nearly 400K babies were sick and several died? I suppose you are ok with that.

• princess falun dafa on May 02, 2023 at 11:47 am

Agreed. Impossible to forget the scandal of recycled cooking oil aka sewage oil from taiwan China.

• Japanese life more value than we malaysian…that why….we were in the third world…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • P2...A clear and present danger on May 01, 2023 at 11:03 am

What happens if the poor driver,really gets injured badly due to non recall by P2?
      Sue Dato Zainal Abidin,UMW,PNB until Daihatsu Japan?
      The P2 CEO is behaving like Toyota Jepun punya taikor.

• they have spare part unlike prottttttttttttttooooooooonnnnnnnnn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • Related on May 03, 2023 at 2:00 pm

Look at this way. If P2 cant even maintain good quality basic maintenance item like oil filters, then there are high possibility their spare parts are also subpar in quality.

• Haha as usual rest of the world affected but Malaysians are spared. Malaysia boleh! RV matters.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
    • Retired Akio on May 01, 2023 at 11:33 am

every p2 owners shall teach p2 a good lesson via starting class action suit therefore p2 2022 2023 profit goes into every p2 owners pocket as compensation claims ok

• It’s clear that the new Axia is affected, why isn’t Perodua admitting that it’s faulty?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 0
    • seancorr on Apr 30, 2023 at 9:28 pm

They have cleared the air about it. If they were lying they will be in deep shit with class action lawsuits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
      • No such thing in Malaysia bro. This will get swept under the rug soon because Malaysians mudah lupa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Gomorrah on May 01, 2023 at 12:01 pm

That may be true in a country which is more litigious with more consumer protection. Given the average GDP, socioeconomic demographic of the majority of Perodua owners, lack of government will (any of them) to enact or enforce standards/recall/lemon laws, huge legal fees that will be involved, I see this as a calculated risk on the part of the manufacturer. Who is going to take them up on it? This would involve multinational discovery on the part of the plaintiffs to prove it and I just don’t see anyone bankrolling it unless the government wants to step in. But as if such a huge corporation in Malaysia would ever be held to account. We just have to accept the sh*t to protect some people who are more equal than others.

• King of the road : The Myvi on Apr 30, 2023 at 9:50 pm

P2 …dont let blockbuster sales dwindle.
      Just recall lor…get the owner visit showroom while waiting for Axia to be given an OK thumbs up.He may buy a bezza for wife since he see such responsible behaviour.
      If Japan say recall,P2 say no need..u behave bigger than Mr.Akio Toyoda.Nanti he marah..not so nice lah.
      What u do in the workshop,no one can enter n see right?

• Cheaplife on Apr 30, 2023 at 8:49 pm

Malaysian life doesn’t matter janji kete murah, janji P2 stakeholder and top management big bonus, CEO faster come out declare safe ; UN-R95 does not test sharp object killing just like the killing takata airbag. DONT WORRY LA, ITS SAFE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • P2 is still unsafe to buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • japansafety on Apr 30, 2023 at 9:06 pm

“According to Perodua president and CEO Datuk Seri Zainal Abidin Ahmad, the Malaysian carmaker engaged Daihatsu to carry out safety testing for the new Axia in Japan.”
    Why in Japan? Is Perodua not able to perform safety tests by their own in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Crash test the dummy on May 01, 2023 at 6:31 pm

Very simple. Why don’t you Google to check how many automotive crash test facilities are available in the world? Hint, there are only 6 countries approved under international standards.

Malaysia don’t even design any cars from the ground up and you’re asking why Perodua cannot test in Malaysia? Even with the minimal localisation modifications, do you think they should spend probably $100M to build a crash test facility and test 1 car a year? I suggest you volunteer to be a crash test dummy, to help save cost.

It will only cost maybe RM50k to ship to Japan to do the testing but of course, you rather spend a few hundred million right?

• perubodoh on May 01, 2023 at 8:54 pm

“Perodua offers end-to-end automotive manufacturing solutions for compact vehicles. These include research on new and current models, R&D activities, manufacturing of auto parts, engine parts, transmissions, paint facilities, vehicle assembly, and vehicle testing.”

Stated by Perodua at their website.
        I suggest bodohs like you to read it before you spread your usual lies here.

• Idk man this sounds really fishy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • FudgeMeSideways on Apr 30, 2023 at 9:26 pm

Do you smell that smelly smell?

• anonymous on Apr 30, 2023 at 9:51 pm

the irony here is being Perodua’s motto which is “building cars people first” with the people first part literally underlined. i despise this company so much tbh. not only are they half the reason cars are ridiculously expensive in Malaysia, but they run these kinds of sketchy business practices. replace ‘people’ with ‘profit’ in the tagline. seems far more fitting imho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Did he also admit that there is problem with oil filter, put the blame on vendor but the problem still exist until now? Can we trust him?

• Simpler better on Apr 30, 2023 at 11:12 pm

Only av variant with 6 airbags affected. So dun buy av variant safer. Summore no need find eco idle cable after collect car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • You basically dont understand about this crash test fault, any axias are affected since it will deliver sharp edge as any production version of axias are not rigged with a notch like the one in crash test version

• Simpler better on May 01, 2023 at 5:43 pm

Only av variant got 6 including side airbags, other variants only 2 front airbags no side airbag to pop out, so no sharp edge doortrim object hazard.

• Well, airbags do not protect you from sharp edge. The point is “sharp edge”

• Carolyn Khaw on Apr 30, 2023 at 11:21 pm

Safe for driving. But is it safe to crash?
    Old kancil also safe to drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • “Daihatsu’s wrongdoing is a MATTER THAT CONCERNS SAFETY, which is the most important aspect of vehicles. We CONSIDER this an ABSOLUTELY UNACCEPTABLE ACT THAT BETRAYS THE TRUST OF OUR CUSTOMERS. Since this problem occurred with a Toyota brand passenger car, we believe that the PROBLEM IS NOT LIMITED to Daihatsu,” said Akio Toyoda, Toyota Chairman of the Board.

And now Perodua just basically says “trust me bro, its safe” .. GREEDY & UNETHICAL COMPANY !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • PlainBS on Apr 30, 2023 at 11:55 pm

Most of the Malaysian don’t care and will continue buy Perodua anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • John Doe on May 01, 2023 at 1:04 am

His words are uninformative at all and sounds like he is hiding something in his bag.

• Money Face on May 01, 2023 at 2:34 am

New motto: Building cars, profit first

• Good girl on May 01, 2023 at 5:43 am

Daihatsu did ‘illegal procedure’..without doing the illegal procedure the result of retest is still ok..the safety of passenger remain intact during the crash test..Perodua will not issue statement without basis because if not they can be sued..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Dai Suk on May 01, 2023 at 7:03 am

He is just another salesman. Don’t worry, everything under control. Your car, your risk, your life.

• Bossku on May 01, 2023 at 7:04 am

Perutdua Axia is safe for third world countries, e.g. Malaysia. So, it is ok to sell…what do you expect them to say? Not safe? Come on folks..use common sense. For first world countries, they will be forced to stop selling until the tin kosong is verified safe by their own safety authorities!

• Lato Sam Loo on May 01, 2023 at 11:20 am

Of course as usual, their moving coffin were ‘self-declared’ safe since sales and profit comes first, people’s life belakang kira, furthermore with so many untrained drivers buy their driving license from kedai kopi and drive like a supercar. No wonder, funeral parlours already thank PariaDua car manufacturer so much of their brisk business.

In addition, you should know the PariaDua driving methodology:
      1. Once they get into the car, they start imagining they are driving Mercedes AMG, BMW M-car, GR Supra to smoke everyone on the road.
      2.If they are at your front while road hogging, they try their best to smoke you, or worse, brake check you if you go near and tailgate, eg PariaDua Myvee in front dare to brake checked Toyota Alphard with nice reg number (eg. number plate 888) at behind.
      3.If they are at your back, they will tailgate you so close that they can look at your dashboard too, worse, these PariaDua drivers will undertake from left and side-swiped you without signal – threatening action in creating a side collision.

• Red axis on May 01, 2023 at 7:07 am

this pundek just called daihaitsu, mereka sure cakap ok punya. Just do a crash test again to verify la bodo

• ‘Malaysian standard’

• Minced his words I bet his next career move, be a politician.

• What an irresponsible statement from this CEO. So it is “okay” if the door of the axia broken into pieces and worst some parts delivering “sharp edge” stabbing driver or passenger in case of side crash?. So basically new axia they’ve been selling is the production version axia which is not rigged with a notch and causing sharp edge during a side crash, no? Mr CEO? So msian life doesn’t matter?

• Our food are Halal and certified by JAKIM. As per concern, porcine trace only found in Japan outlet. Since we got JAKIM certificate before in Japan, so our food are still halal and no need to close our shop or make anybrefund. Also no need to apologise.

• davenport on May 01, 2023 at 8:34 am

Daihatsu/Toyota : We shall suspend production and exports while pending investigation and further testing.

Perodua : Ada aku kesah?

• Our food are Halal and certified by JAKIM. As per concern, porcine trace only found in Japan outlet. Since we got JAKIM certificate before in Japan, so our food are still halal and no need to close our shop or make any refund. Also we don’t need to apologise.

• M50B25 on May 01, 2023 at 9:24 am

I’m cancelling my Alza order

• Carlzen18 on May 01, 2023 at 9:38 am

i don’t know rick..

• SH Ewe on May 01, 2023 at 9:46 am

Is Malaysian life cheaper compared to the Japanese?

• Crash test for dummies on May 01, 2023 at 7:24 pm

Minimum wage in 2022 is USD 1,125. Don’t ask the obvious, because it makes you look …..

To me, the most simple solution is just cancel your order. Nothing speaks louder than a product boycott.

• Indon on May 01, 2023 at 10:16 am

In Indonesia it’s not considerd “safe to drive” and will be recalled. Some goes for the Vios exported to Arab Saudi, Mexico etc.
    “Diduga Ada Kecurangan Uji Tabrak, Toyota Agya dan Daihatsu Ayla Kena Recall”
    https://otomotif.okezone.com/amp/2023/04/29/52/2805722/diduga-ada-kecurangan-uji-tabrak-toyota-agya-dan-daihatsu-ayla-kena-recall

• Justice on May 01, 2023 at 11:38 am

Expected statement from an unethical company such as burukdua

• neutral on May 01, 2023 at 11:56 am

Well, it’s rather irresponsible just brush aside the safety issue and say that the car is safe. What the least Perodua could do is to suspend deliveries pending out come of the investigations.

• UMW Toyota also already release same statements. But why bash only P2. Vios Malaysia also not affected

• Have no fear ! on May 01, 2023 at 11:57 am

Betul ke ni ? If its too good to be True , then The answer is quite obvious lah .

• user1010 on May 01, 2023 at 12:30 pm

As expected article coverage done by a perodua macai. I am not even surprised. More cash will be pumped in into all bank accounts of automotive media journalist for giving coverage for such dumb statements by Perodua’s CEO.

• Ben Yap on May 01, 2023 at 12:46 pm

proton feels that the lives of axia drivers do not matter. profit matters most.

• PakitoMalaTang on May 01, 2023 at 12:47 pm

Shame on the CEO ! in such short time frame the issue resolved ?
    I believe many customer will cancel the order. as its just not safe. Thinking twice to get any cars from p2. and weirdly enough this is our quality of automotive industry CEO.

• Ben Yap on May 01, 2023 at 12:47 pm

Perodua thinkks that axia drivers lives do not matter. profit matters most.

• Ruslan Bahari on May 01, 2023 at 12:56 pm

Here is what is wrong with Perodua’s statement.

A. It does not identify the “relevant authorities and agencies” that did the testing, and what specific tests were done. It may seem a small point but the owners should be aware of the situation.

B. It did not specifically detail the alleged error mentioned by their Japanese principals, and how the Axia is excluded from the findings

C. It failed to state why the Japanese principals found the issue to be an error, and why the Axia was specifically mentioned in the principals own statement

Both Toyota and Perodua need to cone out openly about the subject. On the government’s part, it must put Perodua to task over the subject. Perhaps study all the industry linkage plans that were submitted by Perodua and subsequently approved ensure that everything is above board.

• Sohai on May 01, 2023 at 1:17 pm

Please address the issue directly.
    If it is safe to drive, why japan needs to recall?
    Is either that or quickly do a retest base on your current car and let consumer know how many stars you get in crash test.

• 4G63T DSM on May 01, 2023 at 5:57 pm

Unless I read the news wrong, there is no active recall. Just a stop sale order from Toyota until they sort out/retest/recertify the cars.

Maybe the cars will still pass without that safety “feature”.

The recall may come later if it fails the re-test and certification.

My guess is UMW and Perodua just decided to ignore the boss’ instruction….and decide to wait and see if there is a recall.

Same like you are still “allowed” to drive your car even with faulty takata airbags.

• Sohai on May 02, 2023 at 11:33 am

Consumer bought a 4 star crashed tested car. Is it still the case?
        If they dont plan the recall, they better publish a 4 star result for the retest.
        Right now, stop selling should be the right move, because is about what are you selling… are you still selling a 4 star product?

• yusrykru on May 01, 2023 at 1:20 pm

fairy park nirvana rubbing hand

• Boycott Perodua la! Teach the stupid CEO a lesson.

• Joe Jambul on May 01, 2023 at 2:33 pm

Tipu tak baik, berdosa. Berdosa. Mana – mana rancak

• Adznister on May 01, 2023 at 3:18 pm

Read between the lines. Certification is intact – yes it is, but the problem is the production cars are not fitted to the same safety standard as the tested car. Safe for driving – yes but how safe? Would it confer the same level of protection to occupants in the event if side impacts as claimed by perodua with its UN-R95 certification?

• easycbfark on May 01, 2023 at 3:56 pm

counsumers here and less developed countries easy to bully by all these big corporates and government…where got they wanna protect counsumers…counsumer rights is at the bottom of their list….really cb fark kau-kau unless law was enacted to fine all these cb and made em pay hefty compensations to consumers else nothing will change…

• Shame on you P2 and the statement from your CEO just show how inconsiderate and irresponsible you are when it comes to your customer safety..

• lawyer on May 01, 2023 at 6:11 pm

“We were assured that despite the revelation by Daihatsu, the UN-R95 certification given to the Perodua Axia is intact,” Zainal said.”
    “Assured” by who? Perodua is the manufacturer and not others (Daihatsu? Toyota?) and therefore full responsible for proper tests?

• Komen alternatif on May 01, 2023 at 7:01 pm

Good luck people! Money is more important than safety.

• I am angrier on May 01, 2023 at 8:11 pm

WT ffffffff

• M50B25 on May 01, 2023 at 8:48 pm

In 2020 Honda Paid USD85M settlement over Takata Airbag safety scandal

In 2015 Volkswagen paid USD7.3B to cover the emissions scandal

In 2014 Toyota settled USD1.2B out of court with US Govt over safety

Automotive companies prioritize profits, it is our laws that regulate them

• timbuktu on May 01, 2023 at 11:21 pm

Daihatsu mentioned that “the inside lining of the front seat door was improperly modified, and that there was a violation of the side collision test procedures and methods stipulated by regulations.”

With new shipments already suspended, Daihatsu, together with Toyota, will “re-test (the side collision tests) in the presence of inspection and certification authorities, and if it is confirmed that the side impact performance complies with regulations, we will resume shipment.”

The above 2 paragraphs was taken from the report on this matter. Now any layman with a working brain will know that there is no way P2 or Toyota in Malaysia can ascertain their cars are safe when even Daihatsu and Toyota in Japan can’t do that until they retest with presence of officials and investigate further.

P2 and UMW Malaysia is blatantly putting danger in Malaysian lives by continuing to sell these 2 models despite such clear danger to the occupants. If I were you, I will immediately cancel any booking to Axia or Vios. Show them we are not be fooled.

• Chu KR on May 02, 2023 at 8:14 am

sharing the technology so call DNGA and some of the part and equipment. why still mention that no affect for Axia model. this not make sense.

• Bob Mal on May 02, 2023 at 8:37 am

They might as well just say well here in Malaysia there is no regulation for the safety standard in our roads even 1/5* car rating also can be on our roads since the car is touted 5* rating even if drop to 4* also ok no problem – if you want to sue us then go ahead since our law is very lax and not as detailed as 1st world country.

• Muhammad Hafiizh on May 02, 2023 at 10:23 am

as long as the certification body does not cancel or pull back the approval, then it is still ok.

• Hmmmm on May 02, 2023 at 1:54 pm

Wait2….Daihatsu stopped delivery but P2 not affected?
    Daihatsu and Toyota must learn from P2