2023 Honda e:Ny1 EV revealed – production electric HR-V with 68.8 kWh battery, 412 km WLTP range

This is the Honda e:Ny1, the Japanese carmaker’s brand new electric vehicle (EV) unveiled for the European market. Seen it before? Well, besides the fact that the e:Ny1 is essentially an electric HR-V, it was previewed by the e:Ny1 Prototype from March 2022, which is similar to the China market e:NS1 and e:NP1 twins.

It looks like an HR-V, but Honda says that the e:Ny1 sits on the newly-developed e:N Architecture F, a front-motor-driven platform with three fundamental attributes – a dedicated high rigidity body structure, a low centre of gravity, and carefully managed under-floor aerodynamics to ensure a “fun and confidence-inspiring drive”. Also mentioned was “trademark Honda dynamics”, so you get a sense of what they’re trying to do here.

The lightweight three-in-one integrated power drive unit, electric motor and gearbox produces 201 hp (150 kW) and 310 Nm of torque, juiced by a 68.8 kWh lithium-ion battery pack. Claimed range is 412 km in the WLTP cycle – significantly higher than the Honda e – and Honda says that DC fast-charging can get you from 10 to 80% SOC in 45 minutes.

Honda says that the new chassis developed specifically for EVs provides improved torsional rigidity, and key to this is high-tensile steel, which is used across 47% of the e:Ny1’s body (by weight, not area). “Alongside the new platform and powertrain, these combine to offer the dynamic performance, exceptional comfort and refinement drivers will expect from Honda’s latest EV,” the company adds.

Typical EV cues such as a closed-off nose and charging flap aside, do you notice anything different? It’s not so clear in these studio shots, but white ‘H’ badges across the exterior and on the steering wheel is a new electric identity for Honda, just like red for Type R and blue for hybrids. Also, there’s a new ‘Honda’ typeface logo for the rear.

Honda is a master of packaging, and this skill should also be apparent in EVs. The company says that clever packaging of the electric drivetrain components ensure the e:Ny1 offers “remarkable interior space and comfort”.

The HR-V’s familiar dashboard gets a large 15.1-inch portrait touchscreen which includes what looks like a permanent section for AC controls. Ahead of the driver, the meter panel is a digital screen without a binnacle.

No price or market launch timeline was given, but Autocar mentions “in the coming months” and an RRP of £30,000 (RM168,202), which rivals the Hyundai Kona Electric and Peugeot e-2008, among other Euro-flavoured electric B-SUVs. What do you think of this “HR-V EV”?

GALLERY: 2023 Honda e:Ny1, European spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Why can’t these Japanese brands come up with better naming? I’m looking at you Honda, Toyota, and even Sony.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Mr Lee Chi on May 12, 2023 at 7:55 pm

You either a chinese mainland or clueless about the world most ugliest naming automative car brand from china.. they even have a tyre call linlong .. I’m not suprise if they had other product and call it chinchong.. cause they can

• Civic Turbo 2018 on May 12, 2023 at 8:31 pm

Make no mistake with the current HRV that uses City’s platform. This EV sits on the completely NEW “e:N Architecture F”

• Vincent Ang on May 12, 2023 at 9:31 pm

Learn Chinese

• e=mc2 on May 12, 2023 at 8:18 pm

At least they didn’t name their offsprings as such, unlike a certain billionaire…

e:NY1 is pronounced close to anyone, which is rather meh for a car. I’m sure 9 out of 10 will roll their eyes when they hear it. Nah… I’m sure it’s 99 out of 100.

• Bangkok on May 12, 2023 at 7:48 pm

People also laugh at Byd naming but it’s selling like hot cakes even in thailand and once the 700 km range seal is out it will be the kingdom’s biggest trend ever with more than enough charging stations available everywhere today

• Bieight8 on May 12, 2023 at 8:44 pm

Can see the whole battery is hanging down… what a joke

• Master Foo Ling Yew on May 12, 2023 at 9:16 pm

If you enter the tiger’s cave, you will not catch its cub but you make free lunch for big cat and you attain Nirvana win win all around.

• talkcock on May 14, 2023 at 5:02 pm

what the point of talking all these ev here where majority average can’t even afford to buy….only maybe 5% can afford……in china ev starts from 30-40k many can afford…..better don’t talk cock and do something about the price else all bullshit only…2050 also the ev aspiration cant be achieved here all talk cock only….

• dompet ringan on May 15, 2023 at 7:08 am

I agree.. Too much male chicken conversation.. Mostly no money, no talk..