Electric cars might get more expensive to charge in Malaysia – from 57.1 to potentially 84.1 sen per kWh?

Charging your electric car at home might get more expensive soon if the government’s electricity subsidy scheme is revised.

According to MKini reporting from the National Economic Action Council (NEAC) meeting press conference earlier today, PM Anwar Ibrahim said households with “excessive” power consumption will no longer enjoy electricity subsidies.

The PM did not go into specifics at what level of kWh usage per month is power consumption deemed to be excessive, but he gave an example of three fans and four air conditioners running at the same time.

If your household happens to be categorised as not qualifying for electricity subsidies anymore, you could see your per kWh cost rise from RM0.571 per kWh up to RM0.841 per kWh.

The difference of RM0.27 per kWh is the ICPT cost that the government has decided to subsidise for the period of January to June 2023.

ICPT is basically a mechanism to review the electricity tariff every six months to take into account fluctuating fuel pricing, which contributes to 65% of the cost component of the electricity tariff.

It is revised every six months based on the six months period before it. Based on actual fuel costs from July 2022 to December 2022, the ICPT for January 2023 to June 2023 has been determined to be a 27 sen surcharge. The ICPT rate will be calculated again for the July 2023 to December 2023 period.

Subsidising this 27 sen surcharge for domestic users is expected to cost RM10.76 billion for this six month period of January to June 2023.

We previously calculated who gets more subsidies – does an ICE car user get more fuel subsidies or does an EV car user get more electricity subsidies?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• todak on May 15, 2023 at 3:32 pm

An electrical engineer told me that if like that, he’ll curi2 plug into the lamp post outside his house to recharge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 27
    • call me by your name on May 15, 2023 at 4:50 pm

thieving bas****

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • Civic Turbo 2018 on May 15, 2023 at 9:57 pm

Latest-CRV launched in Thailand already 230K. So really nothing is cheap now.

• driver on May 16, 2023 at 1:32 pm

Your right. The starting prive for a Bentley Bentayga Azure EWB (Extended Wheelbase) in Malaysia is 1.1 million. Who cares that 1kWh is 84.1 sen now? Really nothing is cheap.

• Elon the Musketeer on May 15, 2023 at 7:41 pm

Until all the charging infra are massively available n charging costs known,why on earth r we rushing into the EV revolution?
      If after spending a bomb,u discover the charging bill is unacceptable,then how? Blame PMX ?
      If EV to u,is not a rich man’s toy,n u r on a tight budget,just wait a while till the picture is crystal clear.
      Just enjoy your ice cars for the time being.
      Dont follow the herd mentality, blindly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 14
      • Lotpi on May 16, 2023 at 8:16 am

Conspiracy Trap?
        Burning more fuel to power those low mileage yet heavy battery car. Finally more pollution too.
        So many Battery cars getting struggling for proper disposal and causing more hazard now.

USA EU electric bill now also sky high and very suffering with thier electric bill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • 2 cents opinion on May 16, 2023 at 9:43 am

“Until all the charging infra are massively available n charging costs known,why on earth r we rushing into the EV revolution?”
        so you think ppl previously starts building more petrol stations before ICE car become mainstream?
        The demand of more petrol station only comes with more ICE car, of which EV will follow the same trend, thus EV count have to move up to push the industry for more charging solution.

“If EV to u,is not a rich man’s toy,n u r on a tight budget, just wait a while till the picture is crystal clear.”
        You can and should do that on individual level especially if you can’t afford it at the moment.

Just enjoy your ice cars for the time being. Don’t follow the herd mentality, blindly.”
        On industry level, things had to pick up & move on, else you’ll be another prime Kodak/Nokia mobile phones example

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
        • i see you're a man of culture too on May 16, 2023 at 12:45 pm

most people have zero knowledge how economy works. They have not the slightest idea how demand and supply works.

I agree with “2 cents opinion”. More EV means more demand for chargers. Hence more will be build due to the demand. It’s a directly related cycle.

Those asking ICE to remain mainstream are mostly mechanics who couldn’t cope with new tech, and asking their customers to stick with ICE, so they can stay in business. ICE is dying. Face it, move on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • driver on May 16, 2023 at 1:35 pm

Chargers need power stations in the background. Electricity is not generated in chargers.

• YB Black Metallic on May 16, 2023 at 12:52 pm

I have Nokia ..am millionaire…so what?

• All the greenies that were supporting Anwar all these years suddenly got massed heart attacks flooding hospitals nationwide.

Everyone thought it was a cultist group massed suicide… well in a way it probably was!

• todak on May 16, 2023 at 9:48 am

This electrical engineer fellow isn’t rich & he still drives a fossil fuel burner. It’s just that from time to time, he would just dream up of some way to get around a problem, legally or otherwise.

• More expensive nevermindlah. As long as deep inside your heart you are syok knowing that you are saving the planet. It’s heart wrenching to see straw stuck at turtle’s nose, you know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 28
    • 4GR-FSE on May 15, 2023 at 4:16 pm

Then you have not seen the amount of deforestation to give way for mining to extract the materials for batteries, child labor, mining machines running from diesel fuel, the energy intensity for battery productions which source from fossil fuel.

You feel good when you are charging your car from electricity but you have not seen how the batteries were produced.

And your TNB is getting power from natural gas which is also fossil fuel, unless you are installing solar on your roof.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 6
      • Poor Man on May 15, 2023 at 7:11 pm

Even solar cells need huge ammounts of energy to produce.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • The biggest proportion of TNBs fuel is coal. Switching to indigenous gas would be good for Malaysia-economy and ecology !

• QuackMcGuffin on May 16, 2023 at 10:42 am

Hahahaha oh my sweet summer child, thinking EVs are magically saving the world. Bro forgot the heavily polluting cobalt mines for the lithium batteries, gases and oil burned by TNB to provide electricity to your EVs. EVs basically push the dirty combustible pollution up the chain so you “green” activists can “syok sendiri” about saving the world.

• roastmah gemok on May 16, 2023 at 12:47 pm

hahaha nobody drives and EV and say they are saving the planet. That’s just an excuse. The real reason people buy EV is because EV is damn powerful and quiet, and is fun to drive. The planet wont die, or be destroyed because of whatever we do. At most, we all die, thats all. The planet is a rock. It doesnt die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
        • YouPandai on May 18, 2023 at 10:44 am

Not only quiet and shiok to drive but EV will have almost zero maintenance and repair. No oil leak, no coolant or radiator leak, no oil filter sumbat, no timing belt change, no thermostat problem, no need gasket change etc. Buy and drive without headache and expensive mechanic bills every few months

• But you get fireworks. China is getting avg of 7 fireworks daily from EV.

• Janji dicapati on May 15, 2023 at 3:37 pm

Kerajaan Madani for u XP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
    • Independent Malaysian on May 15, 2023 at 4:11 pm

Learn how to love within ur means and not sucking ppls money. And stop relying on subsidies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 18
      • ceramah PAS on May 16, 2023 at 2:51 pm

budaya subsidi = budaya tongkat = budaya B40 = budaya NEP

• jinggo on May 15, 2023 at 3:47 pm

terbaik kerajaan madani

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Golfer on May 15, 2023 at 3:58 pm

Its fine to tax the privileged. Electric cars are mostly owned by the T20s anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 8
    • Sohai on May 16, 2023 at 8:31 am

True. Between fuel subsidy and electricity subsidy in terms of transport, is an easy choice for most.

• James Pos on May 16, 2023 at 12:47 pm

So, so, so true….

• Nasi Lemak on May 16, 2023 at 1:07 pm

I think you have forgotten this is about electricity price being increased. EV or not. It affects everyone in the country, even those without EV.

• Look like you from future. Why you know EVs Car for t20 ? Brain like monkey go walk, stop using car.

• Lain Janji Lain Dapat
    Harap pm tunaikan janji, jgn bg cadangan yg mengarut ari2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
    • Right? on May 20, 2023 at 10:25 am

UAI pnh ckp dlm ceramah, cth2 org yg munafik salah satunya adalah org yg byk berjanji tp tdk ditunaikan…

Dunia nmpk lepas (sbb kuasa), akhirat jgn buat2 lupa. Rakyat tuntut semua tu.

P/s : Pesanan utk diri sndiri juga.

• Bob Mal on May 15, 2023 at 4:04 pm

So guess the article last year by TNB telling us running EV is like 11.4% to 29% cheaper than RON95 is no longer true considering all these increase in charging options.

But government is very smart also allow 0% tax for EV cars to let rich people buy and then slowly remove those subsidy for charging now they make back the tax money and good for TNB business too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • I think this is a good move. Go poke around MyEvoc page on Facebook and just see how entitled and classist some EV owners are. Dahlah kereta beli 0% tax (which is still not attainable for many B40’s), 0% road tax (and we all know how heavy BEV’s are and the damage they can do to the road), then charging with subsidised electricity sommore, and still act holier than thou with parading special designated parking at KLIA, Electric charging bays that are near the doors in many malls (just to name a few), demanding special EV parking, and recently ‘special EV license plate like’ like good riddance just because they drive an EV and the rest of us marhaens can’t afford to. Really parasites on the road. I’m all for EV adoption but the attitude of these T20’s are just an eye-opener on this country is being ran; by a bunch of holier-than-thou parasites that are so out of touch with the struggles of the average Malaysian. Unless there is an EV on the market for the price of an Ativa or even better a Myvi, I have absolutely no sympathies for EV adopters here in Malaysia because majority owners are from the T20 bracket and they can afford slight inconveniences.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 36
    • Mat U on May 15, 2023 at 11:33 pm

You must be those poor sod driving axia and always park at ev spot. Jangan jeles, in life, what you live now is all about hard work. You lazy ass always rely on subsidies no wonder always jeles T20.

Ok time for me to drive my ix to go makan kat Hotel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • X y F on May 16, 2023 at 12:15 pm

ajaran sesat…theory pun sesat.

without your so-called sesat incentives…without the rich … who will buy those super expensive EV with regular duty imposed? if there is no incentive for the rich to buy EV, you wont even get a single charger installed publicly. You speak as if you are smarter than every single minister or president in the world. Norwegians are so retarded to provide give out subsidies to initiate the transition. You might or might agree with argument for EV but you cannot stop the direction in which the entire industry is heading to

• Carpro on May 16, 2023 at 3:38 pm

the useless ones are the ones who complain all the time. if you are not happy with the current situation, try and do something to change the world. Go get nominated in the next election get elected and execute your super plans

• Ben Yap on May 15, 2023 at 4:29 pm

with the expensive charging, the government’s support for EV is just a wayang kulit. there is no real commitment for the government to move towards EV since the bread and butter for proton and perodua is still ICE.

• mamakthir on May 16, 2023 at 11:07 am

its because Malaysia is a lazy country that relies heavily on Petrol sales (Petronas) overseas or local. That is why.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Bieight8 on May 15, 2023 at 4:39 pm

Should learn from others and provide off peak rate…

• Most western nations have off peak rates when they can charge their cars at home. But our home have escalating rates i.e, the more we use, the higher the tarrifs. So it actually deters high usage and charging EV cars at home will be expensive.
      This exclude the coming road tax on EV cars whereby volvo xc 40 petrol version currently costs only RM800 while EV of same car was said to be 5 times more at RM4500 per year. We need more clarity before buying EV.

• Poor Man on May 15, 2023 at 7:16 pm

We have clarity. While EV road tax is 5 times higher than IC, the electric tariffs for charging will rise 30% yearly.

• Maybe on May 15, 2023 at 5:00 pm

Now you are talking business like…its not popular but it must be done to survive. If they can do this then i do want to see then trim the HC within gomen payroll. Too bloated amd inefficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • true sam brown on May 16, 2023 at 2:53 pm

true. the BN gomen last time, keep creating new departments for useless things, end up the taxpayers gotta feed these useless departments and their lazy useless staffs.

• Ok lor since EV owner are loaded.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Looks like madani punishing those who voted for him and rewarding those who did not.

• Janji dicapati on May 16, 2023 at 6:15 am

Served them right. But they probably don’t care haha.

• Lai yew beng on May 15, 2023 at 6:39 pm

What type of environment that has been save by driving EV when the electricity use to charge EV come from fossil fuel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • RichMalaysian on May 15, 2023 at 6:49 pm

Just charge me RM per minute. I don’t care. Im very rich Malaysian. You can raise as much as you want. Let poor ppl suffer and go bankrupt or end up robbing ppl. Pity on poor ppl at Malaysia.

• sohai on May 15, 2023 at 8:41 pm

dont talk cock la….u are safe but your family not safe ..you think you can live in peace if most of the people around you are poor and the gap is getting wider…sohai jibai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • Poor Man on May 15, 2023 at 7:09 pm

As EV’s are for rich people only, I fully support this price hike of 30%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Yeahsure on May 15, 2023 at 7:14 pm

Good move, makes perfect sense, T20 might not like it… As they bark on everything….

• tailinngongakasohai on May 15, 2023 at 7:19 pm

with the ev price also like sohai price, maybe by 2050 only 5% can afford to buy and play….then the talk about ev here all bullshit sohai only….normal rakyat stand to lose….

• Fauzi on May 16, 2023 at 2:55 am

As expected…stupid ev…it’s not cheap to recharge

• What would happen in an apocalyptic blackout?

Unprepared sudden Power Loss, back-up generators in some hospitals can Fail.

• during apocalypse, I think best worry about your handphone no electricity.

• Joshua Silbarajoo on May 16, 2023 at 7:42 am

We can produce electricity from sea wave like China. If we can do that, also can reduce the price of electricity.

• driver on May 16, 2023 at 1:42 pm

How much electricity China is generating from sea waves? 0.000017%?

• ROTI CANAI on May 16, 2023 at 8:17 am

i support. tax the rich.

• Roti Prata on May 16, 2023 at 12:32 pm

what you dont realize is, the rich will just force the poor absorb the tax, indirectly. Whatever government tax the rich (business owners) they will make sure that is absorbed by their customers in the end (the poor, YOU). Why do you think bread and other food increase in price? because the owners (the rich) are “taxing” the poor (you and me)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • ROTI CANAI on May 17, 2023 at 10:15 am

yea, but the gov is rewarding these rich buggers tax free EVs

• Gomorrah on May 16, 2023 at 8:33 am

Elon, 4GR-FSE and Joe are all on point. Getting us on to expensive BEV’s are a scam. I agree ICE vehicles are polluting, but cars are low hanging fruit. Until and unless they can show that commercial transportation (freight vehicles/ships/planes) can go electric, I will keep my ICE vehicle. Why should we pay to keep the commercial goods sector going on fossil fuels? Not like goods prices are going down. And looking at the article posted here a few days ago about another e-fuel plant being opened should show everyone that there is a massive business case for it, because why would anyone throw such huge sums of money at it if there was no return?

• Government is pushing effort to increase the sales of EV cars. Now, govt is looking to withdraw the subsidy, which leaves now owners and future scratching their heads. Why is it so difficult for govt to give a 1 time subsidy for whoever wants to install solar system into their home. Complain have to jack up price because raw material is expensive, yes that is understandable. But Malaysia have plenty of natural resources (solar for one is a big potential here in Malaysia).

• mamathir on May 16, 2023 at 11:45 am

do you ever wonder why petrol price so expensive in Malaysia, eventho we have one of the best quality crude oils under our soil? Also why we cant get petrol prices as our next door neighbour, Brunei? That is because…. Petronas is selling our god-given crude oil overseas. Then the government BUY poor quality petrol from overseas, and let you (son of the soil) use.

• jomkayuh on May 16, 2023 at 10:13 am

Anyone for cycling?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • rosmah gemok on May 16, 2023 at 12:25 pm

try cycling 28km to work, then another 28km back home. every day, under the sun/rain, in congested traffic roads, and avoiding mat rempits on both sides. getting honked and screamed at. NO THANK YOU.

• Bumiputera sebenar Kadazan on May 16, 2023 at 12:42 pm

agree. cycling for leisure is very different than cycling every freaking day to work. reach the office in sweat while wearing long sleeve shirt, slacks and dress shoes is not a joke.

• jomkayuh on May 16, 2023 at 2:54 pm

I didn’t ask “anyone for cycling to work?”…

• kuat b40 on May 16, 2023 at 3:24 pm

then cycling to balik kampung? cycling to school? same thing lah, still stuck in congested streets, stuck with mat rempits zoom beside you. I value my life too much to be risking death by accident.

• jomkayuh on May 16, 2023 at 4:57 pm

Aiseyman.. If for u, balik kampung & going to school is the same thing, then of course your school already in your kampung, is it not? But then, I also understand lah; very trouble for you when the road outside your home is congested with mat rempits zoom here & there.. In the end, it’s up to you when & where you want to cycle..

• Autodriver on May 16, 2023 at 10:28 am

If the electric tarriff is RM 0.841/kwh then it is relatively higher even compare to Thailand at RM 0.63/kwh, Indonesia RM 0.52/kwh, while SG and Australia electric tarriff is RM 1.00/kwh. Imagine SG and Australia currency is 3 times higher than MYR but the electric tarriff is only 18% higher. In Japan 1kwh is RM 1.00 meanwhile Japanese average salary is few times higher than Malaysian.

RM 0.841/kwh is seriously gonna bring burden to most citizen in Malaysia and a barrier to move to EV car because EV eletric usage bill is not far from RON95. And base on overseas electric tarriffs from developed countries to developing countries, Malaysia is standing on high side of electricity bill.

• Autodriver on May 16, 2023 at 10:30 am

If government really put the tarriffs at RM 0.841 I believe many landed property will seriously look into solar panel investment. This will further save the electric bill and cost to own EV car.

• Mamak man on May 16, 2023 at 11:31 am

they will next remove the incentive for solar panels installation. wait and see. this government is using the bait and action method

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • mamathir on May 16, 2023 at 11:09 am

i will start to charge my iphone, macbook, ipads all at starbucks then. save electricity at home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • starbaku custemer on May 16, 2023 at 3:32 pm

Eh good idea lah. Buy 1 cup of kopi, get free electricity to charge car.

• Thiva on May 16, 2023 at 11:26 am

Why not retrofit existing cars with electric motors.A lot of countries doing it already.Using lead or iron -nickel batteries,not expensive lithium.PM X can then create huge jobs for the 22 million cars to be retrofitted.Fuel subsidy can be saved.New ev cars are monopolised by greedy manufacturers,so no way we 99% can get our hands on.Also must reduce ev road tax for retrofits

• donovan on May 16, 2023 at 11:42 am

retrofitting isn’t playing Lego. It sounds simple, but it’s not. You need to consider the drive train, tran smission and also worse of all this is location. It is hard enough planting a regular engine not meant for the car (engine mount points, etc all out of place). Even if all these are done, next is insurance. That is another can or worms altogether.

• Samy vellooooo on May 16, 2023 at 12:36 pm

how does retrofitting regular ICE cars with EV engines help reduce electricity rates?

• todak on May 16, 2023 at 2:14 pm

More than 15 years ago when fuel prices were on the uptrend, I know of this electrical engineer (yes, the same guy) who wanted to convert a van or a stationwagon to electric drive. At that time, Li-ion batteries were not easily & widely available but sealed Pb-acid batteries were, which is why he chose a van or a stationwagon which is more suited to carry the heavy Pb-acid batteries. However, he didn’t proceed because the road transport department didn’t allow such a conversion.

• kathirica on May 16, 2023 at 12:02 pm

Why are you not worrying about the traffic congestion, Do Malaysia want it to be like Manila and Bangkok.
    Malaysia has to concentrate on public transport, more on underground station not elevated.
    Get the corruption money back which is enough for the project.

• joker404 on May 16, 2023 at 12:34 pm

wanna ease congestion? simple. move the capital from KL to elsewhere. Make Sabah/Sarawak the capital of Malaysia. Force businesses to relocate there. Then, using a blank slate of land, rebuilt the entire infrastructure (learn from KL/PJ mistakes)

• Ativa Hybrid on May 16, 2023 at 12:39 pm

The solution is range extender hybrids, not full EV.
    Perodua did toyed with the idea (search Ativa Hybrid). This should be the move forward, at least for the next 5-10 years, until electricity tariffs and infrastructure can stabilize. Range extender EV are the best, as they give you that EV experience, but without having to ever charge the car.

• Dato Mansur Binti Rosmeh on May 16, 2023 at 12:58 pm

I don’t think P2 is keen to move in this direction anymore, which is a real shame. I’m interested with this EV-hybrid setup, it is best of both worlds.

• driver on May 16, 2023 at 1:47 pm

Range extender EV’s combine both the disadvantages of ICE’s and EV’s.

• Ghost in a car on May 16, 2023 at 2:49 pm

My sister, despite our advise of caution, purchased an EV with stated range of 410km. She thought it is sufficient for her everyday use. She isn’t entirely wrong. Her daily commute to work and back, is only 50km. She charge daily at home. But the problem is when her work require her to drive to Penang (from KL). That’s just 300+ km right? no problem right? WRONG! Apparently that range of 410km is bullsheet. You cant even hit 300km range if you drive “normally” on the highway. Makes range-extended EV’s very very attractive now, dont it?

• Maksiat Madani on May 16, 2023 at 3:28 pm

I think I know what car that is. I have that same model. But it is infact the same for any other EV out there. The range is only valid if you drive at 60kmh and no stop-go. In highway, we usually drive 110km at least, with AC turned on. Surely cant reach the advertised range. At best you get like 70% of the advertised range. So yes, I do have anxiety on balik kampung trips. But daily driver is all good. so I still love the EV.

• Hartini Devi on May 16, 2023 at 3:36 pm

Oh this is the most honest comment of all. These EV all lie about their range. My husband bought a Porsche EV to replace his old petrol car. It is a disappointment. The advertised range is very misleading. We dont feel secure to even drive this back to home town now.

• ahbeng on May 16, 2023 at 3:47 pm

ICE car also claim super fuel economy wat. It can happen if you drive at 80 without aircond. But in real world, you can only hit 70 to 80% of the claimed economy of it.

I think you sis just need to charge midway to 80% and it should be fine. Anyway, you rarely drive non-stop from kl to penang, you still need toilet break and some drinks which easily stop for 30 mins which should be good enough for DC charging to top up to 80%. Issue will be, when you have other BEV in front of you and all chasing after the one and only one or 2 charging bay. Let’s hope more DC bay is being expanded.

• Ghost in a car on May 16, 2023 at 4:17 pm

well we don’t have experience as this is the first EV in our household. She made preparations too, fully charging to 100% at home. She tries to avoid traffic at the bridge, so she left home super early when its still dark. But when she reach ipoh she already knew the car wont make the trip, but it was still dark outside and she’s alone, so she didn’t want to stop for charging. Luckily for her, she dont need to travel long distance by car very much. But that one experience has really made us be aware that using an EV is really something very new.

• confuse on May 16, 2023 at 3:37 pm

I thought the electricity tariff was already designed to charge more to those who use more? Only the first 600 units (for residential tariff) were subsidized. The current structure is fair to me.

• look again on May 16, 2023 at 3:43 pm

everyone sibuk worry about EV charging.
    I’m more worried about my bitcoin farming.
    If electricity increased, bitcoin farming become more expensive now.

• Adam Malek on May 16, 2023 at 4:21 pm

Gomen say electric price go up due to fuel price fluctuation. But malaysia also SELL fuel. So if fuel price increase, dont malaysia make a lot of extra money to off-set the cost for electric??? politicians lying to us stupid rakyat again

• dompet ringan on May 17, 2023 at 7:24 am

Yes, M’sia produces crude oil but it is not used in the country & instead sold to developed nations because M’sian crude oil is ‘sweet’, meaning low sulfur content, which fetches a better price. Then, M’sia imports ‘cheaper’ ‘sour’ (higher sulfur content) crude oil from the Middle East to be used in the country. Any extra ‘untung’ is used for fuel subsidies for motor vehicles, fishing boats & even domestic cooking gas (LPG), but not for industrial use, which should include electric power generation.

• maDani on May 17, 2023 at 9:31 am

madani busy stroking pn voter D, killing their existing voter base in the process

• Betterpearson on May 17, 2023 at 6:19 pm

You can argue till the moody cow comes home. The argument about shifting air pollution (by reducing ICE vehicles) to environment or land and water pollution is valid but can never be quantified.
    Unless your country use more clean energy to produce electricity then the net balance is of course better.

One thing is for sure, more EV on the road can reduce air pollution straight away.

• John phoon on May 21, 2023 at 3:27 pm

I’m driving a EV n I got ICE …. I drive EV for the different experience it provides n ICE for longer trips. ICE is good EV is good too….I got no time to save the world I just wanted to try new things in life.

• now i m driving my trusty 1999 kancil 850 to work.my bmw 528 i stays home.weekend drive only.rm 50 last 10 days for kancil